150 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very good waffle recipe that we use in the belgian maker. We ommit the maple extract, and instead use a 1.5x the amount of vanilla and the zest from an organic mandarin. They are exclenet. We normally make at least a double batch, and freeze the leftovers after they have cooled completly so they do not squash. They re-heat at 400*f for 10 min, and are just like fresh. Excelent recipe, thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie727 March 01, 2011

It's been a while since a recipe made me smile. I agree with another reviewer that there's the perfect amount of leavening to make these waffles fluffy without tasting like baking powder. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that this is a no-fuss recipe. There is no beating of egg whites, no separate mixing of yolks with butter, no warming everything so that butter won't clump from other cold ingredients. Recipes like this make it possible to enjoy waffles on a weekday. We ate ours this morning with strawberries and everyone left for the day in a good mood.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H March 29, 2011

Easy to make and tastes great. I have made other waffle recipes but none turned out as good as this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovemykids1234 January 20, 2014

This is a great, simple recipe that you can easily modify to reflect your own taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Want2BeChef April 21, 2013

These are awesome waffles. This is a great basic, no fuss recipe. I have another recipe for waffles that my family really likes too, but it's so time consuming. I have now put that recipe on the back burner for when I get requests for them; otherwise, this is my go to waffle recipe. Everyone who has had these waffles loves them. Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Q & A's Mom January 17, 2013

These turned out very yummy! We don't keep cows milk in the house so I used coconutmilk (the drinking kind, not the canned kind) and evaporated milk. I did 1c. coconutmilk and 2/3 c. evaporated. I replaced 1/4c. of the white flour with wheat germ and did not have any maple extract so I used 1.5 tsp. vanilla instead of just 1tsp. Also, I used coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. I have just a plain jane waffle iron so I left them a moment longer after the ready light came on to make sure they'd be nice and crisp and I also kept them warming in a 200deg. F oven until serving time. I served them with sliced bananas, chopped walnuts, real maple syrup and powdered sugar. When I tasted the first one to come out, I thought they were too salty so I will reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. next time but even so, once they had the toppings on they were just delicious. I got 12 waffles out of this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team October 24, 2012

I LOVE that these waffles don't have you beating egg whites separately and that the batter can be mixed up and ready in under 5 minutes. That said, we didn't find these very tender at all, and rather flavorless for our tastes. The flavor can be fixed easily enough, but I'm not sure I can do much about the tenderness...I think I'll keep looking for a good, quick waffle recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL December 14, 2011

As many other reviewers have said, this was also my first time making waffles. The recipe was easy to follow and came out perfectly. I had a lot of leftovers that I froze and my daughter's been eating them every day since. I actually haven't been able to get her to eat anything else for breakfast! She says these are much better than Eggos (and she loves those) and I'm glad to make her something homemade where I can control the ingredients. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungrymama July 27, 2010

Great waffles. I used milk and next time I want to try the evaported milk. I didnt have any maple extract so I used the same amount of maple syrup. Great combination the vanilla and the maple, we like it alot. Just the right amount of sugar as well. I used 1/3 cup of batter for each waffle. Love the picture you took Thanks Roxy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee December 29, 2006

Perfect waffles. Crispy on the outside, fluffy and tender on the inside. I make breakfast almost every morning for my family and they still request these at least once a week. It's a versatile recipe and easy to change the flavor of with cinnamon, zest, fruit mixed in, peanut butter, chocolate chips...etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee April 14, 2015
Basic Batter Waffles