Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2010

      A very nice soup. A little bland for my taste. I loved that there was no meat or potatoes, but I just didn't find enough flavor. After making the recipe in half (your version) and mine. I made the following changes. I added a bit more garlic, more celery, and a can of diced tomatoes. I also used all fresh herbs (more of the fresh of course) which I think gave it a brighter flavor. I used all vegetable stock (no water, that just "watered" it down for me), more pepper, but salt I do to taste. I think the fresh herbs and the tomatoes did it for me. That was all it needed. I did use the topping and mix a bit of lemon juice and zest in with the parsley and sour cream. It was a nice topping to the soup. Served with with a nice baguette that I grilled with some melted havarti. A nice complement to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      wow this is easy and really tasty. ive already made it three times for guests...i never use celery because i always forget to buy it...and i usually double or triple the recipe...i dont top it with yogurt. i find that it sometimes turns into stew so i have to add more water... the best tip i have is squeezing a bit of lemon and good extra virgin olive oil into the bowl for a more complex treat. the olive oil is optional, but the lemon juice really takes it to the next level.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      I made this in my slow-cooker. It was SUPERB!!! So good infact I made two extra lots (one after the other) and froze them. It is as good defrosted as it is fresh. My children love it and it costs almost nothing to make. THANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      I didn't have vegetable broth, so I used chicken broth and also added a package of Knorr's vegetable soup mix. Incredibly flavourful! Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      This soup is a great basic soup, but it definitely benefits from a few extra additions. I did not use marjoram but I did add some oregano and basil. I also added some pepper flakes and hot Italian sausage. The sausage was a great addition and actually added some extra sweetness to the soup. I loved the different flavours and the textures from the barley and lentils. Bowls kept getting refilled tonight! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      So good. I added parmesan and red pepper flakes on mine for a bit more flavor. My kids loved it as is. My kids who cannot agree on anything to eat were both going back for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      Pretty easy, a nice tasting hearty soup. Didn't have thyme and marjoram, just added italian seasoning instead. Used chicken stock. We'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      This is a reeally basic recipe to begin some really awesome soup. I saw the reviews and I definitely opted for the plain yogurt mixed with lemon zest and juice to add to the top. It made it worlds better! I also chopped some celery leaves on top which was really good. As for the seasoning, I had to add a lot. I added some curry powder, garlic salt (I used low sodium vegetable broth), extra garlic, a little cumin and a little Sriracha. I also added extra pearl barley. This recipe turned out really great with lots of help from other reviews!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I was excited about making this healthy soup but ended up disappointed in the lack of flavor. I followed the recipe but also added extra carrots and celery to it. After trying it when it was done I tried adding additional seasonings other than just the thyme, marjoram, salt and pepper, but I still thought it lacked something.
      Reading through some of the other reviews now I see that a lot of people have added everything from lemon juice, cider vinegar, worcestershire sauce, tomatoes to white wine. I'll try the recipe again sometime but make some changes to the seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This soup is AMAZING! I love it! I did change some things. I doubled the recipe, added 1/2 cup white wine, used pearl barley, 2 tsp Cumin, lemon juice, 1 Tbs worshire sauce, 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar, used split peas and lentils. I also crumbled Queso Fresco (white mexican cheese) on top before serving. That adds a lot. Thank you!! It is so good! I am also going to try putting fresh basil in today's batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Hearty but not heavy, this soup is so good! I was looking for a recipe after having a great lentil soup in a restaurant recently. This one was even better! I added a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and used homemade chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. Also I added a lot of fresh thyme - I just threw in several big sprigs from the garden, the leaves fell off in the soup, no chopping necessary. Next time I will garnish it with crumbled bacon, that's the way it was served at the restaurant. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

    • on June 23, 2009

      I fixed this for lunch and it was very nice. I would like a little more seasoning, however. Next time I will add some Italian sausage, I think. I liked the barley mixed with the lentils and it is a terrific Weight Watchers soup at 3 points. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      A nice change from the usual lentil soup. The barley added a little bit more substance and fiber which is always good. I liked the fresh parsley added at serving time. It really boosted the flavor. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Very good soup. I've tried some other lentil soups that turned out rather bland but this came out quite good. I ate it for the next two days and it held over for that entire time and was still good. I didn't bother with the garnish or with the final touch of parsley at the end of cooking, since I didn't have fresh parsley on hand. Regardless of my omissions though it was quite delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Who thought healthy could taste this good?!? When I first looked at this recipe, I thought "Are there enough spices in this?" Just in case you're wondering the same thing...Yes, there are! This is a very flavorful, hearty soup. (Not to mention it's so inexpensive to make!) Thanks so much for sharing, Toni! This will be a frequent flyer at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This soup is amazing. Beautiful. Fantastic. And really easy. I used pearl barley and it got a little bit too mushy, but even that I grew to enjoy. I ate this soup ALL WEEK for lunch. I prefer thicker soups and though this was just-about-right for me, it was even better as it continued to thicken gradually in the fridge over the week. I am counting the days left on my meal plan so I can make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      An excellent combination, barley and lentils. I didn't have any marjoram, so used sage instead. Also, i only had red lentils, which i believe tend to get mushier than brown or green. This may have made my version of this soup thicker. Everyone loved it. I plan to try it with the original ingredients as soon as i get a chance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was so good! Even my husband liked it, and he thinks soup doesn't qualify as food unless it's served with a pizza. I was a little worried about it being bland with a vegetable stock instead of a beef stock, but by the time it had simmered and I'd added the fresh parsley, it was delicious! This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I've been looking for healthier meals and this one hit the spot. Do you want to know how good this was? Mr. Picky Picky (my oldest son) ate seconds!!! Everyone enjoyed it and I will definitely be making this again. p.s. I didn't add the marjoram because I didn't have any and I did add pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.8
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    14%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites