Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2013

      What can I say but yummy, yummy, yummy! I made this for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game 2013 and for our lunch and what an easy and delicious soup. I did add kale (had some I needed to use), 1 potatoe diced, 2 small roma tomatoes chopped, 1/2 zucchini (needed to use that also) and some garlic and a bay leaf. You can add any thing you want and that's what is nice...especially when you need to clean out the fridge. Thank you for posting and I'm putting this in my Favorites of 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Delish! I am a huge lover of veggie soup AND of barley, so I knew I couldn't go wrong with this recipe! I took the advice of Annacia and just threw all the veggie and barley in the broth, brought it up to a boil then decreased to a simmer for about 1 hour. Cooked to perfection! I added some spinach and a few tomatoes which were great. Next time I will use just a little less barley, but that's my preference. THANKS Rita :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      5 more stars from me. My only adaption was to skip cooking the veggies in the oil, I just added them to the barley pot. I don't think that the recipe suffered any for it. All of the good things cooked in the vegetable broth was perfect. I think a light touch of garlic might be nice but certainly not essential. There is no parsley in the house so it had to go without this time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Sometimes the simple things are the best. This is very tasty and easy to put together. I like soup a bit more stew-like, so used just 8 cups of broth. I used extra carrots and celery and it is delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Yum! I made a few changes and it was pretty good. I used Better Than Bouillon Vegetable broth, added zucchini, garlic, and Field Roast Apple Sage Sausage (vegan, it's amazing). As for the cooking method, I took PaulaG's idea and used my crock pot. I added the barley and most of the broth and let it cook on low for a little bit. Then I briefly sauteed all of the vegetables (including the garlic) for about 5 minutes. From there, I just added the rest of the broth and the vegetables to the cooker and let it cook for about 2-3 hours. At the very end I sliced up some sausage and added it. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This is wonderful. I changed it up just to suit my ingredients. I used 2-8 oz packages of mushrooms, doubled the other vegetables and used quick barley. I skipped cooking the barley first and started by cooking my veggies. Then I added my vegetable broth and simmered the soup for about 20 minutes. I added the quick barley and cooked it for 15 more minutes, then let it sit for 5 minutes before serving. We all really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      A very delicious and filling soup recipe! The veggies all go very well together and add a great flavour to the soup. Especially the mushrooms stand out. The barley makes this soup hearty and a perfect lunch that fills you up for the rest of the day. My barley only took 40 minutes til fully cooked, but that didnt pose a problem as I decided to simmer the veggies shorter to have a firmer texture. I dont think this soup needs extra seasoning, but some garlic or pepper could make for a nice addition. I have to admit, my sis and me enjoyed this so much that we kept coming back for more and soon the soup had disappeared. :) THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this amazing soup with us, ~Rita~! It is well worth the extra effort! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #18 January 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Very good low cal, low sodium soup that satisfies. I added larger quantities of veggies, used boxed broth and omitted the salt. Thanks for posting a healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      made this one for the deli today. i did a few things differently. I added 2 bay leaves some chopped garlic, 2 cans of diced tomatoes and a very small bunch of spinach. I roasted the vegies first then just threw it all in the slow cooker.. turned out very well.. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

    • on November 30, 2007

      A simple and comforting soup for the cold winter months. I adapted the recipe to the crock pot and was rewarded with a nice hot meal after working all day. Thanks Rita for sharing this recipe. *Photo Tag*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I've never made barley soup before and this recipe was very straight forward and easy. I add a lot more veggies (brocolli, zuccini, red peppers, potatoes) which i highly recommend. it also really needs black pepper or some sort of pepper taste. we also used tabasco at the table (but we're sort of tabasco addicts!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      delicious...only problem is that I can't stop eating it..... By the way it says Canola Oil in the ingredients and olive oil in the preparation....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Wow, what a delicious soup! I used zucchini instead of celery, chicken stock and I cooked the barley with the veggies (I used pre-cooked barley). I think you could make this soup with any veggies in the fridge and that's so wonderful about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Great soup. I used a little more barley than the recipe call for, but other than that, no changes..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      This is a very hearty and delicious soup, and we all enjoyed it so much! I served it with whole wheat buns and fresh cheese. Thanks for great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      A delicious low-fat, healthy soup. I did add 1 tsp low-sodium chicken bouillon and sprayed Pam on skillet instead of using canola oil. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and used stock from Vegetable Stock. Next time I may add a little meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    28%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 30.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites