Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barefoot Contessa's Chocolate Cupcakes and Peanut Butter Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barefoot Contessa's Chocolate Cupcakes and Peanut Butter Icing

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2011

      frosting was amazing but didn't care for the cupcake part. Next time I'll use my normal recipe but this frosting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      The recipe on this site was over written and could not be deciphered. I was looking forward to trying the peanut butter icing but could not read the ingredients or directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      5 stars for the icing. I added a little more sea salt to it AND used the salted butter. Since the cupcake recipe didn't get reviews as good as the icing, I used the Hershey's "perfectly chocolate" cake recipe instead and they got rave reviews at my husband's birthday party. I topped them with 1/2 of a mini peanut butter cup and they were delicious! Note: If you use the Hershey's cake recipe, ONLY FILL THE CUPCAKE CUPS 1/2 FULL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      I used the frosting on another cupcake recipe. So, the five starts is for the frosting. It got rave reviews from the party guests. Light, fluffy, flavorful and an easy fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This frosting is SO good! I did not make the cake, as I have fallen in love with the peanut butter chocolate cake Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake, but I find that it's peanut butter frosting is not peanut-buttery enough. This is just what I was looking for. I substituted half and half for the heavy cream. I also used salted butter, and I meant to leave out some of the salt called for in the recipe, but I forgot, and it still turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I did not make the cake portion, but the icing is the best, most delicious icing on EARTH. So so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Really good peanut butter and chocolate cup cake. My daughter made these just as the recipe stated. They were delicious; the cake was moist and the frosting wasn't too sweet and you could really taste the peanut butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Not sure what I did but the cake turned out dry. The icing however was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Phenomenal Icing!! I only made the icing to top a different chocolate cake recipe than the one on this listing. My husband who normally does not like icing or frosting, RAVED about it. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I was a little disappointed with these cupcakes. The icing was very good, but the cake wasn't sweet enough for me or DH. Too bad for him since these were his Valentine's gift! Kind of tasted like dark chocolate, which I like, but I was not expecting that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      These are awesome! I made them for my hubby's b-day, he's a big fan of pb cups so I thought the pb/choc combo would be perfect. The chocolate cake was so moist and rich, I used Ghiradelli cocoa. The pb frosting really made the dessert though. I added a 1/2 mini pb cup on top of each cupcake. They were picture perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      The cake is delicious and moist and the frosting is so yummy I didn't have quite enough to frost all the cupcakes because I kept eating it while I was frosting them : Young and old alike will enjoy these delicious lil gems!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      I made these for a baby shower, and although I did not get to eat one myself, everyone at the shower raved about them. There are quite a few ingredients, but the recipe really is not complicated. I loved the frosting (which I did get to eat) and will be keeping this recipe around for many future occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      We love this recipe. I use just a little less sugar, but other than that, it's an incredible icing! I used a box mix, and substituted water with milk, and oil with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      This recipe, when followed to the T,is absolutley delicious! And I thought it was quite easy to follow! The crumb of the cake was exquisitly tender and moist, even on day two. I was a bit short on the icing so next time I may 1.5X it. Barefoot Contessa never fails us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Excellent! As the rest said, especially, the Icing! (And I made mine with extra crunchy peanut butter.) Made these to have on hand when family was in from out of town. They couldn't stay out of them. Thought I'd have enough to take to the office, but don't dare. I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      These turned out excellent for me! The cupcakes were extremely tender, moist and nicely flavored. The peanut butter frosting was light and fluffy and not overpowering. I wanted a good coffee flavor, so I let it stand for several hours before I got ready to bake. I didn't find the recipe particularly hard...and the result was the most tender cake I've ever made! I did get a lot more cupcakes than indicated. I doubled the recipe because I was making these to take to my daughter's school dance wound up with about 50 cupcakes. Not sure why...they were normal size. But no one complained about there being extras! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I didn't care for these. I found the chocolate a little to bitter for me. I like a sweeter cupcake. I didn't particularly like the icing either. I was expecting it to taste different, not so much like I'm eating straight peanut butter. However, my husband enjoyed these, but he's not much of a sweet eater.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I decided to try this using just a cake mix for the cupcakes. It turned out pretty good. The frosting is really delicious though so I think I'll try it again using the actual cake recipe to go with the frosting. I doubled the frosting because the mix made 24 cupcakes. I was very liberal with the frosting but I still had some left over. We made a yummy sweet snack by using it up in between chocolate graham crackers! I will be making the frosting again. I'll update if I ever get around to trying the cake! HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      The chocolate cupcake was very tasty but to many ingredients and time consuming so it could be substituted for a easier chocolate cake recipe but the peanut butter icing was outstanding!! The icing was creamy and just the right sweetness, I would even consider using the icing for a birthday cake!!! This recipe is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barefoot Contessa's Chocolate Cupcakes and Peanut Butter Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (1807 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.6
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    55%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 208.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes