12 Reviews

I am always looking for new ways to cook my favorite grain barley. This is one of the most flavorful new dishes I have found in a long time. Everyone loved it and I will definately make it again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne S December 02, 2002

I really liked the idea of this recipe, but when I made the sauce initially I felt like the flavors were off. I'm not going to rate it because I ended up changing it quite a bit. I doubled the spices as other reviewers suggested, but then the ginger was too strong. So I added a splash of worcestershire, another cup of vegetable broth and another can of chickpeas. After simmering the flavor was better. I still think it's missing something. Maybe garam masala or diced tomatoes? I don't know. I love barley and this is a really great base though, so I'm going to experiment next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 23, 2012

We're trying to eat vegetarian more often, so I'm on the lookout for satisfying vegetarian dishes for a spouse who likes his veggies but can be a tad picky about them as the sole source of nutrition. He liked this! I did substitute chicken broth for vegetable broth (easier to find in our small town), and used a bit more lemon than called for -- half a lemon in the cooking, the rest to squeeze atop when served. Might want to add a tad more coriander and ginger next time around -- 1/4 *heaping* teaspoon of cayenne was plenty for this particular dish, by our lights. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole February 25, 2011

Enjoyed, as did my husband! I prepared slightly differently - cooked the barley in imitation chicken broth, and simmered the vegetables in seasoned water. When the veggies were tender I tossed it altogether with the barley and it was such a nice, fulfilling side dish! My vegan daughter will love this - I am sure. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy July 18, 2009

What a great way to include barley! This recipe is awsome. I tried it last night, I might repeat it tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claudiamp January 10, 2009

Very good and easy to make. The leftovers tasted fine -- did not get mushy after a few days in the fridge. Mods I made: I added a second can of garbonzo beans to the mix. Mods I will make next time I prepare this: I will double all the spices, as was suggested by another reviewer -- this definitely needs more cowbell and we ended up adding some hot asian chile sauce to our bowls for that extra punch of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Holliday October 10, 2008

This was great- a healthy, slightly different meal. While the barley was cooking I chopped up all the veggies, then with 15 min of cooking left, I put all the veggies, spices and stock in a pan and left them covered to cook up. Worked great. When the timer went off for the barley, I added the cornstarch, and viola! Next time I think I'll double the corriander and ginger though...could hardly taste them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely July 08, 2008

Impressed with this satisfying, tasty dish. Barley was done in 36 minutes, sauteed onion mix a bit longer than called for, and cut in half the simmering time for remaining veggies. With seasonings as suggested, found it was hot enough, with mild hints of ginger coming through. A good one, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues September 29, 2007

I've made this recipe numerous times and love it! It's so easy! I will sometimes change up the vegetable combination depending on what I have in the fridge. The barley is a welcome change from rice. This is truly a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarycarrie_ca June 19, 2007

I made a few changes to the recipe and my family loved it. First I used quick barley which cut the cooking time down. Then I added 1 cup of sliced mushrooms and only put in half of the broth. I doubled the coriander and ginger to spice it up a bit. Next time I will cook all of the vegetables at the same time as I think the onions & green peppers were overdone and the rest were undercooked because I did not want them to go completely to mush. But it had a great flavor and was fairly simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cre8d4 January 07, 2007
Barley Morocco