Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barefoot Contessa's Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barefoot Contessa's Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2010

      I originally submitted a 4 star review and I whined a little about the texture right out of the oven. Well, after I re-read the directions, I saw that you're supposed to put them in the refrigerator. Oh. my. goodness. These are stupendous!! The refrigerator step is essential! I took them to a lunch after church today and people seriously lost their minds over them. Next time I'll use a deeper 11x17 (I used like a jelly-roll pan), or a 9x13 + a 8x8. I was proud to offer them for dessert to new friends! Thanks riff-raff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      I was still a little hesitant to try these after reading Oreos as one of the ingredients. But OMG...these are the absolute best brownies I have ever put in my mouth! I cut the recipe in half, threw in a 1/2 cup of vanilla chips and baked it in a 9X13 pan. I baked it for 27 minutes, which may have been a little short, so I will bake it a smidge longer next time. You have to try these if you love chocolate or brownies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      50 stars. I Love these. My favorite cookie is an Oreo and who doesnt like brownies? The two go togather wonderfully. I take these everywhere. People beg for them. We had a bake sale at work. I brought these....one lady came back and took the whole plate of them...leaving us 20 bucks. She said it was worth 100. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      These were very good. As suggested by others, I used a 9x13 and a 8x8. Be careful not to over bake. They will not look done when you take them out of the oven but do not be tempted to bake longer. I however do not think I will make again just for the cost. I have had brownies I have liked equally as well that did not have one pound of butter, a pound of chocolate plus a bag of Oreos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      Made these just as recipe stated and they are wonderful! I made them in a 9x13 and they made very big brownies. I think next time I will use the 11x17 pan to get more brownies. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Even if your not an Oreo lover these brownies are for you. They are the perfect chewy fudgy brownie with a bit of extra texture from the cookies. I did leave out the coffee but only because I did not have access to any instant. Also be careful not to over bake. The tooth pick is never going to come out clean with all the cookies in there. If you over bake them the top gets hard and crunchy. Just use your judgment, they are probably done when you think they are done. I also cooked these in two 8x8 pans and this made -monster- brownies and barely fit (I have a very small oven so I had no choice). Use bigger pans as directed if at all possible or half the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Wow, these are really good! I am not the best brownie maker (I usually overbake or underbake them, trying to get the fudgy consistancy we like), but these seem fail-proof! They are like a cross between fudge and brownies. I followed the ingredients (using the poster's recommendation for the lesser amount of semi-sweet chocolate chips). A few things I did differently were that I halved the recipe and baked them in a 9x13 pan. I chilled them in the fridge overnight, which did make them a bit difficult to cut. I used instant espresso powder in place of instant coffee, and I liked it, but I felt that the amount was a bit much (you could still taste "coffee") if serving to kids. I would probably decrease this by a Tablespoon (using only 1 Tablespoon in a 1/2 recipe) next time. I also saved about 1/2 c. chopped oreos (I chopped up 25) to sprinkle on the top, but while baking they smelled like they burned a bit. I tasted a top crumb, and they tasted fine. It looks nice, but I think I'll still just mix 'em all in next time. I baked them for 30 minutes, and they look great. My husband and most of my friends LOVE Oreos, and they think nothing can trump the convenience store Oreo brownies. I'm taking these to a BBQ today, so we'll see what they think about these! ;) Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I've been waiting forever for an excuse to make these! Since they make a rather large batch, I didn't think it wise to make the entire thing just for the two of us (I'd eat them all!), but I needed something to take to work tomorrow. I was surprised how thick this was after mixing in the oreos, but it baked up nice and really thick in a 9x13 and 8x8. Not as much of an oreo taste, but I'll let them sit for a day and try again...but I'll tell ya- you've converted DH for life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Best Brownies ever! I have had the recipe printed out and in my book for a long time and never got around to making it until today. I used 24 oz of special dark choc. chips and made them in one 9x13 pan and one 8x8 pan. Came out just right. Love the hint of coffee flavor. Very rich and decadent, with 6 eggs and 1 lb butter how can they not be! The girls at the get together tonight will just love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      LOVE 'EM!!! I have made these several times as they are now my standard brownie to take to get togethers. They always get rave reviews and I never take any home. I also use the 11X17 pan and the full 28 oz of chocolate...but I use dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet. Fantastic brownies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      These were pretty good. I used a 9x13 pan for a thicker brownie, which I like. The oreos added another depth of chocolatey goodness. This is definitely one for chocoholics and brownie lovers alike ! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Loved so much really loved omg!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Oh wow! These were awesome. I needed something really chocolatey to fill the bill when I realized I didn't have my trifle dish to make my planned dessert. This went together very easily. This is almost like a fudge or candy! I do not like coffee and was going to leave it out altogether, but I knew all my guests did like coffee and I didn't want to ruin the recipe, so I put half in. I could really taste the coffee when I tasted the batter and when I cut myself a small square right out of the oven, but after chilling the brownies I couldn't taste coffee but the brownies had a wonderful taste!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Wonderful chocolate brownies! Can't go wrong with chocolate! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      We enjoyed these brownies. They were very moist and easy to make. I did think there was an overwhelming coffee flavor though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      These are fabulous but very very rich. Took them to a church function and everyone loved them and said I should have brought milk next time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Very good. I made some for a dessert bar at a fund raiser and they were well received. I only used one pound of semi-sweet chips eventhough I discovered later that the recipe posted at the Food Network calls for 28 ounces. I also discovered that I only had four ounces of unsweetened chocolate so I used that and 2 ounces of bittersweet chocolate. They still turned out quite well and are very rich. A WINNER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      These decadent brownies are a chocoholic's dream. I have never tasted brownies that are this rich. Like another reviewer said, these are like eating a cross between a brownie and fudge. They taste like something that would come from a professional, upscale bakery. My entire family loves these! Thanks, riffraff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      These are so rich its almost a cross between brownies and fudge. I was worried that all the batter would not fit so I used one 9X13 and one 8X8 pan and baked side by side, it came out wonderful, but very rich, so make the servings small and reap the rewards! I did use 12 ox of chocolate chips as that is the size of one bag. Loved them, MUAC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This is absolutely the best brownie recipe I've tried. Maybe it's all the chocolate or maybe it's the coffee... but there is a richness that is undescribable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barefoot Contessa's Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 669.0
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    53%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 20.5 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 112.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 546.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.6 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 53.6 g
    214%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites