15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Finally the quintessential french toast recipe that my husband and I have been craving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovve2cook February 09, 2013

I made it exactly as written, using 1/2 and 1/2. Ina Garten never lets me down. The honey and orange zest gave it a great flavor, but next time I will substitute brown sugar and cinnamon for a more traditional flavor. You cannot go wrong with using challah...WOW!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary_K August 16, 2010

This recipe is excellent. I skipped the salt, honey and used non-fat milk and it turned out great. I also used a brioche with raisins and cinnamon which made it extra good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaJennifer February 24, 2010

Delicious! I added a squeeze of the orange for extra flavor and adjusted the servings for 2. Slicing the challah yourself into nice thick slices is key. I've used pre-sliced thin challah before and it isn't as good as the thick slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimply dots June 27, 2009

Exellent french toast! I'd never made it with challah before but I had quite a bit left over. I think I'm spoiled now, it's so much better useing this bread! Used 2% milk and had to use white sugar for the honey because I'm out. Can't wait to try it again useing the honey. I love the orange, it's just a light accent but it makes all the difference. Will make again. Update - bumping this to 5 stars. I froze a bunch of this and broke it out for breakfast. BF never says a word about what I feed him, good or bad. But he actually commented that this turned out really well! AND my finicky difficult Mother also thought it was fantastic, and a nice switch from the usual. Thank you Bri!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 24, 2009

Delicious!!! Followed the recipe exactly but made only 2 servings. I wish my bread was dried out one day longer but it was excellent anyway. Will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 14, 2009

This was excellent. Since there are only two of us, I cut the eggs down to 2 and used only 1 cup of half and half. I only let the bread soak for a few seconds on each side to avoid sogginess. Also, I used sliced sourdough. Wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greenlove00 July 08, 2007

I just got the Barefoot Contessa Family Style Cookbook and tried this recipe. We loved it; it was the best french toast I've ever had. I made the recipe as written, and it turned out fabulous. The outside was a nice golden brown while the inside was creamy and custard-like. If you don't like it that soft on the inside, I would recommend not soaking it for too long as the bread does absorb quite a lot of the egg mixture. I think what makes this recipe special is the challah and the orange zest. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria April 21, 2007

My hushand and I loved this. We couldn't find the Challah bread, so we used thick sliced white bread instead. I had never thought of using grated orange zest in french toast - but we both really loved the fresh taste it added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lwinchester September 04, 2006

We didn't use Challah bread, but we used a Brioche from a local bakery. It was delicious, still. We only got 4 slices of french toast out of it because our bread was thick and really soaked up the batter. We used milk instead of half-and-half and used the bacon fat from bacon we had just cooked on the griddle instead of butter. Mmmm! It was a great way to start a sunny Sunday morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyh July 24, 2006
Barefoot Contessa's Challah French Toast