170 Reviews

It's been a while since a recipe made me smile. I agree with another reviewer that there's the perfect amount of leavening to make these waffles fluffy without tasting like baking powder. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that this is a no-fuss recipe. There is no beating of egg whites, no separate mixing of yolks with butter, no warming everything so that butter won't clump from other cold ingredients. Recipes like this make it possible to enjoy waffles on a weekday. We ate ours this morning with strawberries and everyone left for the day in a good mood.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H March 29, 2011

This is a very good waffle recipe that we use in the belgian maker. We ommit the maple extract, and instead use a 1.5x the amount of vanilla and the zest from an organic mandarin. They are exclenet. We normally make at least a double batch, and freeze the leftovers after they have cooled completly so they do not squash. They re-heat at 400*f for 10 min, and are just like fresh. Excelent recipe, thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie727 March 01, 2011

This is a GREAT and EASY recipe. Its light,fluffy,creamy texture. BUT from a family of 8 opinions this reminds them of a pancake but a waffle version. Made it 2 just in case I messed it up but it was the same. Thanks for sharing it with us

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dc99140 July 30, 2015

Great tasting basic waffle recipe. I agree with reviewers that it is so nice that it is no fuss so you can make them in a timely fashion for busy mornings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia S. July 24, 2015

I was making a large batch of waffles for a freezer stash when I ran out of mix. I found this recipe and it is great. The waffles are much nicer than those made from the mix, and it isn't much harder to make! We use bulk (5lb.) bags of mix in about 2 months, but it may be a while before we buy more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoozer July 12, 2015

Fabulous recipe. I want to tattoo this recipe on my body so I never lose it. I made it with evaporated milk, half watered, because we don't buy regular milk, eyeballed the sugar (maybe 3 tbsp), and salt, omitted the maple & was out of vanilla...I did not have vegetable oil, so I used the bit I had left of coconut and topped off the rest with olive oil. These were light and crispy (after sitting on a rack for a few minutes). Just perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anabelster July 04, 2015

Easy to make and tastes great. I have made other waffle recipes but none turned out as good as this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joann January 20, 2014

This is a great, simple recipe that you can easily modify to reflect your own taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Want2BeChef April 21, 2013

These are awesome waffles. This is a great basic, no fuss recipe. I have another recipe for waffles that my family really likes too, but it's so time consuming. I have now put that recipe on the back burner for when I get requests for them; otherwise, this is my go to waffle recipe. Everyone who has had these waffles loves them. Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom January 17, 2013

These turned out very yummy! We don't keep cows milk in the house so I used coconutmilk (the drinking kind, not the canned kind) and evaporated milk. I did 1c. coconutmilk and 2/3 c. evaporated. I replaced 1/4c. of the white flour with wheat germ and did not have any maple extract so I used 1.5 tsp. vanilla instead of just 1tsp. Also, I used coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. I have just a plain jane waffle iron so I left them a moment longer after the ready light came on to make sure they'd be nice and crisp and I also kept them warming in a 200deg. F oven until serving time. I served them with sliced bananas, chopped walnuts, real maple syrup and powdered sugar. When I tasted the first one to come out, I thought they were too salty so I will reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. next time but even so, once they had the toppings on they were just delicious. I got 12 waffles out of this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team October 24, 2012
Basic Batter Waffles