Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Casserole

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2002

      I am not a vegetarian but this was the only course I had for dinner and it was great!! I love barley and this is just another great way to prepare it. So simple and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Very good. I did add a 16 oz package of stir fry veggies - trying to get our quota of vegetables. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Wow! Who knew barley could be such an awesome sidedish?! I used olive oil instead of butter. I added corn and sliced black olives. Also melted a little cheddar cheese on top during the last 5 minutes. This is so much better than the same old rice dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Very good! Would go good as a side for mexican dish. It reminded me of Spanish rice. I used salsa picante.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Very nice for my first try cooking with barley. I used Rotel tomatoes with chiles instead of salsa since we forgot to buy salsa at the store and had some Rotel laying around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      I added leftover chicken that I needed to use up and cheese during the last few minutes in the oven. At the table my husband and I also added sour cream and that made the dish go from good to amazing. Tonight I'm planning to serve it the same way with a side salad and corn muffins. <br/><br/>I forgot to cover it and it came out fine just needed more time in the oven so if you don't want to cover it just plan for a longer cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      THis was really good and different. I love the fact it's healthier than rice. You could add chicken or shrimp and have it as a main dish or leave as is for a side. I would think it would be good in tortillas also! I added shitake mushrooms to ours also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      pretty good. next time i'll use 1/2 the salsa.I did use vege broth instead. Tastes kinda like mexican rice,but, way better for you.Hubby liked , daughter liked in spite of spiciness. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This is so good! I've also made it with a can of diced tomatoes instead of salsa, yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This was AWESOME. Hubby made it with 3/4 cup mild Pace (nothing scary in it and it just seasons the barley instead of overwhelming it). Served it topped with cilantro, but it really didn't need it. He's running out now to find some wild mushrooms because we're having the leftovers tonight. And I normally HATE leftovers! Next time he says he will uncover for the last 15 minutes so the liquid can absorb. First class dish! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      So I made a few changes to this, and the result was a yummy and very filling vegetarian meal! The first change I made was to sauté the onion and barley in one generous TB of oil instead of the 3 TB butter. I also added three large zucchini (to make it a meal) and reduced the chicken broth by half a cup to account for the juice the zucchini might add. I, like others, had to cook it 15 minutes longer than the suggested cook time. It still had some liquid remaining after the extra 15 minutes, but the barley was done and my family and I agreed we actually liked a little liquid; made it more stew like. Served it with red grapes and MMM!! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      First time making this recipe, so followed instructions exactly. It tasted good along with a sour cream cucumber and onion salad. We use barley a lot because it has fewer carbs. (Wife is diabetic) Usually we use one part barley to two parts liquid. However, using this recipe, I must have ended up with at least 1/2 cup extra liquid. Next time I will use 1/2 cup less chicken stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Not sure what went wrong here but this came out so soupy! I ended up pouring off nearly two cups of liquid and cooking for an additional 10 minutes uncovered. I sauteed the barley until it was golden (5 ish minutes - though the time isn't stated in the directions.) Perhaps it was too long? Not long enough? Whatever happened, the barley just wasn't absorbing anything even after an hour in the oven. Since I ended up losing so much of the liquid, I stirred in diced tomatoes at the end for flavor. It was still very soggy but tasted alright.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Made as directed. Really love this. Will make over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      So simple and delicious. Next time I'll try using veg. broth. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This was simple AND delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Very tasty. I use spicy salsa. We have this as a side dish with tacos instead of spanish rice. Makes a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Loved this! I haven't cooked with barley before so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised with the nutty flavor. I also uncovered the pan for the last 10 minutes. This is similar to a rice recipe I have but the barley makes it a little unique. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      I'm eating the leftovers for lunch today. Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. I had to uncover the dish the last 10 minutes to absorb the liquid but it was wonderful. Thanks for a healthy dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was great! I tweaked it a little though. I sauted the onion and then added the chicken broth and quick cooking barley. When cooked I added the salsa, salt and pepper. This made it a stove top recipe instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.9
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    33%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 1030.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    37%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes