Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barefoot Contessa's Orange Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barefoot Contessa's Orange Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      Very moist and tender crumb. Not too sweet and bursting with orange flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Wow....this cake is full of orange flavor and very delicious. I mixed ALL the ingredients together at one time and skipped the orange syrup. What a smart move! I did not have buttermilk on hand so I used plain yogurt instead. Yogurt is the same measurement as the buttermilk. Also used a bundt pan instead of bread pans. Baked for 1 hour to perfection. <br/><br/>For those of you who count calories, this is 313 calories per 3 oz. slice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I made this receipe directly from the BC's cookbook (which included the frosting/simple syrup). Delicious and dense like a pound cake should be. The fresh orange zest and juice is amazing! I used a tree cake form pan and cooked for ~65 minutes on 350 convection. Beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Wonderful recipe, rich, moist, buttery and gloriously scented with orange. Made as directed and it was just delicious. Would suggest poking holes with a thin skewer before drizzling with the glaze to ensure even distribution and next time I will add a bit of orange extract to both the cakes and syrup to enhance the flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I loved this cake. It was way better than any cake i have ever bought at the bakery. Very soft, amazing smell and just yummy. I added a cup of raisins and instead of the glaza i drizzled honey on the warm cake. -Rad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Made this for an Oscar Nite party. Wonderful moist texture and orange flavor. This is going into to "favorite recipes" list. It's wonderfully different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This was DELISH!!! So moist and tasty. I did add a 1/4 tsp. of orange extract to kick it up a notch. This recipe is one to keep. You can do a lot of different flavors...I will try LEMON next. Thanks Barefoot Contessa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      I made in 5 mini loaf pans and baked for 30 minutes. Huge hit at my church for fellowship. Nothing but crumbs left, I never got a piece but was assured by everyone it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Delicious, delicious, delicious. Another winner riffraff....We all loved this cake and lo and behold both loaves were gone in no time at all. The texture is wonderful on this light, moist, tender citrus cake. The flavour is orange orange orange. Thank you so much for sharing. Next time, I will double the recipe...Kudos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barefoot Contessa's Orange Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1743 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2725.0
     
    Calories from Fat 950
    34%
    Total Fat 105.5 g
    162%
    Saturated Fat 62.6 g
    313%
    Cholesterol 664.3 mg
    221%
    Sodium 1553.3 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 412.6 g
    137%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 262.9 g
    1051%
    Protein 38.3 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes