Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2003

      WOW great flavor. Ironically, I didnt end up using my pressure cooker, but the meat was wonderfully tender and the gravy was really tasty. I didnt have Maggi seasoning so I used kitchen boquet, a browning/gravy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      We really enjoyed this stew! It was easy to prepare, the instructions were clear, and the result was a thick and hearty stew. Next time I make this, I think I'll add some red wine after the meat is browned and the onions tender, then reduce. I think that this would give this dish the depth of flavor that would put it over the top. Thanks for a great recipe, Pan Nan! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Fallowed the recipe to the letter but at the last minute i made some adjustments to meet our personal taste .It was easy and turned out to be a wonderfull meal that we will do again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. Minus the garlic,thyme,peas,Maggi & corn starch this is my moms recipe ... She used flour instead of corn starch. My mom passed away 22 years ago this April coming & I never had her stew recipe. My older sister gave me the recipe minus all the instructions. Thank you so very much for posting this !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      This is a good basic recipe. I used chicken broth, instead of water, and added chopped celery and a teaspoon of Sriracha sauce for more depth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      This is wonderful...the only change was I was using tomato paste and flour to thicken..this is so much better. My kids loved this and ate seconds along with big slices of homemade bread and butter, Thanks...I have been making this for years and we love the "tomato" addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I love the addition of green peas, and so did everyone else. It's what makes it stand out from other recipes. For the tomato sauce I used Emeril's chunky marinara with great results. Thank you for warming up my body and my soul.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Thanks for sharing this very good and very forgiving recipe. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      We all enjoyed this healthy and hearty meal very much. I only used a tablespoon or so of vegetable oil to brown the beef. I was out of frozen peas, so I used corn instead. I found it unnecessary to make up the slurry, as the sauce was thick enough without it. Very good - this will definitely be on the menu again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      This is a great, basic beef stew and was wonderful for our first chilly day this Autumn (not officially but close). I used 1 lb. of stewing beef and 1 lb. of baby Portobello mushrooms (I added the mushrooms with the carrots and potatoes). The mushrooms gave it a 'meaty feel' so that I could cut down on the meat to appease my husband's low-fat diet but still have a treat with the beef! Also, I used 1 cup of sodium-free, fat-free chicken stock in place of 1 of the cups of water to add more flavor since I eliminated the salt, but added lots of freshly cracked pepper. We loved this stew...we had it with crispy Italian rolls and my husband really enjoyed his treat. Thanks for another great recipe PanNan :) JJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Wonderful recipe. Floured the beef before browning; used a pressure cooker; thickened up the sauce; and added some cayenne to add a bit of kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      An excellent recipe to use as a base and customize based on taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      This is easy and good! I made a few adaptations based on experiences with other recipes: 1/ I tossed the beef cubes in flour with a bit of salt and pepper before browining them, 2/ I added 1 cup of red wine in lieu of one cup of water, and 3/ I used frozen green beans (whole) which I had on hand, instead of the peas. I did not use cornstarch or maggi, but I think the flour I did use at the browning stage helps to make a bit of a thicker sauce. It was a nice thick stew. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks Pan Nan!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was very very good. I also didn't have maggi seasoning and left it out. I left out the peas also but thats just cause I don't really like peas in anything other than a side dish. We made this in the crockpot so the meat was very tender. Even better the next day too. Thanks for a great stew recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      Precise cooking time. It works and we were pressed for time. This is as basic as it could be and turned out flavorful. A straightforward, accurate recipe. We didnt change anything. Other reviewers might want to extend cooking time for the beef to make it even tender, but as it is, it was VERY OKAY. Thank you for sharing, PanNan !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (626 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.6
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    33%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 823.2 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 38.9 g
    77%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maggi seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites