Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barilla No-Boil Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barilla No-Boil Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2010

      I'm not going to rate this since I didn't try your recipe but wanted to pass on a hint to those who use the no boil noodles. The noodle are a great invention but I suggest using more sauce than you usually would in your traditional recipies and consider cooking your lasagna covered for at least half of your cooking time. The extra moisture will reduce the chewiness that can result by using the no boil noodles. Definitly a lot quicker than making the traditional way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      I made this last week and it turned out great! I made two pans (8x8") instead of the 9x13". I cooked one and froze the other. The Barilla hotline instructions said to thaw in refrigerator 24 hours, then cook 2 hours. How convenient!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I've been making this recipe for years and it truly is great as is .... BUT it is BETTER if you have a little extra to spend on it for a special occasion.

      Use the ingredients as on the original recipe ... BUT I use a pound of lean ground beef PLUS a pound of mild italian sausage (cooking them together).

      Drain the meat and mix it with the 2 cups of Mozarella called for in the layering process.

      Add an additional 15 oz. Ricotta to the meat & Mozarella mixture.

      Add an additional 1/2 jar of sauce.

      Finally, since the Mozzarella is all in the meat mixture, top the casserole with 1 c. of fresh Parmesean.

      No additional baking time is required.

      It's really hearty and my husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      This is pretty good, but I must say it would be a better written recipe if the sauce amounts were better stated... you definitely need TWO jars of sauce! Just saying "sauce" doesn't help much when you're in the middle of the recipe, elbow-deep in ricotta. :) This is also a bit bland, I would defintiely say punch it up by adding some spices of your own, or using a good spicy italian sausage, some black pepper in the ricotta mix...something! Treat it like pizza, and make it your own. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I've tried several varieties of no-boil lasagna and have found Barilla to be the best of the lot, with Barilla the end product is exactly the same as the home rolled, and for sure much better than the uncooked classic lasagna noodles that if not attended to closely tend to shred.... Oh, the recipe was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      I have been using this recipe as a guide for years. I do make a few changes and additions. I cook a half pound of ground turkey seasoned with Italian Sausage Seasoning or a half pound lean Italian sausage then add in the sauce. The marinara sauce is 32 oz. I probably use about half the mozzarella cheese. The eggs, ricotta and parmesan cheeses are mixed together and a pinch of nutmeg added. To layer I put a small base of the meat sauce, noodles, ricotta mixture, sauce and a nice sprinkling of shredded mozzarella. I make 3 layers ending with noodles and meat sauce. This recipe works well with regular noodles as well as gluten free brown rice pasta noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      I've used this recipe for a long time, using extra sauce, especially around the edges which carmelizes nicely, and using my meatball recipe for the meat. Barilla has changed the box recipe to something else so I'm glad someone put it on-line. As far as the recommendations to freeze it before baking, I have always baked the whole pan, then sliced up entrée-sized chunks to freeze for a quick microwave dinner. Never noticed a lack in quality from freezing and kind of feel it's a waste of electricity not to cook enough to freeze some for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      This is a great recipe! I usually just follow the recipe on the back of the box of noodles. (Especially helpful if I decide while at the store to make lasagna!) There's an alternate method of layering if you only have a 2-inch deep pan. (I think it's different than just illuminating one of the layers.)

      My family's not wild about ricotta cheese, so we only use half the recommended amount (and only 1 egg.) For the meat, I use half ground beef and half ground (Original Bob Evans) sausage. And instead of straight parmesan cheese, I use half Romano cheese. Both these modifications add to the flavor of the whole dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      This lasagna was easy to make and turned out great! I made for my mom's 80th birthday party and everyone really liked it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      I love love love this pasta, and this recipe. I don't make it any other way now. A great tip: You can make a double batch, assemble the ingredients in the pan and freeze the extra pan before baking. Defrost it overnight when you're ready to cook, and bake according to directions. Comes out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Easy and delicious. You will need 2 jars of pasta sauce for this dish. The lasagna on the top layer should be completely covered in sauce; otherwise, it comes out doughy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      I agree. This is the best lasagne recipe. I make it the day before Christmas, put it in the fridge, and pop it in the oven on Christmas day. It makes for a great holiday meal. I use half pound sausage and half pould lean ground beef. I have been using this recipe for years and always relied on the back of the box for the recipe. I noticed tonight that they have changed the recipe on the back. I searched it, and was so glad to find the original listed here. Thanks for positng it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I made this good lasagna for the convenience of the no-boil noodles, which I like. I use half pound of lean ground beef, half pound of mild Italian sausage, mozarella cheese and two jars of Barilla spaghetti sauce in three layers. We have enjoyed it very much. Thanks for posting this good recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Tried this recipe following the instructions on the back of the Barilla lasagna noodles-everybody loves it.Awesome recipe.Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Made this years ago and haven't stopped. For meat - you can use anything. Specially wild game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Great recipe! I've made it twice now. Definitely a fan of mild Italian sausage for this recipe. Still trying to figure out in step 7 what Celsius sauce is. Oh well. I still winged it and turned out fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Our grocery just started carrying the Barilla No-Boil Lasagna pasta. It was the best Lasagna I've ever made. I made a couple of ingredient amount changes since I used the next size larger pan, but it was perfect. I served to company without reservations.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2014

      Fiddlesticks! I have no luck with these no-bake noodles - this was my second attempt, I followed the recipe precisely and, again, the noodles are crunchy. Geez! I guess it's a good thing I've got a couple of casseroles in the freezer. I'm wondering if I should have let the noodles soak in warm water for five minutes or so before incorporating them - I seriously considered it but then figured that last time I'd just been unlikely or imprecise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      This has been a staple in our home for many years. As my kids are both picky we prefer splitting the recipe into 2 smaller pans~~ one with his current meat-of-the-week & the other w/ HER veg-of-the-month. Great to utilize seasonal produce!! I used to do the VEG version with raw diced but my daughter likes me to saute them to be EXTRA soft. blends more consistency of the sauce for her palate.<br/>Any leftovers freeze nicely wrapped in plastic/sealed in zipper bag portioned size.<br/>Even my teenagers will "bother" to re-heat in the micro without the "ewww!!Leftovers!!" angst.<br/>thanx for all the variation suggestions & ORIGINAL recipe ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      I've used this recipe for years with great success. It is better than what is currently printed on the box. The eggs (omitted on the current box recipe) make it puff up nicely. I make my own sauce. And I use hot Italian sausage rather than ground beef. I agree that it needs to be covered during most of the cooking time. I do wish there was an indication of oz by volume or oz by weight: 4 cups (by volume) of shredded mozzarella weighs only 16 oz, which is confusing because cheese is sold by weight not volume.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barilla No-Boil Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.5
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    61%
    Total Fat 20.5 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 105.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 448.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 21.1 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    no-boil lasagna noodles

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes