Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barley Albondigas (Meatball) Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barley Albondigas (Meatball) Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2012

      I LOVED it, my son loved it and my man loved it! Will be making this one for years to come. Thank you so much for sharing this awesome and tasty soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This was very yummy!! I don't use cilantro & cumin much so this was a nice/different taste for me. I didn't have green chilies so I used a little chili powder instead. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This is a very good soup. I didn't have any carrot but it was just fine without. I think I might go have a bowl now. I made this in 86 degree weather because I was wanting soup so bad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      I just loved this soup! My Dad mentioned that he loves Mexican Meatball Soup, and he also loves barley, so I figured I would give this one a try. DELICOUS! I made as directed except I cooked my meatballs in a skillet with some non-stick spray before adding them to the soup. Exceptional flavors! This makes a TON of soup - perfect to freeze. My Dad and husband each had THREE bowls of this soup and were still raving about it after we played cribbage for a couple of hours. GREAT RECIPE! I highly recommend. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Excellent soup and easy to make. I left out the cumin for personal preference. This is a hearty soup that will fill you up. I did find that the meatballs released their grease into the soup so next time I might cook the meatballs in the oven. This might mean they may not be so soft in texture though. My daughter who was sick with a cold found this quite comforting. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I'm embarrassed to say that I didn't expect to like this much, not being big on barley; I just wanted to make something my father would enjoy. But the first bite had me impressed and with each subsequent bite, I was more and more convinced that I DO like barley! *lol* I wanted to use turkey, and will next time, but beef was what I had on hand and thawed. What a lovely, flavorful and hearty soup this was. And will be again. Soon. Oh and my father DID love it, as did my husband. Thank you, Molly, for posting what was, for me, a "sleeper" of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      Very nice, simple tasty soup. I would have liked a little more cumin, but that's a minor adjustment. I did cook the barley in advance, it made putting the soup together very quick. A perfect warm-you-up for a blustery Spring (?) day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      This was delicious! I used Rotel spicy tomatoes and skipped the green chilis. I doubled the broth amount. This was a nice soup to have on a chilly day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      A great recipe. This will probably become a fall staple for me and my family. I love the spices. I used half turkey and half ground lamb because that is what I had in the fridge. Also, I pan seared the meatballs before putting them in the soup to get a nice seared texture and taste from them. I also didn't have cilantro so just skipped that ingredient. It turned out lovely and my family gobbled it up. We had left overs for a week in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      This soup is so delicious! Light and flavorful. I used turkey for the meatballs and browned them lightly and refrigerated. I made the soup by adding everything to the crockpot and let it come to a simmer and then added the meatballs, some chili powder, a little celery salt, garlic powder and chopped zucchini to the broth. I forgot to add the cilantro to the soup at the end and it was still fantastic. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      Really liked this! It took a bit of time and effort, but was well worth it, and a lot of it can be prepped ahead of time (cooking the barley, chopping the veggies and making the meatballs). I did precook the meatballs for a few minutes in a skillet and was glad I did 1)because then I could drain off some of the grease and 2)I really don't think they would have cooked through otherwise. I took my first bite and thought it was lacking something and realized I'd forgotten to add the cilantro at the end. Adding that made a huge difference. So tasty! Was planning to freeze some, but we ate so much there wasn't enough left to freeze. Will make again; thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I am only giving this three stars as I ended up changing it a bit. I made the meatballs, but uncomfortable with just boiling them in the soup, I gave them a quick fry in butter. I did not like the taste of the meatballs and cannot tell you exactly why. I ended up using a smoke kielbasa which was wonderful. I also added a chopped roasted poblano pepper. I started by frying the chopped kielbasa then added the onions, carrots and the poblano to soften the vegetables. I added it to the chicken broth, spices and barley.

      DH and really loved the result. Using the changes, I will certainly make this again and again. The taste was fabulous. I served it with grilled cheese with a three pepper cheese and white american cheese. It is due to the meatballs ONLY that I have given this only three stars, otherwise (without the meatballs and using the kielbasa and poblano) it was a wonderfully flavorful meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Nice soup. Not overly hot so the kids could eat it, but not much flavor overall. It was an interesting new soup to try. I don't think I like ground turkey so I'm not sure I'd make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barley Albondigas (Meatball) Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.6
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    13%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 964.9 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites