83 Reviews

This is the recipe that USED to be on the Barilla no-bake box. I used to make this quite often but hadn't done so for a year or two. I was surprised to find that the recipe Barilla gives on its box has changed considerably since I last made it. No more eggs in the recipe, for one thing, and the cooking time has been cut in half to just 25 minutes! I am going to try it the "new" way but I suspect it will take more than 25 minutes just to HEAT a 9 x 13 dish full of sauce, cheese, meat and noodles. Why do companies like Barilla insist on changing a recipe that was working GREAT before? The only trouble I used to have making this was keeping the layering straightened out...now, the "new" instructions are even more confusing. I suspect after today's batch, I'll go back to the "old" recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eric K. July 16, 2014

I used a little more sauce that suggested and added other cheeses. So good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjamsfamily February 26, 2014

this was one of the easiest, best tasting lasagnas I've ever made. This is a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kendra in WI January 06, 2014

I found this recipe on the back of the Barilla box 5 yrs ago and have been making it ever since. I make it for parties, birthdays and at least once a month for dinner. Everyone thinks it's my secret recipe so I will keep them wondering how to make it so perfect like mine. LOL I also agree with the other reviewers to add more sauce. I even know the recipe by heart no need to look at the back of the box anymore.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keylolo32 June 20, 2013

After years of being forced to go to my sister in law's apartment every Christmas Eve and having to eat her tired, dried out lasagna; I tried to make lasagna on my own. I made the boiled noodle version once and that was enough. I experimented a few times with no boil recipes, using various brands of lasagna noodles, never with any tasty success. I pretty much gave up making lasagna at all, and if I had a craving I got the Stouffer's frozen version.

This year I discovered this recipe and decided to try it for Christmas Eve dinner. First of all, the Barilla lasagna noodles make a HUGE difference (the box says "rolled flat like homemade"). They have a completely different consistency than any other brand I've used. They come in a small box, not what I was used to, so I bought two. But one little box does make a whole lasagna. This recipe is right on the box. I read all the reviews and per some suggestions, used some extra sauce. I was going to use one of the other suggestions to use extra ricotta, but I ended up using cream cheese instead. When I make this again, I think I'd use extra ricotta. I didn't use meat since we we're having a big prime rib for Christmas, but I did put in some fresh mushrooms. I put some Penzey pizza spices in the cheese mixture. My cooking time was a bit longer, but my oven is old and crappy. Definitely wait until the lasagna is "bubbly".

The recipe was a huge hit with my husband. If this is supposed to serve 12 - he ate 3-4 portions. He said I should make it all the time! He has never asked me to make lasagna again before! All in all this is a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrMax December 25, 2012

This is the way I always make my lasagna (and I use any lasagna noodle :) When I was looking to show my daughter how to make her first lasagna so I found this one for her. She was able to put it together with no problem and got rave reviews. Thanks for posting it (since I'm a bit of a handful cook and it's nice to teach with a recipe!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish September 26, 2011

I modified this recipe a bit. I love veggies and meat so I used 1/2 green bell (only because I didn't have red), and chopped up some mushrooms, and used a different brand of sauce that I had on hand (fire-roasted garlic and red pepper) and I used only 1 tub of ricotta cheese, 8oz of Jimmy dean Italian sausage, 8oz lean ground beef, and some cream cheese (could sub. for strained cottage cheese). I had to open a jar a of Ragu, I could have used 2 tubs or mix Ricotta and cottage cheese (my preference) and we even could have even used all of the meat on a deep dish pan...but It turned out amazing...a fast version of my mom's homemade taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angela2008 December 24, 2010

Ok, try these few changes and see what you think. Use Johnsonville hot sausage instead of ground beef it will give it a whole different flavor. Use 1/4 cup of grated cheese and omit the motzerella it will cut down on the salt. When you mix up your ragotta add some dry chives & ground black pepper.
I use to use another brand of no boil pasta, however when my store stop carrying it that is when I found the Barilla brand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coffee Talk Girl November 12, 2010

One less pot to clean - that's a great reason to try this recipe. Turned out great. Instructions were easy to follow. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am June 01, 2010

This is the ONLY way I make lasagna. I use my own recipe for spaghetti sauce, which includes ground beef, spicy sausage, onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, celery, and of course, Italian stewed tomatoes. But I do everything else like the package says. Sometimes, for a twist, I add a box of frozen spinach (thawed and drained) to the ricotta, or sliced olives in each layer. My lasagna is always a hit and sooo easy to make. People never believe that they're no-boil noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael June 01, 2010
Barilla No-Boil Lasagna