Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2013

      Thumbs up all around the table! I added garlic, poultry seasoning, mushrooms and green beans. I could only find quick barley in my store, which knocked the bake time down to about half an hour, but I'm sure I'd enjoy the texture better with regular barley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      This was a great recipe. Makes a lot for two people, so I froze single servings and take them out for a quick and healthy dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is alright, it is inexpensive and easy to prepare. I used chicken stock instead of water and added some garlic and a pinch of thyme. But in my opinion the flavors were still lackluster, and it takes longer to bake than my family's willing to wait for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was OK...I added a little thyme and garlic as others have suggested. I might not have gotten the balance right. I like barley as a change of pace from rice though, so I might try this again with more flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I agree with Kittencal that this is like a creamy risotto. I used thyme, sage, forgot to put the garlic in and used 3/4 cup barley (all I had). I also used leftover lamb instead of chicken since hubbie brought some home the night before from a dinner and I wanted to use it up and it tasted just fine with everything else. Will definitely make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This is like a creamy risotto, I also added in some fresh minced garlic, I used 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, also I doubled the recipe, thanks for sharing, we really enjoyed this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was exactly what I was looking for when I wanted to do something with that bag of barley I'd bought. I added some chopped portobello mushrooms to the celery and onions, used a dried little thyme, and subbed a can of low-sodium, fat free chicken broth for the water but otherwise followed the recipe to a tee. I'd really forgotten just how easy and flavorful a barley casserole could be. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I enjoyed this more than regular chicken and rice (loved the big grains)! I used 2 tbs. butter and the leftover poached chicken water. Thanks Pattikay, for another delicious way to include barley in our diet! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Very good! I used cooked turkey rather than chicken and added a pinch of thyme and sage. The only problem I had was that I had greased up the 8" square pyrex baking dish, but the mixture didn't fit in the dish. I ended up moving it to a larger square pyrex pan. Thanks for another lovely dinner Pattikay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      Very nice comfort food without the guilt! It has lots of fiber and lots of flavor, but most of all it is easy to put together. It cooked in the stated time. I did substitute cream of mushroom soup and added one cup of frozen peas. We really enjoyed this. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Everyone loved this, even the 4 yo. I used margarine, red onions, my own Homemade Cream Soup and used chicken broth for the water. I used thyme, sage and rosemary for seasonings. I think I put a little too much sage, but it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This was gobbled up in no time. I made some homemade creamed chicken soup using broth and subbed 2T olive oil for the 1/3 cup butter. I took your suggestion, pattikay, and used 2tsp of poultry seasoning. There were no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.3
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    47%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 48.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 481.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes