11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! Quick to fix, perfect taste and texture. My sons and friends gobbled these down. Suggest using less than a tablespoon for each beignet, they puff up quite a bit. These may not be traditional yeast beignets, but they're so good and so easy, I doubt now I'll ever try those yeast recipes now. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 09, 2011

While this would probably taste decently enough, it is by no means a real beignet. I gave it three stars though, because it's still more of a "real" beignet than most of the yeast recipes. But, a real beignet uses only water steam as leavening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jl6794a November 24, 2013

Wow, you weren't kidding, super easy and delicious! The texture is crunchy on the outside and soft like a bisquit inside! Yumm, the kids are snatching them up as I type! I made these exactly as she said except I doubled the recipe thinking the batter looked little. Well, when you cook these things, they get HUGE. I recommend a large tablespoon for the dropping of the dough, not a soup ladle like I used on the first batch. They come out a golden yellow and cooked through. The first batch were so big, softball size, that the very center was uncooked. Thanks for a superfast-can-do-it-right-now recipe with little clean-up or effort.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzidoer February 07, 2010

though this was exponentially faster than making beignets wth yeast, but do not expect a beignet with this recipe. Whatever I created was more like a tasteless oily blob. With the help of extreme amounts of powedered sugar it was edible, but still had the awful aftertaste. Just take the time to do beignets the right way. It'll be worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillianmlynch February 22, 2015

Not even remotely a beignet.<br/><br/>If you make this recipe expecting the soft, sweet texture of a traditional beignet, you will be disappointed.<br/><br/>This is just a recipe for the "elephant ears" of fried dough from a carnival. Gross.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matt B. January 14, 2015

SO easy and really good. My husband had beignets at a local restaurant and fell in love with them. I promised to make them sometime and was just about to try a yeast recipe when I saw this one. Made them today and he thought they were great and didn't notice they were not the yeast type.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
no1packrat_8566349 April 23, 2014

This recipe was terrible. If you've ever had a real beignet you'll be disappointed. This is nothing like One. My husband described as a bland hush puppy and the kids wouldn't eat them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dfsmith June 02, 2013

Wonderful recipe! So easy and good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lowrytx March 03, 2013

They were great! They puff up a lot. Didn't think we would have 2 dozen without them being super small, but we had 24 really good sized Beignets!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracysd June 22, 2012

SO GOOD!!!!!!! We all LOVED these. I just made these for Christmas Eve and they were inhaled by all! I made exactly as posted. Thank you and God Bless. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2TSMOM December 24, 2011
Basic Beignets