Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / barley risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    barley risotto

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2003

      Oh My gosh , This is really good Risotto, We love barley but had never had it fixed this way. It does make a lot for two or three people. Will have a good lunch. Recipe is a Keeper, thank you Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      I enjoyed the varying tastes and textures in this. This was also the first time I have eaten barley as a main ingredient-usually I have used it as a complement to soups and stews. This was a nice change and was quite enjoyable. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Was looking for a side dish to replace rice. This one is definitely a keeper! I followed the recipe and added chopped carrots as other reviewers had suggested. I didn't have mushrooms on hand and I added Rotel diced tomatoes with chili peppers to kick up the flavor. Will definitely make this again. This did make a lot so plan on lots of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Love it! I didn't use mushrooms (ingredient in entrée) or tomato (didn't have) and used Parmesan (what I had). I put a few leaves of sage in and some dried basil with the liquid and the flavor was great. This was the first time I cooked barley, and knew I was eating barley, and it was great! I will certainly make again. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      This is SO good. I omitted the white wine because I never have it on hand. I used about 1 1/2 cups of shredded parmesan/romano cheese, and it made for a great, creamy consistency. This stuff is fantastic, and will be a great way to use up random vegetables. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      Wonderful!!! I used red wine because that's what I had open. So easy, and a nice main when my husband isn't here to complain that there isn't any meat! Little does he know he'll be getting it for lunch tomorrow, it does make alot. Doubled the mushrooms to use up the whole pkg and used lots of parmesan to give it a nice rich flavour. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Nice way to use barley, lots of possibilities to add different things. Very healthy and inexpensive, makes a lot too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Very good! Made a lot more than I expected. With a little chicken thrown in this would easily be an entire meal! Will definitely make again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Tried this recipe last night and the whole family loved it. This is one to add to my often used recipe box. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Barley is one of my favorite grains, and I was so excited to try this. I loved how the barley stayed a bit chewy. I ran out of peas so I added in a small chopped carrot too, which worked perfectly. I added some dried basil to enhance the flavor as well. I think I'll try this again with different veggie combinations. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This is a good base to start with, but I think that I will make some changes the next time I make this, such as adding some fresh basil to the dish to "kick" up the flavour. I did add in a carrot, used chicken stock for the vegetable stock and replaced the romano with parmesan as that was all I had. I only had flat leaf parsely on hand and I added that in as well. There were just 3 of us for dinner and we have over half of it left over, so the portions are quite large. All in all a good healthy recipe, thanks for posting Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit. I used canned diced tomatoes and didn't add the mushrooms just because we were having grilled Portabella caps as a side. I was also out of white wine so I omitted that. Turned out great. I did have to add more salt, pepper and garlic to suit our tastes and the barely still had a bit of a bite to it but I actually cooked it significantly longer than the recipe called for and I finally just said it was time to eat. Already planning on what veggies I should use next time. Very good, thank you chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This is a nice alternative to using italian rice in your typical risotto. I like the use of peas, tomatoes, and mushrooms. But I have to agree with other raters that it lacked a kick. It wasn't as creamy as risotto, but a nice way to incorporate barley and veggies for a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This was a pretty good side dish. I think it needs a little something extra for a little kick, but it's a very good start and one I can change around a bit to go with different dishes. Very good base recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This was a lovely meal for us tonight, even DD polished off a whole bowl full. I used dehydrated mushrooms (a mix of morels, porcini, portabella, shiitake and oyster mushrooms) which I soaked first, then added the soak water to my veggie stock. I also used hulled barley rather than pearled barley, so it took a bit longer to cook and had a firmer bite. I also used a cheese mixture of parmesan, romano and smoked provolone, which melted nicely into the dish. Delicious! Thanks, Chia! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is a great recipe for this much neglected grain. I was fresh out of vegetable stock so used some chicken stock. The results were terrific. Thank you, Chia, for this great recipe. I made this for the Chic Chefs during Zaar World Tour 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This recipe is delicious and creamy. It would be wonderful to serve as a side instead of rice. I made it as written except for using chicken stock rather than vegetable stock. Made for ZWT4 Risotto Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      has a lot of great flavors just needs a little more gravy (since I am not sure creamyness is a word) but over all the flavors are very good! Made for ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      delicious! i used veggie stock, a carrot instead of mushrooms and pecorino romano which gave it amazing flavor. ill definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I'm trying to work more barley into our diets and thought that I would try this one. Excellent. I used chicken broth and added a chopped carrot. Next time I will try it with beef broth. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for barley risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.4
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    13%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 15.1 g
    60%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites