14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out great for me. Served it alongside grilled salmon and asparagus for company last night and everyone raved! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
St. Louie Suzie April 18, 2010

This was surprisingly fantastic. Completely different from my normal tastes, but I loved it! I used bacon and olive oil instead of butter, and it turned out great. I sampled it along the way and did not like the saffron taste at all, but it all came together with the squash and cheese. Delicious! Next time, I'll leave out the super-expensive saffron, since I didn't like its flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa in CO March 01, 2010

I adore this recipe! I made it once and ate the leftovers everyday until they were gone. I'm revisiting to put the ingredients back on my shopping list. Lots of depth of flavor - warm, cozy comfort food at its best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Singing Cook December 12, 2009

very creamy and nice consistency. i didn't use the pancetta or saffron because I had my own flavor in mind and was using this as a base--but I wish did.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie in Olympia, WA November 08, 2009

Made this for friends who are vegetarians and cannot do a lot of dairy, omitted the pancetta and substituted vegetable broth for the chicken. It was a hit!! My son is gluten free so this was perfect for him as well!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessmommie November 04, 2009

I knew this was a good recipe when I was devouring all of the roasted Butternut Squash as it came out of the oven! This is heavenly and complete and utter comfort food at it's best. My children wouldn't eat it, but hey, it didn't spoil the 5 stars for me and hubby. Thank you Ina (Barefoot Contessa)!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wedrinktea'ere October 28, 2009

I just made this recently and it was awesome! I've never had butternut squash before, but I think I'll be cooking with it more now. I left out the wine and saffron and it was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just the 2 of us October 11, 2008

Hubby and I loved this. It is very rich with complex flavors, though. A small portion is more than enough. My pancetta was thin sliced, but that didn't seem to make a difference with the prep. I might have added too much saffron, and honestly the bright yellow color did shock me a little, but the overall dish was fabulous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. March 30, 2008

I made this today. No saffron which is fine, I did suatee someo onions finely chopped and insteady of butter I used some truffle oil. This is such a good rice dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Texas April 24, 2014

This was soooooo good. I served it with poached halibut and it was a perfect pairing. I cooked the cubed squash in butter in the oven until slightly tender....don't overcook. I used bacon and set it and the squash aside. Use good quality or homemade stock as this is a critical ingredient in the dish. It was really rather simple and I've always kind of been afraid of risotto but just kept an eye on it and added stock when it was almost gone. A heavy bottomed pot helps too. I folded in the squash and bacon at the very end and let it warm and served with the cheese and it looked just like the picture. Creamy and rich with the healthy squash for a perfect match with a quality yet somewhat plain piece of meat. I'll be making it again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann366_12218570 October 09, 2012
Barefoot Contessa's Butternut Squash Risotto