Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Beef Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Beef Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2010

      This is one of my favorite soups to make! I normally use a bag of mixed veggies to replace the carrots, celery, peas, and green beans. I use a can of diced tomatoes and 2 boxes of beef broth to make prep easier, and I always double the barley. I like my soup thick and hearty! Served with some warm bread, or a grilled cheese sandwich, this is just delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Wow! The paprika, bay leaf and thyme combine with the beef to make a delicious soup. I didn't use peas or potatoes, so I added some turnips with greens. I waited until the end to add the salt and pepper, and finished with 1 teaspoon fresh thyme from my freezer. Thank you, Ziggy, I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      carrots need to be put in long before the last 30 mionutes of simmering.... still hard, and potatoes if used should be put in about and hour before finishing up.... have cooked this low sodium soup three times already and found the above needed to be added sooner than the last 30 minutes....in fact had it tonight for dinner..... good luck with my change

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      My Om%u0101 made the best vegetable beef soup, but never wrote down a recipe. The ingredients for this soup looked right so I cooked up a batch. Not quite the same, but very good. I did substitute crushed tomatoes for the chopped. (Can't handle that texture!) I%u2019ll certainly make it again and see if I can%u2019t tweak it just a bit closer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Great soup. I had left over beef and stock so used that and followed the recipe very closely. After I got home I added the veggies and let it cook. Very easy and great flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      This is an superb recipe! Of course us cooks make the thing exactly as published, then we "tweek" it to our needs in subsequent makings. I make about 3 gallons at a time and after my family has our dinner, I divide it up into plastic containers and freeze most of it. BTW, Deer and Elk work as substitutes for beef and taste excellent! This is really, really tasty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I made it with store-bought beef stock and added a little more tomato, because they came in a larger can, and doubled the barley. It came out fantastic. I did, however add the vegetables long before your recommended half hour, just so they'd be cooked. I'll make this again, for sure. Thank you for posting it, and thanks to the review by emcglone1979 for suggesting the doubled barle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      great recipe. I didn't have any stock or bouillon so I browned the meat in a pan, then sauteed the onions a bit in the same pan. after that I de-glazed the pan with just plain old water and used that for the liquid. turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. I DID tweak it a bit. To reduce the sodium I did not use bouillon cubes. And i used beef broth in place of the water. Other than that I pretty much stuck to the recipe! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      So yummy! Great comfort food. Here are the changes I made: I used beef broth because I didn't have a soup bone. I seared the beef in a bit of olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. Then I wiped down the skillet and sauteed the onions in a little butter before adding them. I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes because my kids prefer smoother soups. I added the carrots, celery and potatoes one hour before finishing and the frozen veggies (beans and peas) about 30 minutes before. Finally, I used small pasta because I didn't have barley, but I suspect barley would be better (heartier). Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Very tasty! I used my own veggie preference, carrots, celery, onion, green beans, & cabbage. I left out the potatoes as I don't like them in soups & stews, they just get too mushy for me. I had 2 packages of soup bones in the freezer I wanted to use up, they had a lot of meat on them so just used that for the meat, it was fall of the bone tender, & really flavorful. We really enjoyed this & my elderly neighbor will too when we take him some tomorrow. Thanks Ziggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This is sooooo.... good. Used frozen mixed veggies... I have stomach cancer & have trouble holding food down. Believe me, I ate more of this than anything I've been able to eat in a long time. Thank you, ziggy, for sharing a heart warming (& stomach settling) soup. I'm very grateful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

    • on December 12, 2008

      Loved it! And so did our neighbors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      I don't view a 3-star review as a negative review. This is, as another reviewer said, a very nice soup. I would make it again but it isn't a "WOW" soup to our tastes. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This was a very nice soup. I like barley, so I doubled it. Nice and easy soup to make, and it will last my family of 3 for a while!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This is a really good-for-you, old fashioned soup. And so easy! I omitted the thyme and tomatoes as I didn't have any on hand, and this is great. My husband loves it and has it in a thermos on cold days. Don't be afraid of all that paprika! It makes it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Excellent soup. I made this last winter and I can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Thank-you. This made a very good soup on a very chilly ND day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      I recently made this recipe and it turned out very good. I thought I had more roast beef left over than I did, so I had to use hamburger. I wasn't too sure about that, but it wasn't too bad (would've been better with stewing beef or steak, but i was without a car that day, so what can you do?) I also thought I had boullion left in the cupboard that wasn't there when I went for it, so had to settle for the gravy from the left over roast beef dinner. It wasn't the nice clear soup I had envisioned when I started out making this recipe, and I thought it might be a bit bland, but my family assured me that it was very good. I can't wait to try this one again with all the right ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Beef Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (4545 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.1
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    10%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 8.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 63.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    soup bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites