15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious!! Finely chopped the walnuts and it added a nice crunch. Did not use raisins. I only made half the frosting, and it made me about 30 small cupcakes. I left 6 without frosting and they were also delicious - great breakfast food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elflngchld September 10, 2014

My family loved this, I mixed everything but the flour, then I added the flour 1 tablespoon at a time and it came out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
priya618_8802759 March 13, 2015

This are AMAZING!!! I added chopped walnuts on top along with the carrot shavings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JStall1 May 06, 2013

Definitely made too much frosting! But they tasted delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktcooper June 03, 2010

Mine fell too. I double-checked the ingredients and am positive that I followed them. The batter was tasty, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelwingedbutterfly September 15, 2009

I have never had a Barefoot Contessa recipe fail me until this one. The cupcakes fell in the middle and tasted terrible. I used the correct ingredients and followed the instructions. There was no way for me to even save the pieces of the cupcakes that were cooked. Everything had to be thrown away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon May 17, 2009

These cupcakes are really good. I omitted the raisins and nuts and they came out really good. I also used grapeseed oil for improved flavor. Very good cake. I really like the icing as well. Very rich and with a good cream cheese flavor. I didn't add as much sugar because I don't like overly-sweet frosting. I am making a batch for the second time right now. I upped the recipe to 36 cupcakes and they came out quite well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Changling November 27, 2008

This is a marvelous cake - I didn't bake it as cupcakes, used a baking tray, and brough it to the office - people went nuts about it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelamrpa August 05, 2008

These would definitely get a five star rating for taste. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I did not have a paddle attachment for my blender and I skipped the raisins because I findn them disgusting. My cupcakes sunk in the middle quite badly. Once the icing was on them you couldn't tell but I get pretty uptight when things look bad. I don't know why this would happen and I will try and make them again with the paddle and see if that makes a difference. The boys gobbled these down. Mine were also done at the 15 minute mark - seeing as this has been the case for everyone, perhaps the recipe should just be permanently modified? Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos June 14, 2008
Barefoot Contessa's Carrot Cake Cupcakes