16 Reviews

Awesome! Quick to fix, perfect taste and texture. My sons and friends gobbled these down. Suggest using less than a tablespoon for each beignet, they puff up quite a bit. These may not be traditional yeast beignets, but they're so good and so easy, I doubt now I'll ever try those yeast recipes now. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 09, 2011

While this would probably taste decently enough, it is by no means a real beignet. I gave it three stars though, because it's still more of a "real" beignet than most of the yeast recipes. But, a real beignet uses only water steam as leavening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jl6794a November 24, 2013

Wonderful recipe! So easy and good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lowrytx March 03, 2013

Wow, you weren't kidding, super easy and delicious! The texture is crunchy on the outside and soft like a bisquit inside! Yumm, the kids are snatching them up as I type! I made these exactly as she said except I doubled the recipe thinking the batter looked little. Well, when you cook these things, they get HUGE. I recommend a large tablespoon for the dropping of the dough, not a soup ladle like I used on the first batch. They come out a golden yellow and cooked through. The first batch were so big, softball size, that the very center was uncooked. Thanks for a superfast-can-do-it-right-now recipe with little clean-up or effort.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzidoer February 07, 2010

While this is most definitely a quick, easy, and delicious recipe, it is definitely NOT a beignet. Very glad I tried it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa K. April 10, 2016

Nope its not a beignet after realizing how runny the batter is I realized I'd be making funnel cake. Kudos to me my wife has never had beignets but loves funnel cake. Now I just wonder how mama used to make them so fast, maybe I just slept in all morning, but it was dough. Either way thank you for a good meal, my family is full, and it cost about 12 cents a plate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nathan H. December 29, 2015

Terrible. Beignets are dough, not pancake batter. This makes a mess and some very ugly results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James F. November 23, 2015

OMG if I could rate this recipe ten stars I most certainly would!!!! I made this recipe to the letter and it came out wonderful had my mother (who is a very hard woman to please cuisine wise lol!) In a frenzy. She us very find of what I call the beignet balls!! Lol they taste great and for the critics that say negatively about this recipe... Learn how to cook properly and thouroughly....that is all.thank you for making me the household "Susie homemaker" as my mother calls me

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber L. September 18, 2015

No yeast required recipe! Whipped up these beignets in under 45 minutes. I fried them in coconut oil which gave them a great flavor. I made a blackberry, blueberry & brandy compote to accompany the beignets but they tasted great on their own. Only downside to these are that they don't come out in perfect squares since the batter is runny and you spoon the batter into the frying oil. If you spoon the batter in carefully you can get nice round balls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda L. May 12, 2015

though this was exponentially faster than making beignets wth yeast, but do not expect a beignet with this recipe. Whatever I created was more like a tasteless oily blob. With the help of extreme amounts of powedered sugar it was edible, but still had the awful aftertaste. Just take the time to do beignets the right way. It'll be worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillianmlynch February 22, 2015
Basic Beignets