21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I originally submitted a 4 star review and I whined a little about the texture right out of the oven. Well, after I re-read the directions, I saw that you're supposed to put them in the refrigerator. Oh. my. goodness. These are stupendous!! The refrigerator step is essential! I took them to a lunch after church today and people seriously lost their minds over them. Next time I'll use a deeper 11x17 (I used like a jelly-roll pan), or a 9x13 + a 8x8. I was proud to offer them for dessert to new friends! Thanks riff-raff!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yia Yia January 10, 2010

I was still a little hesitant to try these after reading Oreos as one of the ingredients. But OMG...these are the absolute best brownies I have ever put in my mouth! I cut the recipe in half, threw in a 1/2 cup of vanilla chips and baked it in a 9X13 pan. I baked it for 27 minutes, which may have been a little short, so I will bake it a smidge longer next time. You have to try these if you love chocolate or brownies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsBakesAlot August 23, 2010

50 stars. I Love these. My favorite cookie is an Oreo and who doesnt like brownies? The two go togather wonderfully. I take these everywhere. People beg for them. We had a bake sale at work. I brought these....one lady came back and took the whole plate of them...leaving us 20 bucks. She said it was worth 100. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny February 09, 2010

These were very good. As suggested by others, I used a 9x13 and a 8x8. Be careful not to over bake. They will not look done when you take them out of the oven but do not be tempted to bake longer. I however do not think I will make again just for the cost. I have had brownies I have liked equally as well that did not have one pound of butter, a pound of chocolate plus a bag of Oreos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbebaking October 09, 2010

Made these just as recipe stated and they are wonderful! I made them in a 9x13 and they made very big brownies. I think next time I will use the 11x17 pan to get more brownies. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CFScott July 15, 2010

Even if your not an Oreo lover these brownies are for you. They are the perfect chewy fudgy brownie with a bit of extra texture from the cookies. I did leave out the coffee but only because I did not have access to any instant. Also be careful not to over bake. The tooth pick is never going to come out clean with all the cookies in there. If you over bake them the top gets hard and crunchy. Just use your judgment, they are probably done when you think they are done. I also cooked these in two 8x8 pans and this made -monster- brownies and barely fit (I have a very small oven so I had no choice). Use bigger pans as directed if at all possible or half the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackshoe July 12, 2010

Wow, these are really good! I am not the best brownie maker (I usually overbake or underbake them, trying to get the fudgy consistancy we like), but these seem fail-proof! They are like a cross between fudge and brownies. I followed the ingredients (using the poster's recommendation for the lesser amount of semi-sweet chocolate chips). A few things I did differently were that I halved the recipe and baked them in a 9x13 pan. I chilled them in the fridge overnight, which did make them a bit difficult to cut. I used instant espresso powder in place of instant coffee, and I liked it, but I felt that the amount was a bit much (you could still taste "coffee") if serving to kids. I would probably decrease this by a Tablespoon (using only 1 Tablespoon in a 1/2 recipe) next time. I also saved about 1/2 c. chopped oreos (I chopped up 25) to sprinkle on the top, but while baking they smelled like they burned a bit. I tasted a top crumb, and they tasted fine. It looks nice, but I think I'll still just mix 'em all in next time. I baked them for 30 minutes, and they look great. My husband and most of my friends LOVE Oreos, and they think nothing can trump the convenience store Oreo brownies. I'm taking these to a BBQ today, so we'll see what they think about these! ;) Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 May 30, 2010

I've been waiting forever for an excuse to make these! Since they make a rather large batch, I didn't think it wise to make the entire thing just for the two of us (I'd eat them all!), but I needed something to take to work tomorrow. I was surprised how thick this was after mixing in the oreos, but it baked up nice and really thick in a 9x13 and 8x8. Not as much of an oreo taste, but I'll let them sit for a day and try again...but I'll tell ya- you've converted DH for life!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend March 09, 2010

Best Brownies ever! I have had the recipe printed out and in my book for a long time and never got around to making it until today. I used 24 oz of special dark choc. chips and made them in one 9x13 pan and one 8x8 pan. Came out just right. Love the hint of coffee flavor. Very rich and decadent, with 6 eggs and 1 lb butter how can they not be! The girls at the get together tonight will just love them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellady February 07, 2009

LOVE 'EM!!! I have made these several times as they are now my standard brownie to take to get togethers. They always get rave reviews and I never take any home. I also use the 11X17 pan and the full 28 oz of chocolate...but I use dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet. Fantastic brownies!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Rese February 07, 2008
Barefoot Contessa's Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies