Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / barley mushroom casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    barley mushroom casserole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      This is a very flavorful side dish, truly delicious and filling. I remember making a similiar barley casserole from a James Bead book, which got lost in one of my many moves. This one is just as good, if not better, than the one I remember. I omitted the sugar. I wasn't sure what it added to the recipe, since I used large sweet onions and didn't need more sugar to carmelize. Barley is such an underused grain. Try it in this recipe and you won't be disappointed. Chia...this is another winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      I could not believe how delicious this dish was and it made me wonder why I never cooked with barley before. I also omitted the sugar, and since I was using dried shitake mushrooms I used their soaking water as part of the broth and it turned out really rich and filling. A definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      What a great recipe! It tastes great and was very easy to make. I don't have a dutch oven so I just cooked everything in a saucepan and transferred it to a casserole dish for the oven. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it came out fabulous. I can't wait to have it for lunch again tomorrow!!! Thanks Chia, I'm glad I finally made this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      I had company who do not like potatoes so I used this as the "potato" substitute. It was superb. This is not a substiture for anything. . . it stands very well on its own. Well worth making. Thank you Chia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      I thought this was just ok.Too much thyme for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This casserole was good and I'm sure I'll be making it again. The caramelized onions definitely were my favorite part! My only issue was that I found it a little bland overall. Maybe it was the broth I used. Anyway, I caramelized the onions in a saucepan on the stove, stirred everything together as the directions say, then transferred everything to my rice cooker. I ran it through a couple of cycles until the barley was done, about an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This is more than 5 stars to me. I only used 1 1/2 onions, no sugar, button mushrooms only and chicken broth. It almost tasted like risotto to me. I froze some for future use. It was delicious! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Wonderful! I soaked the barley for six hours...and still had to bake it for 1 1/2 hours. My husband loved it! Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I didn't think this dish would be as good as it was. Wonderfully frugal, tasty and great for leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      This recipe was delicious, and I'll certainly make it again. My only gripe was that it tooke me lot longer than 1 hour for the barley to get sufficiently cooked. Perhaps the recipe should recommend that the barley be soaked overnight before using it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      I have a barley casserole dish that is very similar to this recipe. I think I'll take the two recipes and sort of combine them. I thought 4 cups of stock was a bit too much -- so I'll cut that back to 3. I loved the addition of the soy sauce and cooking the onions for 25 minutes. I added some slivered almonds (as my old recipe calls for) -- and a few french fried onions on top (in my old recipe). Thanks for posting the recipe. The barley is such a nice change from the usual rice or potatoes. Our dinner guests agreed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      This recipe was fabulous, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      I have made this recipe many times, and frequently add a few sausages during last 30 minutes or so. I agree with Geema that barley is a very underused grain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for barley mushroom casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.1
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    14%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 208.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites