50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

wow this is easy and really tasty. ive already made it three times for guests...i never use celery because i always forget to buy it...and i usually double or triple the recipe...i dont top it with yogurt. i find that it sometimes turns into stew so i have to add more water... the best tip i have is squeezing a bit of lemon and good extra virgin olive oil into the bowl for a more complex treat. the olive oil is optional, but the lemon juice really takes it to the next level.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
batya December 10, 2006

A very nice soup. A little bland for my taste. I loved that there was no meat or potatoes, but I just didn't find enough flavor. After making the recipe in half (your version) and mine. I made the following changes. I added a bit more garlic, more celery, and a can of diced tomatoes. I also used all fresh herbs (more of the fresh of course) which I think gave it a brighter flavor. I used all vegetable stock (no water, that just "watered" it down for me), more pepper, but salt I do to taste. I think the fresh herbs and the tomatoes did it for me. That was all it needed. I did use the topping and mix a bit of lemon juice and zest in with the parsley and sour cream. It was a nice topping to the soup. Served with with a nice baguette that I grilled with some melted havarti. A nice complement to the soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook July 06, 2010

I made this in my slow-cooker. It was SUPERB!!! So good infact I made two extra lots (one after the other) and froze them. It is as good defrosted as it is fresh. My children love it and it costs almost nothing to make. THANK YOU

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scimietta99 January 14, 2006

I didn't have vegetable broth, so I used chicken broth and also added a package of Knorr's vegetable soup mix. Incredibly flavourful! Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rxchapman April 04, 2013

This soup is a great basic soup, but it definitely benefits from a few extra additions. I did not use marjoram but I did add some oregano and basil. I also added some pepper flakes and hot Italian sausage. The sausage was a great addition and actually added some extra sweetness to the soup. I loved the different flavours and the textures from the barley and lentils. Bowls kept getting refilled tonight! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu January 11, 2013

So good. I added parmesan and red pepper flakes on mine for a bit more flavor. My kids loved it as is. My kids who cannot agree on anything to eat were both going back for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacquelynM November 28, 2012

Pretty easy, a nice tasting hearty soup. Didn't have thyme and marjoram, just added italian seasoning instead. Used chicken stock. We'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn in Minnesota April 19, 2012

This is a reeally basic recipe to begin some really awesome soup. I saw the reviews and I definitely opted for the plain yogurt mixed with lemon zest and juice to add to the top. It made it worlds better! I also chopped some celery leaves on top which was really good. As for the seasoning, I had to add a lot. I added some curry powder, garlic salt (I used low sodium vegetable broth), extra garlic, a little cumin and a little Sriracha. I also added extra pearl barley. This recipe turned out really great with lots of help from other reviews!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asiawithak May 28, 2011

I was excited about making this healthy soup but ended up disappointed in the lack of flavor. I followed the recipe but also added extra carrots and celery to it. After trying it when it was done I tried adding additional seasonings other than just the thyme, marjoram, salt and pepper, but I still thought it lacked something.
Reading through some of the other reviews now I see that a lot of people have added everything from lemon juice, cider vinegar, worcestershire sauce, tomatoes to white wine. I'll try the recipe again sometime but make some changes to the seasonings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Benjicat December 05, 2010

This soup is AMAZING! I love it! I did change some things. I doubled the recipe, added 1/2 cup white wine, used pearl barley, 2 tsp Cumin, lemon juice, 1 Tbs worshire sauce, 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar, used split peas and lentils. I also crumbled Queso Fresco (white mexican cheese) on top before serving. That adds a lot. Thank you!! It is so good! I am also going to try putting fresh basil in today's batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talk2tanya July 01, 2010
Barley Lentil Soup