25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh My gosh , This is really good Risotto, We love barley but had never had it fixed this way. It does make a lot for two or three people. Will have a good lunch. Recipe is a Keeper, thank you Chia.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 24, 2003

I enjoyed the varying tastes and textures in this. This was also the first time I have eaten barley as a main ingredient-usually I have used it as a complement to soups and stews. This was a nice change and was quite enjoyable. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 08, 2003

Was looking for a side dish to replace rice. This one is definitely a keeper! I followed the recipe and added chopped carrots as other reviewers had suggested. I didn't have mushrooms on hand and I added Rotel diced tomatoes with chili peppers to kick up the flavor. Will definitely make this again. This did make a lot so plan on lots of leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine May 07, 2012

Love it! I didn't use mushrooms (ingredient in entrée) or tomato (didn't have) and used Parmesan (what I had). I put a few leaves of sage in and some dried basil with the liquid and the flavor was great. This was the first time I cooked barley, and knew I was eating barley, and it was great! I will certainly make again. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emjenn December 15, 2010

This is SO good. I omitted the white wine because I never have it on hand. I used about 1 1/2 cups of shredded parmesan/romano cheese, and it made for a great, creamy consistency. This stuff is fantastic, and will be a great way to use up random vegetables. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough November 20, 2010

Wonderful!!! I used red wine because that's what I had open. So easy, and a nice main when my husband isn't here to complain that there isn't any meat! Little does he know he'll be getting it for lunch tomorrow, it does make alot. Doubled the mushrooms to use up the whole pkg and used lots of parmesan to give it a nice rich flavour. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u September 17, 2010

Nice way to use barley, lots of possibilities to add different things. Very healthy and inexpensive, makes a lot too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 03, 2010

Very good! Made a lot more than I expected. With a little chicken thrown in this would easily be an entire meal! Will definitely make again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel June 21, 2010

Tried this recipe last night and the whole family loved it. This is one to add to my often used recipe box. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Willklan January 26, 2010

Excellent recipe! Barley is one of my favorite grains, and I was so excited to try this. I loved how the barley stayed a bit chewy. I ran out of peas so I added in a small chopped carrot too, which worked perfectly. I added some dried basil to enhance the flavor as well. I think I'll try this again with different veggie combinations. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki May 03, 2009
barley risotto