Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Morocco Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Morocco

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2002

      I am always looking for new ways to cook my favorite grain barley. This is one of the most flavorful new dishes I have found in a long time. Everyone loved it and I will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      I really liked the idea of this recipe, but when I made the sauce initially I felt like the flavors were off. I'm not going to rate it because I ended up changing it quite a bit. I doubled the spices as other reviewers suggested, but then the ginger was too strong. So I added a splash of worcestershire, another cup of vegetable broth and another can of chickpeas. After simmering the flavor was better. I still think it's missing something. Maybe garam masala or diced tomatoes? I don't know. I love barley and this is a really great base though, so I'm going to experiment next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      We're trying to eat vegetarian more often, so I'm on the lookout for satisfying vegetarian dishes for a spouse who likes his veggies but can be a tad picky about them as the sole source of nutrition. He liked this! I did substitute chicken broth for vegetable broth (easier to find in our small town), and used a bit more lemon than called for -- half a lemon in the cooking, the rest to squeeze atop when served. Might want to add a tad more coriander and ginger next time around -- 1/4 *heaping* teaspoon of cayenne was plenty for this particular dish, by our lights. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Enjoyed, as did my husband! I prepared slightly differently - cooked the barley in imitation chicken broth, and simmered the vegetables in seasoned water. When the veggies were tender I tossed it altogether with the barley and it was such a nice, fulfilling side dish! My vegan daughter will love this - I am sure. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      What a great way to include barley! This recipe is awsome. I tried it last night, I might repeat it tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Very good and easy to make. The leftovers tasted fine -- did not get mushy after a few days in the fridge. Mods I made: I added a second can of garbonzo beans to the mix. Mods I will make next time I prepare this: I will double all the spices, as was suggested by another reviewer -- this definitely needs more cowbell and we ended up adding some hot asian chile sauce to our bowls for that extra punch of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This was great- a healthy, slightly different meal. While the barley was cooking I chopped up all the veggies, then with 15 min of cooking left, I put all the veggies, spices and stock in a pan and left them covered to cook up. Worked great. When the timer went off for the barley, I added the cornstarch, and viola! Next time I think I'll double the corriander and ginger though...could hardly taste them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Impressed with this satisfying, tasty dish. Barley was done in 36 minutes, sauteed onion mix a bit longer than called for, and cut in half the simmering time for remaining veggies. With seasonings as suggested, found it was hot enough, with mild hints of ginger coming through. A good one, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I've made this recipe numerous times and love it! It's so easy! I will sometimes change up the vegetable combination depending on what I have in the fridge. The barley is a welcome change from rice. This is truly a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I made a few changes to the recipe and my family loved it. First I used quick barley which cut the cooking time down. Then I added 1 cup of sliced mushrooms and only put in half of the broth. I doubled the coriander and ginger to spice it up a bit. Next time I will cook all of the vegetables at the same time as I think the onions & green peppers were overdone and the rest were undercooked because I did not want them to go completely to mush. But it had a great flavor and was fairly simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Garbanzos and barley are a winning combo - very tasty together. I doubled the coriander, ginger and cayenne, and still thought it was a little light on flavor. Maybe if I made it again, I would cut back on the broth, and double up on the soy sauce and lemon juice, as well. And something about barley just cries out for mushrooms. I might add mushrooms, too. This recipe originated from the Washington Barley Commission.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      This dish is excellent--rich and complex enough for an entree, yet light in fat. I made only two changes--I substituted niter kebbeh (spiced ghee) for the oil and skipped the cornstarch as I thought the sauce was dine without thickening. So delicious--and so healthy! Thanks, Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Morocco

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 623.6
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    14%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 371.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 130.5 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 25.9 g
    103%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes