Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basbousa(بسبوسة) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basbousa(بسبوسة)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2001

      This is an excellent version of one of my favorite local desserts. I made this with orange juice instead of lemon, and it was delicious! This is not a cake typical to American palates, but I highly suggest everyone try this at least once!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2001

    • on August 29, 2003

      Thank you Najwa for a delicious and unusual cake recipe. I enjoyed the slightly chewy texture imparted by the semolina, and the sticky, moistness, provided by the syrup. My only complaint is that my family finished it off before I had a chance to have a second slice! Next time I will do as Mirj did, and make the syrup with orange juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      I bought some semolina to try this and am glad I did. It is really much better the day after it's baked since the lemon flavored syrup will be completely absorbed. Eating a few hours after it was baked was like having overly sweet cornbread. But on the following day it was great! The texture was more like a very moist cake and the flavor developed nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Delicious! A great tasting little cake, perfect with coffee. I followed the recipe exactly but added some orange blossom water to the syrup, which gave a lovely aroma. Thanks for sharing. Will be making it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I made this as the dessert for a dinner party, and it was very well received, sweet but not too sweet with a great texture. For the dinner I served it with icecream, but DH asked me to make custard when he had some the next day, (we'd eaten a LOT that night which is the only reason it hadn't been finished off!) and he liked it better that way. it was very easy to make and I ws very pleased with the result. Thanks for a great recipe :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This is the most popular dessert in Alexandria,Egypt,where I was born.But, if I'm not mistaken,the name was<>,in Alexandria. We used togo after the movies,to get a piece of this dessert,hot whith a dob of<>the local wipcream,is the most delicious dessert anyone can have..Brings back sweet!!!memories,I thank najwa for sending it!!!!From Haary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      To answer BostonEgypt question on how to make basbousa less cake like is to omit the butter milk and the baking powder. i will post my recipe soon but I use 3 cups of semolina and the same amount of unsalted butter and mix them together with the same amount of sugar. Add in a differant bowl I will mix 1 cup of plain yogurt and the same amount of baking soda until it almost doubles in size. then I will mix the two mixtures together and press down in a small jellyroll pan and bake at 375 or 400 (depending on your oven) until the its a dark golden brown. Then pour on the cold syrup on the basbousa. Oh and in our family or culture basbousa is made with coconut and this recipe is called Harissa. Maybe its just a Palestinian thing. Hope this helps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      I just moved back to the states after six months in Egypt. I love basbousa and was excited to make many Egyptian/Middle Eastern dishes for my friends. They all fell in love with this one, and I liked it. But I was a little disappointed at how cakey it was. Does anyone have any suggestions for making it more dense, syrupy, and sticky and less like sweet cornbread? Otherwise very good, great flavor!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      This recipe received the highest kudos - my Egyptian mother-in-law LOVED it, as did my hubby and all the parents at my son's soccer camp. I plan to make it as often as I can, though I have to give it away since it's so rich. Shukran Gazeelan! Thank you SO much. Ma'a salaama, Nancy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      Thank you Najwa for a delicious and unusual cake recipe. I enjoyed the slightly chewy texture imparted by the semolina, and the sticky, moistness, provided by the syrup. My only complaint is that my family finished it off before I had a chance to have a second slice! Next time I will do as Mirj did, and make the syrup with orange juice.I made this as the dessert for a dinner party, and it was very well received, sweet but not too sweet with a great texture. For the dinner I served it with icecream, but DH asked me to make custard when he had some the next day, (we'd eaten a LOT that night which is the only reason it hadn't been finished off!) and he liked it better that way. it was very easy to make and I ws very pleased with the result. Thanks for a great recipe :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      I posted earlier and I am afraid I accidentally gave it 1 star! It deserves at least 4. I combined this recipes with one entitles "basboosa II" and got good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      I am doing a report on Egypt in school for sixth grade. We have a presentation, which involves bringing food in for the school to taste. When I found this desert, I was extremely excited! For my "test batch", I only had to bake the cake for about thirty minutes, and it came out perfectly. I then made the syrup. I waited for it to cool before I put it in my bottle for drizzling, and it became hard in the pan. I was dissapointed that I could not use the syrup. The cake was delicious, however tasted a bit plain without the syrup, so instead I put jam on top. It was exquisite! For my real batch, I baked the cake in 160 mini cupcake liners, cut a slit diagnolly in the top, and filled the slit with jam. They looked amazing, and they were delicious! I still have lots of left over ingredients, so I plan on making this dessert again for my family. Thank you for this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      I just finished making this and had to try a little corner. It is delicious. I used the lemon and added a little bit of orange flower water since it is popular where I live. It does remind me of cornbread which I am very excited about. Thank you for a delicious recipe that is super easy to make abroad in Tunisia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      This turned out great - light and moist and oh so tasty. I put some flaked almonds on the top with the last of the syrup. The cakes looked and tasted lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Tasty! It reminded me of a very good cornbread :-) It was great with coffee as well as with green tea. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

    • on October 04, 2005

      I crave this dessert...I have friends that crave this dessert. It is amazing. Simple. Sugary sweet. Just plain good. Thank you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basbousa(بسبوسة)

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.1
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    33%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 31.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 377.3 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites