Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Beans from Dried - Crockpot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Beans from Dried - Crockpot

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2010

      I've been using this recipe for over 4 years now and it's wonderful. My husband has been a heart patient for that long now and as he can literally eat beans every day I needed to change my old cooking habits with included an entire pound of bacon in each pot of beans. I include two additions to this basic recipe; 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes and a heaping tablespoon of ground cumin. When you remove fat from a recipe you need to seriously increase the spices to compensate. We now prefer this recipe over the old one with bacon. I soak the beans in the crockpot over night then drain, rinse and add the ingredients in the morning. I cook them on high and let them cook down until thick and creamy. I do add a couple of teaspoons of salt after they have finished cooking. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I will never buy canned beans again-this was so easy and delicious! I made it with chickpeas and will try it with other beans soon. I made this for Best of 2010 Cookbook Tag. Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I did this with pinto beans, and they turned out great! So easy to do while you're at work. I added the onions, and threw in a slice of bacon. Enjoyed with cornbread. Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Just to let you know... you can save even more time with this method by NOT soaking the beans! I never soak my beans before cooking them in the crockpot and they turn out perfect every time! I have done this with all kinds of beans, chickpeas, black-eyed peas, kidneys, pintos, and that 15-bean soup mix from the store.. Just rinse and sort your beans, thrown them in the crockpot, cover with water and cook! Check them every once in a while to make sure the liquid is covering them and that's it! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      HOW EASY WAS THAT!!! So I have had these beans in the pantry so long that I am embarrassed to share it with you all. But that being said, I am SO glad I tried this recipe. So easy and so tasty. Here's how I made mine: 1/2 lb black beans, 1 tsp seasoning salt, 1 tsp cumin, 1 bay leaf, 1 tsp veggie broth granules, 1/4 green pepper, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1/2 onion. The resulting flavor was perfect. I cooked mine on high for 7 hours and they were slightly overdone (hence no photo taken) but that was simply my fault for not checking them an hour sooner. I will absolutely use this recipe again and I will use my overcooked black beans for a yummy dip this July 4th!!! Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I love this method! I used about 1/2 a lb of dry soy beans...thinking I could use my 'baby' crock pot...no such luck, they expand so much that just after soaking a few hours I could see I'd need the big gun crock pot. The house smells amazing with the garlic, onion & bay leaves in the mix. I was worried the beans might end up on the soggy side that long in water, but not at all, they are cooked perfectly. Leave it and forget it! Thanks Katzen, so glad I tried this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I used this recipe with some Anasazi beans I've had in the pantry for a couple of years. It worked beautifully. I did add 1 tsp. of seasoned salt to the mixture for some added flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Great method for cooking beans. My first batch was using black beans with all the ingredients except salt. I like the reviewer's tip to soak the beans in the crockpot and to add cumin and crushed red pepper. This recipe has so many possibilities! Thanks Katzen! Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook tag game as recommended by Jociecee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      So easy and so delicious. I have cooked many beans, but never with the soak method. It really did make a difference. They were cooked just perfect. I flavored mine with some bacon drippings that I had and then added the onion, garlic, bay leaves and some salt and pepper. We enjoyed them with fried potatoes and cornbread. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Made these over the weekend as part of my OAMC rotation. Made kidney beans and we all enjoyed them. Did freeze a bunch for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This is the same method I use to cook beans except for special occasions for an old cast iron skillet of mine. It's easier than stove top and definitely less messy. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Swap/Tag July 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Beans from Dried - Crockpot

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes