Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basic Batter Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Batter Waffles

    Average Rating:

    141 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 141

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2011

      This is a very good waffle recipe that we use in the belgian maker. We ommit the maple extract, and instead use a 1.5x the amount of vanilla and the zest from an organic mandarin. They are exclenet. We normally make at least a double batch, and freeze the leftovers after they have cooled completly so they do not squash. They re-heat at 400*f for 10 min, and are just like fresh. Excelent recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      It's been a while since a recipe made me smile. I agree with another reviewer that there's the perfect amount of leavening to make these waffles fluffy without tasting like baking powder. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that this is a no-fuss recipe. There is no beating of egg whites, no separate mixing of yolks with butter, no warming everything so that butter won't clump from other cold ingredients. Recipes like this make it possible to enjoy waffles on a weekday. We ate ours this morning with strawberries and everyone left for the day in a good mood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Easy to make and tastes great. I have made other waffle recipes but none turned out as good as this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      This is a great, simple recipe that you can easily modify to reflect your own taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      These are awesome waffles. This is a great basic, no fuss recipe. I have another recipe for waffles that my family really likes too, but it's so time consuming. I have now put that recipe on the back burner for when I get requests for them; otherwise, this is my go to waffle recipe. Everyone who has had these waffles loves them. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      These turned out very yummy! We don't keep cows milk in the house so I used coconutmilk (the drinking kind, not the canned kind) and evaporated milk. I did 1c. coconutmilk and 2/3 c. evaporated. I replaced 1/4c. of the white flour with wheat germ and did not have any maple extract so I used 1.5 tsp. vanilla instead of just 1tsp. Also, I used coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. I have just a plain jane waffle iron so I left them a moment longer after the ready light came on to make sure they'd be nice and crisp and I also kept them warming in a 200deg. F oven until serving time. I served them with sliced bananas, chopped walnuts, real maple syrup and powdered sugar. When I tasted the first one to come out, I thought they were too salty so I will reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. next time but even so, once they had the toppings on they were just delicious. I got 12 waffles out of this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      I LOVE that these waffles don't have you beating egg whites separately and that the batter can be mixed up and ready in under 5 minutes. That said, we didn't find these very tender at all, and rather flavorless for our tastes. The flavor can be fixed easily enough, but I'm not sure I can do much about the tenderness...I think I'll keep looking for a good, quick waffle recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      As many other reviewers have said, this was also my first time making waffles. The recipe was easy to follow and came out perfectly. I had a lot of leftovers that I froze and my daughter's been eating them every day since. I actually haven't been able to get her to eat anything else for breakfast! She says these are much better than Eggos (and she loves those) and I'm glad to make her something homemade where I can control the ingredients. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Great waffles. I used milk and next time I want to try the evaported milk. I didnt have any maple extract so I used the same amount of maple syrup. Great combination the vanilla and the maple, we like it alot. Just the right amount of sugar as well. I used 1/3 cup of batter for each waffle. Love the picture you took Thanks Roxy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Excellent recipe! You can switch out maple extract with any extract! Made it a few times already yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      I bought a brand new waffle iron at a garage sale for $8 and was so excited to find an easy, basic recipe. I use half whole wheat flour and buttermilk, omit the maple extract, use 1.5 Times the vanilla and these are heavenly: crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      These waffles are frequently made in our house. It is easy and they are tasty. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      I make these wonderful waffles almost weekly for my family! The recipe is very easy to follow, and we always have the ingredients on hand. These waffles freeze very well and reheat in the toaster oven just as easily as an eggo (but they taste MUCH better!). Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Made these with my new waffle stick iron and loved them! I used a pinch extra baking powder and a little bit of vanilla bean paste. Served with whipping cream and raspberry jam for dipping. Yummy! Posting a picture too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      my DW and our houseguest just finished off the waffles -- my first time to make waffles since giving up Bisquick because of GMO's -- they loved them and made those OMG these are the bomb sounds the entire time -- don't ask me what i thought as i do not like waffles or pancakes (yeah i am different)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Light and fluffy and easy, quick to make. Have the rest in the freezer. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      Perfect!! Followed the recipe without the condensed milk & maple extract. These were great!! Lightly sweet, hinting at vanilla, slightly crisp on the outside, without being hard or crunchy, tender on the inside. It is exactly what it says a basic batter for waffles. The people who said bland can make other waffles because they are wrong!! if you want fancy flavored waffles, make a flavored waffle recipe, these make a great, simple waffle you can tweak or top to your liking. I might try brown sugar instead of white & a little cinnamon next time, depends on what I feel like. Will be making again & again, tweaked or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      These are tasty and so easy and quick! They are a perfect spur-of-the-moment waffle, thanks so much for sharing this easy (no melted butter or whipped egg whites!!) recipe! I know I'll use it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

    • on February 02, 2013

      A good alternative to Bisquik.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Batter Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.2
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    43%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 71.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 433.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites