Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basboosa - Easy Semolina Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basboosa - Easy Semolina Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2010

      I know nothing about Middle Eastern food, but for a 7th grade World Fair project for my son, we had to find something from Saudi Arabia. This recipe was easy & it was a hit (although I'm sure all the students were bouncing off the walls considering the sugar content!). Like the other suggestions, we also cut down the sugar in the syrup. LOVE the cinnamon/vanilla/lime combo! We will make this again because it's so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup in the syrup. Love love love this cake! Tastes fantastic warmed. Can be frozen and reheated in microwave for later enjoyment. Thanks for a simple but fantastic recipe. So good with a little whipped cream. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      this was just okay... the recipe makes too much syrup than you actually need to soak the cake. Also the cook time is way too long. I took mine out of the oven about 35 min into cooking and it was already over done. the edge of this cake is not suppose to be crispy or caramelized. it is not suppose to have any sort of a crust. it is a good cake. the taste is spot on... but i think the recipe needs a little bit of adjusting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Ok, so I tried this recipe because I've always wanted to try basboosa. It was good but, typical of Middle Eastern desserts, the recipe calls for the cake to be absolutely drowned in syrup. I only put half the syrup on the cake and that was more than enough. Also, again very typical, the finished product was very very sweet. So I would suggest cutting out 1/2, maybe 3/4 cup of sugar from the syrup [I really don't think it will be missed, there's still loads of sugar in the syrup]. But overall, it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This was delicious!! I did cut the sugar in the syrup back to 1 1/2c as most simple syrups are 1:1 sugar:water ratio, anyway. I was surprised & pleased that the cake wasn't overly sweet! I used an orange as I didn't have a lemon or lime. So then I added a TB of orange flower water. We LOVE the texture of semolina cakes. This was absolutely delicious. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I had never made/had basboosa before, so I wasn't sure how it should turn out. The flavor of the cake was great, but it was a bit flat and stuck to the bottom of the pan. It did have a great caramelized crust around the edges. Overall, I really like it. We only made a small batch of the syrup and served it warm with Easy Date and Pecan Ice Cream (Easy Date and Pecan Ice-Cream). Together it was a very yummy desert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Fab-u-lous!!! Bit hit! Delicious, moist and just absolutely tasty!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Tried this recipe today. It was really really good. I added the ingredients in step-by-step, and fully whisked them before adding the next ingredient. I also let the batter sit for a good 30 minutes before baking. As for the syrup, I only used 3/4 cup sugar and water. Added some fresh lemon juice and a tiny bit of vanilla extract. I think the baking time was short (maybe 25-35 minutes). Overall, great recipe and will definitely keep it. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      I made this recipe exactly as stated except I poured the batter into cupcakes! You take the mini cakes and set them on plates, then soak with the syrup. It's delicious. This is very similar to cakes some of the old aunties at the masjid will make for Ramadan Iftars. It looks very elegant to have a little miniature cake -- turn it upside down on the plate and garnish with sprigs of mint and some fruit slices for presentation. This recipe is super easy and would be great for kids learning to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basboosa - Easy Semolina Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 627.9
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    32%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.9 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 99.1 mg
    33%
    Sodium 452.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.8 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 90.1 g
    360%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites