17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What can I say but yummy, yummy, yummy! I made this for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game 2013 and for our lunch and what an easy and delicious soup. I did add kale (had some I needed to use), 1 potatoe diced, 2 small roma tomatoes chopped, 1/2 zucchini (needed to use that also) and some garlic and a bay leaf. You can add any thing you want and that's what is nice...especially when you need to clean out the fridge. Thank you for posting and I'm putting this in my Favorites of 2013.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf February 21, 2013

Delish! I am a huge lover of veggie soup AND of barley, so I knew I couldn't go wrong with this recipe! I took the advice of Annacia and just threw all the veggie and barley in the broth, brought it up to a boil then decreased to a simmer for about 1 hour. Cooked to perfection! I added some spinach and a few tomatoes which were great. Next time I will use just a little less barley, but that's my preference. THANKS Rita :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 04, 2010

5 more stars from me. My only adaption was to skip cooking the veggies in the oil, I just added them to the barley pot. I don't think that the recipe suffered any for it. All of the good things cooked in the vegetable broth was perfect. I think a light touch of garlic might be nice but certainly not essential. There is no parsley in the house so it had to go without this time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 02, 2010

Sometimes the simple things are the best. This is very tasty and easy to put together. I like soup a bit more stew-like, so used just 8 cups of broth. I used extra carrots and celery and it is delicious! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan December 03, 2013

Yum! I made a few changes and it was pretty good. I used Better Than Bouillon Vegetable broth, added zucchini, garlic, and Field Roast Apple Sage Sausage (vegan, it's amazing). As for the cooking method, I took PaulaG's idea and used my crock pot. I added the barley and most of the broth and let it cook on low for a little bit. Then I briefly sauteed all of the vegetables (including the garlic) for about 5 minutes. From there, I just added the rest of the broth and the vegetables to the cooker and let it cook for about 2-3 hours. At the very end I sliced up some sausage and added it. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danakscully64 July 16, 2010

This is wonderful. I changed it up just to suit my ingredients. I used 2-8 oz packages of mushrooms, doubled the other vegetables and used quick barley. I skipped cooking the barley first and started by cooking my veggies. Then I added my vegetable broth and simmered the soup for about 20 minutes. I added the quick barley and cooked it for 15 more minutes, then let it sit for 5 minutes before serving. We all really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanceosunshine February 14, 2010

A very delicious and filling soup recipe! The veggies all go very well together and add a great flavour to the soup. Especially the mushrooms stand out. The barley makes this soup hearty and a perfect lunch that fills you up for the rest of the day. My barley only took 40 minutes til fully cooked, but that didnt pose a problem as I decided to simmer the veggies shorter to have a firmer texture. I dont think this soup needs extra seasoning, but some garlic or pepper could make for a nice addition. I have to admit, my sis and me enjoyed this so much that we kept coming back for more and soon the soup had disappeared. :) THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this amazing soup with us, ~Rita~! It is well worth the extra effort! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #18 January 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 09, 2010

Very good low cal, low sodium soup that satisfies. I added larger quantities of veggies, used boxed broth and omitted the salt. Thanks for posting a healthy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man November 05, 2009

made this one for the deli today. i did a few things differently. I added 2 bay leaves some chopped garlic, 2 cans of diced tomatoes and a very small bunch of spinach. I roasted the vegies first then just threw it all in the slow cooker.. turned out very well.. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geez70 November 03, 2008
Barley Vegetable Soup