21 Reviews

frosting was amazing but didn't care for the cupcake part. Next time I'll use my normal recipe but this frosting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracie2 September 16, 2011

The recipe on this site was over written and could not be deciphered. I was looking forward to trying the peanut butter icing but could not read the ingredients or directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialtycakescharlene September 20, 2014

5 stars for the icing. I added a little more sea salt to it AND used the salted butter. Since the cupcake recipe didn't get reviews as good as the icing, I used the Hershey's "perfectly chocolate" cake recipe instead and they got rave reviews at my husband's birthday party. I topped them with 1/2 of a mini peanut butter cup and they were delicious! Note: If you use the Hershey's cake recipe, ONLY FILL THE CUPCAKE CUPS 1/2 FULL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggirl76 January 09, 2013

I used the frosting on another cupcake recipe. So, the five starts is for the frosting. It got rave reviews from the party guests. Light, fluffy, flavorful and an easy fix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nopolo May 02, 2011

This frosting is SO good! I did not make the cake, as I have fallen in love with the peanut butter chocolate cake Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake, but I find that it's peanut butter frosting is not peanut-buttery enough. This is just what I was looking for. I substituted half and half for the heavy cream. I also used salted butter, and I meant to leave out some of the salt called for in the recipe, but I forgot, and it still turned out delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess January 14, 2011

I did not make the cake portion, but the icing is the best, most delicious icing on EARTH. So so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pittgal October 18, 2010

Really good peanut butter and chocolate cup cake. My daughter made these just as the recipe stated. They were delicious; the cake was moist and the frosting wasn't too sweet and you could really taste the peanut butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapjen June 13, 2010

Not sure what I did but the cake turned out dry. The icing however was fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy June 03, 2010

Phenomenal Icing!! I only made the icing to top a different chocolate cake recipe than the one on this listing. My husband who normally does not like icing or frosting, RAVED about it. AWESOME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Provl8dy in training April 11, 2010

I was a little disappointed with these cupcakes. The icing was very good, but the cake wasn't sweet enough for me or DH. Too bad for him since these were his Valentine's gift! Kind of tasted like dark chocolate, which I like, but I was not expecting that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clovis Ann February 14, 2010
Barefoot Contessa's Chocolate Cupcakes and Peanut Butter Icing