35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mine turned out super - I was really surprised that I didn't need any egg. For those who had problems, I'd be willing to bet they used all-purpose flour. I didn't think that would work, so I added baking soda and salt to convert mine to self-rising. So I would be willing to bet the ones that had problems didn't add any leavening. Thanks for the recipe - these were a big hit!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrthing July 30, 2013

I made 6 batches of these.. And they were all harder than rocks!<br/>Avoid this recipe!<br/><br/>This recipe is very easy to make... but you won't be able to eat it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonia S. December 19, 2014

Yep, this recipe is a keeper!!! My pantry had Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate so that's what was used. My family enjoyed them very much despite being milk chocolate lovers. Thanks to other reviews, I watched this very carefully while baking in my inconsistent temp oven. The edges did brown but the center was obviously not done. A few minutes later the center was "done" and the edges were still fine. They turned out very well. As many say, this is more of a shortbread bar and is very, very good! This is a recipe that is staying in the recipe box to be used again and again! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarabi May 31, 2014

I haven't really ever baked anything, and these were so easy. I also added the egg for the more cakey texture. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jzinn926 August 25, 2012

These were OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the topping as I thought that would be too rich for us. The bars came out very dry. I baked mine at 350 for 20 minutes and also used a smaller pan as others said their's were too hard with the larger pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 18, 2010

These were very good. We have a homeschool open gym night every other week. I needed to make snacks for tonight but did not have any eggs. These do taste like a shortbread with chocolate chips. Yummy! Thanks for the easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake March 08, 2010

Good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yourrose99 November 20, 2009

yummy cookies when you have nothing on hand! I added 1 egg and 1 cup of quick oats for more texture. Consitency is more like a brownie than a cookie but it is still really satisfying. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VaniV November 11, 2009

I have served these twice in the last couple days and people just rave about them. They're kind of like shortbread chocolate chip bars. Yummy! And so easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer August 11, 2009

Came out great. I sprayed the pan as well, and added an egg for an almost cake-like consistency. Will be trying it without the egg just to compare, but the taste was great!! Took no time at all, and the kids LOVED them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeybee0876 July 30, 2009
Bare Pantry Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars