8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really nice, healthy and fresh- plus quick and easy to throw together. For a half recipe, I just used 1 yellow onion and 2 green onions/chives (no leeks), sauteeing them together. I also used frozen peas and no creme fraiche (which in similar recipes is sometimes substituted with milk). My 10 month old baby loved it! Halving the recipe only gave 2 big servings, so the full recipe might only feed 4 people who really like soup. Thanks for the delicious healthy recipe! ....Side note- I used the basic chicken stock that I always have in my freezer: fry mastic and cardamom pods in little veg oil until mastic dissolves & card is fragrant, add water to boil, put in a whole chicken and onions + garlic + salt + pepper, pressure cook till chicken is falling off the bone. (Then lightly butter & season the chicken pieces and brown them under the broiler to have them for an easy dinner)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asma April 30, 2008

I love this soup! I didn't think I'd love it as much as I did but what a nice spring/summer soup this is. I didn't use an onion and used veg rather than chicken stock. I also used heavy cream rather than creme fraiche. I serve this with Barefoot Contessa's Roasted Pepper and Goat Cheese Sandwiches so I decided that the croutons would be overkill. All in all this was wonderful, the kids loved it too (DH didn't love it, but he ate it) and it was so easy to make especially with a hand blender. Next week I'll try making a batch to freeze for lunches for the kids and me. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse May 12, 2010

Lovely Soup! I used frozen Minted Peas and Ham stock to make a 'Pea & Ham soup'. I used onions as I had no leeks and lite sour cream too. My 1 1/2 yr old also wasn't interested in it! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bronzki December 28, 2009

I also wish I could give this 4.5 stars. I thought it was great. I used dried mint (about 1/2 tsp) and it was just fine. Also used sour cream rather than the creme fraiche, as the previous review had mentioned. Will make again... althought my 1 1/2 year old wanted nothing to do with it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morris#203 December 07, 2009

I stuck very close to the recipe and only substituted heavy cream for the creme fraiche (because I had no idea where to find it!). I left it a little bit chunkier so you could still make out some pieces of peas. My husband and I were crazy about this soup! AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swimininthesun November 13, 2009

**I have to say that I made it according to the original Barefoot Contessa recipe and added fresh mint before blending** I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars. I really liked it but my husband and daughters didn't. My husband disliked it so much he wouldn't eat it!! (Which is really rare! He usually eats it then tells me he wasn't crazy about it). I, on the other hand, ate his and mine and leftovers for lunch for the next two days! I thought it was really fresh- summer/spring tasting. One note on the creme fraiche- I've always wanted to try it- the packaging is so pretty! But it tastes almost exactly like sour cream (the good one- none of that fat-free stuff). So next time I will just use sour cream and save some $$.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 July 30, 2009

We made both the soup and the sandwiches listed here, and they were fantastic, company-worthy dishes. I'll definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bette June 03, 2009

nice photo but this soup was not amazing. It was very nice though and I will definately make it again. My husband liked it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself April 24, 2009
Barefoot Contessa's Fresh Pea Soup