11 Reviews

LOVE this!!! I've done it with all barley, half and half as written, and trying it tomorrow with barley and quinoa~~~GREAT recipe and much more budget friendly!!! (besides being OK for gluten intolerants)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgpat August 07, 2011

Another winner here. I love salads like this. It makes quite a large amount and keeps really well which all leads to making the evening meal a breeze. The barley cooked up perfectly and mad a pleasant change to other grains or couscous. I didn't take a picture as I didn't have quite enough parsley or tomatoes on hand. Tasted gorgeous anyway. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap March 2012 and November 2012 Aussie / Kiwi Swap. I hadn't realized until now that I had already made and reviewed it. Still awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy November 22, 2012

I made this as written apart from using regular tomatoes and a bit of mint. I loved the chewy texture of the barley along with the crisp veg and the zing of the herbs. My lemons were extremely juicy, so I only used 1 1/2. I'm so happy we have leftovers of this delicious salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 08, 2012

Great recipe! I like the texture of barley and it works well for a grain salad. I used all barley because of a wheat allergy and extra lemon with a splash of vinegar to accommodate my tastes.
I can imagine using other grains as well. I put this on a bed of shredded greens and had a delightful lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Gnome September 27, 2012

I subbed all barley for the bulgur. Used vegetables mostly from our CSA box and served with tacos for a Middle Eastern/Mexican feast. Served tabbouleh over mixed greens and some arugula, too. Serving at room temperature showcases the flavors best. Perfect potluck/brunch/picnic salad! Reviewed for Veg Tag/June.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 11, 2011

This is a great version of tabbouleh! I don't care for onions so left them out; I had baby carrots so just chopped them instead of shredding. Served this as a side dish with grilled chicken but I think it would also be a very satisfying lunch dish on its own. Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof April 25, 2011

What a refreshing, crisp and super tasty tabbouleh! Mmmm! The veggies all go so well together and make you feel like it was spring time already again. :) Luved the addition of pearl barley! It added a honeylike earthy flavour and great texture. Since I cant have wheat I used millet in place of the bulgur, which worked out nicely. Also I made only half the recipe for my sis and me. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this fantastic recipe with us, Elmotoo! It will find its way into our lunch boxes quite often Im sure! :) Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #21 April 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula April 11, 2010

Delicious and quite simple to prepare. I liked the combination of brown rice and tabbouleh, combined with the lemon juice and zest. I didn't have enough zest, because I had one already zested lemon, so I would make sure to have all of it next time round. I also think it would be perfect if only enough water was added to the barley and bulger to cook/soak it - draining the water off can leave extra moisture. Next time, I'll make them the way I usally to. This is like eating a bit of summer, and is very welcome! Thanks, Elmotoo! Made for Veggie Swap 21.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen March 30, 2010

This was my first experience with tabbouleh. Very tasty dish. With your permission I used brown rice instead of bulgur since I can't get that where I live. The flavor is light and lemony and perfect with the vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally April 07, 2008

I loved it! I took this to work for lunch and had to share it around. So now you have the combined reviews of 5 other people... and one person who had to go and buy a pie for lunch - me! I made no changes. Julienned the carrots on my mandolin and that made for a great crunch. The girls have requested this again next week - I will have to make a tripple batch! Next time I am going tp add a bit of chopped fresh mint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happygurl06 August 26, 2007
Barley Tabbouleh