Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barefoot Contessa's Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barefoot Contessa's Butternut Squash Risotto

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2010

      This turned out great for me. Served it alongside grilled salmon and asparagus for company last night and everyone raved! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This was surprisingly fantastic. Completely different from my normal tastes, but I loved it! I used bacon and olive oil instead of butter, and it turned out great. I sampled it along the way and did not like the saffron taste at all, but it all came together with the squash and cheese. Delicious! Next time, I'll leave out the super-expensive saffron, since I didn't like its flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I adore this recipe! I made it once and ate the leftovers everyday until they were gone. I'm revisiting to put the ingredients back on my shopping list. Lots of depth of flavor - warm, cozy comfort food at its best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      very creamy and nice consistency. i didn't use the pancetta or saffron because I had my own flavor in mind and was using this as a base--but I wish did.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Made this for friends who are vegetarians and cannot do a lot of dairy, omitted the pancetta and substituted vegetable broth for the chicken. It was a hit!! My son is gluten free so this was perfect for him as well!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I knew this was a good recipe when I was devouring all of the roasted Butternut Squash as it came out of the oven! This is heavenly and complete and utter comfort food at it's best. My children wouldn't eat it, but hey, it didn't spoil the 5 stars for me and hubby. Thank you Ina (Barefoot Contessa)!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I just made this recently and it was awesome! I've never had butternut squash before, but I think I'll be cooking with it more now. I left out the wine and saffron and it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Hubby and I loved this. It is very rich with complex flavors, though. A small portion is more than enough. My pancetta was thin sliced, but that didn't seem to make a difference with the prep. I might have added too much saffron, and honestly the bright yellow color did shock me a little, but the overall dish was fabulous.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      I made this today. No saffron which is fine, I did suatee someo onions finely chopped and insteady of butter I used some truffle oil. This is such a good rice dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      This was soooooo good. I served it with poached halibut and it was a perfect pairing. I cooked the cubed squash in butter in the oven until slightly tender....don't overcook. I used bacon and set it and the squash aside. Use good quality or homemade stock as this is a critical ingredient in the dish. It was really rather simple and I've always kind of been afraid of risotto but just kept an eye on it and added stock when it was almost gone. A heavy bottomed pot helps too. I folded in the squash and bacon at the very end and let it warm and served with the cheese and it looked just like the picture. Creamy and rich with the healthy squash for a perfect match with a quality yet somewhat plain piece of meat. I'll be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

    • on January 24, 2009

      Have made this twice; outstanding results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Delicious! Didn't have enough parmesan cheese, but substituting a bit of asiago did the trick. Also didn't have any pancetta but the dish still turned out to be amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      This is so good! More than 5 stars! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barefoot Contessa's Butternut Squash Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (547 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 884.9
     
    Calories from Fat 325
    36%
    Total Fat 36.2 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 17.5 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 78.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 915.7 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 110.5 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes