Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Corn Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Corn Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2011

      Wow. I made this as a side last night and it was fantastic. I've been looking for different ways to use barley, other than soups, and this was perfect. I added left over chicken and 2T of chia. Next time I'm adding some mushrooms! Thanks for a wonderful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Delicious! I made this as directed and served it with Pesto Grouper#467300 and Petit Pois (Cajun Baby Peas)#206818. Going into my Favorites of 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I really liked this recipe. It made a really good side dish and then it made a really good lunch. The texture of everything was really good together. It would be a good side dish with almost anything. Very delicious and satisfying. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This is a wonderful dish - pure comfort food that's healthy too! I don't care for onion so used chopped celery instead, otherwise made just as directed. Served as a meatless main dish, with some sauteed zucchini and a small salad, and enjoyed a hearty healthy meal - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I made this for National Soup Month in Zaar Holiday Tag. I made it in a 3 serving size and used 5 cups of chicken broth and doubled the seasonings ask for in that serving amount and simmered instead of baked it. I must say that it really makes a great soup. I had a small amount of leftover chicken breast in the fridge, less than 1/2 a cup, so I diced it up and tossed it in basically to use it up. As soup, the bit of chicken was a nice addition. This made a hearty, satisfying and tasty soup that even my picky DH ate a huge bowl of it. It looked like toni's pic except it was swimming in broth. A very good,and adaptable, recipe. Thanks for sharing ElaineAnn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      It looks fantastic and it tastes even better! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Made & served this very tasty side dish as given in the recipe! We definitely enjoyed the combo of corn & barley & I'll be making this one again, maybe taking a tip from another reviewer or two & adding some of the shredded or chopped chicken breast that I always have in the freezer! This is one great keeper of a recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in the Best of 2011 tagging event]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      What a great healthy recipe! I have the hardest time finding a good side for pulled pork, but I finally realized that it should be healthy and not macaroni & cheese-y. I could only find the Bob's Red Mill hull-less barley, so I pre-cooked it for 40 minutes and then continued the recipe. It came out soupy, but firmed up right away. Excellent recipe. So glad you posted it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Very, very nice. Attractive, kid friendly, healthy, easy, & not the same-old-thing. Had to change cooking method as I was preparing dinner ahead. Cooked my barley (regular, not pearl) with low sodium chicken broth in the rice part of my steamer. Sauteed the rest on the stove with the herbs, (had only dried parsley) added the corn (partially frozen) and a bit of water to speed up the softening. Mixed with the barley when done and.. WOW. It was great. Will add to regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      Good, different side dish. Was a great use of barley, which I'm trying to add more of in my diet to mix it up a bit. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Really enjoyed this healthy side dish! I added a courgette/zucchini I had in the fridge which went with the other flavours very well. It ended up being in the oven for an extra 15 minutes but I added a little extra water and it didn't suffer for the extra cooking time. A filling, healthy side dish that we'll try again with some different vegetables and maybe beef broth. Thanks for sharing this very flexible recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      I had some barley that I needed to use up and am glad I tried this recipe. Has great texture and balanced mix of ingredients. Made a filling, tasty, healthy lunch along with side salad. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I goofed a bit on this. I grabbed a boullion cube as a quick substitute for chicken broth and unbeknownst to me it was beef flavored boullion not chicken. Nonetheless, the dish was flavorful and satifying - sort of like a beautiful barley rissotto studded with herbs and veggies. It was also WWCore, always a plus in my book. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Nice casserole, quick and easy. I did sprinkle a bit of shredded cheddar cheese on top right before coming out of the oven. Good side dish for pork chops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Corn Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.4
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    14%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 393.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.9 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes