Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barilla No-Boil Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barilla No-Boil Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2012

      After years of being forced to go to my sister in law's apartment every Christmas Eve and having to eat her tired, dried out lasagna; I tried to make lasagna on my own. I made the boiled noodle version once and that was enough. I experimented a few times with no boil recipes, using various brands of lasagna noodles, never with any tasty success. I pretty much gave up making lasagna at all, and if I had a craving I got the Stouffer's frozen version.

      This year I discovered this recipe and decided to try it for Christmas Eve dinner. First of all, the Barilla lasagna noodles make a HUGE difference (the box says "rolled flat like homemade"). They have a completely different consistency than any other brand I've used. They come in a small box, not what I was used to, so I bought two. But one little box does make a whole lasagna. This recipe is right on the box. I read all the reviews and per some suggestions, used some extra sauce. I was going to use one of the other suggestions to use extra ricotta, but I ended up using cream cheese instead. When I make this again, I think I'd use extra ricotta. I didn't use meat since we we're having a big prime rib for Christmas, but I did put in some fresh mushrooms. I put some Penzey pizza spices in the cheese mixture. My cooking time was a bit longer, but my oven is old and crappy. Definitely wait until the lasagna is "bubbly".

      The recipe was a huge hit with my husband. If this is supposed to serve 12 - he ate 3-4 portions. He said I should make it all the time! He has never asked me to make lasagna again before! All in all this is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is the way I always make my lasagna (and I use any lasagna noodle :) When I was looking to show my daughter how to make her first lasagna so I found this one for her. She was able to put it together with no problem and got rave reviews. Thanks for posting it (since I'm a bit of a handful cook and it's nice to teach with a recipe!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I modified this recipe a bit. I love veggies and meat so I used 1/2 green bell (only because I didn't have red), and chopped up some mushrooms, and used a different brand of sauce that I had on hand (fire-roasted garlic and red pepper) and I used only 1 tub of ricotta cheese, 8oz of Jimmy dean Italian sausage, 8oz lean ground beef, and some cream cheese (could sub. for strained cottage cheese). I had to open a jar a of Ragu, I could have used 2 tubs or mix Ricotta and cottage cheese (my preference) and we even could have even used all of the meat on a deep dish pan...but It turned out amazing...a fast version of my mom's homemade taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Ok, try these few changes and see what you think. Use Johnsonville hot sausage instead of ground beef it will give it a whole different flavor. Use 1/4 cup of grated cheese and omit the motzerella it will cut down on the salt. When you mix up your ragotta add some dry chives & ground black pepper.
      I use to use another brand of no boil pasta, however when my store stop carrying it that is when I found the Barilla brand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      One less pot to clean - that's a great reason to try this recipe. Turned out great. Instructions were easy to follow. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This is the ONLY way I make lasagna. I use my own recipe for spaghetti sauce, which includes ground beef, spicy sausage, onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, celery, and of course, Italian stewed tomatoes. But I do everything else like the package says. Sometimes, for a twist, I add a box of frozen spinach (thawed and drained) to the ricotta, or sliced olives in each layer. My lasagna is always a hit and sooo easy to make. People never believe that they're no-boil noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Made for first time using no-boil recipe on package. It looked like the easiest for an emergency need for potluck dish for my church supper; so I rushed to the store to buy noodles and looked for box with easiest recipe. This one was not only easy, it was delicious and a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I love, love, love these no boil sheets. They bake perfectly and don't turn out chewy or soggy. I havent tried ur recipe, but its nice to find someone who uses these and likes them ! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      What a great fast recipe this was...the only thing I changed is added a little hot itailian sausage...fabulous lasagna recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      This was MUCH easier than the "old" way I made lasagna, and just as tasty! It is very easy to make multiple pans at the same time, to freeze or give to someone else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This is the best lasagna. Much easier than boiling noodles and we thought they even tasted better. I used ground turkey rather than beef and cottage cheese instead of ricotta. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      This is a good recipe to follow. I made this when it was a spur of the moment decision to make lasagna and it worked perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly and my meal was perfect. thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I made this recipe off of the Barilla box a few weeks ago. I was on the fence about the recipe - I always cook my noodles first, I haven't used eggs in my lasagna before and two of my family members do not care for ricotta (although I like it!) I was also worried this would come out runny. SO, this lasagna came out PERFECT! (Should have trusted Barilla!) Plus my husband and his sister really liked this recipe, even with the ricotta! I would recommend using a good quality spaghetti sauce in this recipe for good flavor. This is the easiest lasagna recipe I have made thus far! A real keeper! Update: Looking at the recipe now, the one on the box caled to add 1 cup water to the spaghetti sauce and let it simmer and I think it used different measurements for the ingredients BUT I can't find this anywhere on the net and the one on the box has changed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      I made this lasagna last night, and it emerged from my oven full of flavor! My husband and I really liked it! The reason I gave it 4 stars is because I made a bunch of additions/changes: I added 1 Tablespoon Italian Seasoning and 1 teaspoon black pepper to the ricotta mixture. I used 2% small curd cottage cheese, instead of ricotta. I made a veggie lasagna, so for the meat layer, I substituted about 10 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms and about 16 oz. frozen chopped spinach that had been thawed and drained. I left out the parsley, and for half the mozzarella, I used a reduced-fat Italian cheese blend from Sargento. I didn't have 2 jars of sauce (I just had one), so for the other jar of sauce, I substituted a 14.5 oz. can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes and 2-15 oz. cans of plain tomato sauce and stirred in 1 medium diced onion. Based on other reviews, I made an 8x8 Pyrex pan with 3 layers and an aluminum 9x12x3 pan with 3 layers (to freeze), but this recipe would probably fit best in a 13x9x3 (deep lasagna pan) or two 9x9 pans. I baked the 8x8, covered, for 45 minutes and then broiled, uncovered, until the cheese turned golden brown - about 5 min. It was JUST to the top of the pan, but not boiling over. I served this with a lettuce and tomato salad and french bread. This was my first attempt at lasagna, and if I hadn't found this one, I might not have tried it at all. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This recipe was the first lasagna I ever tried. Thanks for posting an easy, user friendly way for me to give the family a real treat! We've made it several times already!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Thanks for posting this recipe. I used to follow the Barilla recipe on the box when I lived in the States, and with this simple base lasagna recipe you can add and adjust according to your taste. I now live in Italy and I couldnt read the directions on the Italian Barilla box! Luckily, I came across your posting of the same. Thanks Barilla, for posting a simple, easy, and delicious recipe on your box instead of trying to be fancy and over-the-top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I made a double recipe (one 9x13 for us, & 2 9x9s for a friend). I used 1/2 italian sausage & 1/2 hamburger for the meat & added one small bag of fresh spinach, chopped to the ricotta mix. I also ended up using 5 jars of sauce for a double batch. They turned out excellent, can't wait to eat the 1/2 I froze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Very good! I have never used the Barilla no boil pasta before, think I will from now on. This was very easy to put together, did one pan for us and one for a friend having surgery - put together and cleaned up in less time than my sons nap! It was a bit less "saucy" than I like, I will use more pasta sauce next time. I also substituted about 2 links sweet italian sausage for some of the beef, cooking it with onions and garlic in the pan with the beef. Sprinkled some italian seasoning in with the cheese mix and used pregrated parm/asiago/romano mix vs straight parm. Turned out very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      everyone loves this recipe. they constantly ask me when im going to make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This is definitely my favorite Lasagna recipe- it turns out great every time and is really forgiving of substitutions and experimentation. I've been making this for 4 years now and I have never had it turn out badly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barilla No-Boil Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.5
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    61%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 448.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    no-boil lasagna noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites