Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bare Pantry Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bare Pantry Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2013

      Mine turned out super - I was really surprised that I didn't need any egg. For those who had problems, I'd be willing to bet they used all-purpose flour. I didn't think that would work, so I added baking soda and salt to convert mine to self-rising. So I would be willing to bet the ones that had problems didn't add any leavening. Thanks for the recipe - these were a big hit!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2014

      I made 6 batches of these.. And they were all harder than rocks!<br/>Avoid this recipe!<br/><br/>This recipe is very easy to make... but you won't be able to eat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      Yep, this recipe is a keeper!!! My pantry had Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate so that's what was used. My family enjoyed them very much despite being milk chocolate lovers. Thanks to other reviews, I watched this very carefully while baking in my inconsistent temp oven. The edges did brown but the center was obviously not done. A few minutes later the center was "done" and the edges were still fine. They turned out very well. As many say, this is more of a shortbread bar and is very, very good! This is a recipe that is staying in the recipe box to be used again and again! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      I haven't really ever baked anything, and these were so easy. I also added the egg for the more cakey texture. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      These were OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the topping as I thought that would be too rich for us. The bars came out very dry. I baked mine at 350 for 20 minutes and also used a smaller pan as others said their's were too hard with the larger pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      These were very good. We have a homeschool open gym night every other week. I needed to make snacks for tonight but did not have any eggs. These do taste like a shortbread with chocolate chips. Yummy! Thanks for the easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      yummy cookies when you have nothing on hand! I added 1 egg and 1 cup of quick oats for more texture. Consitency is more like a brownie than a cookie but it is still really satisfying. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I have served these twice in the last couple days and people just rave about them. They're kind of like shortbread chocolate chip bars. Yummy! And so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Came out great. I sprayed the pan as well, and added an egg for an almost cake-like consistency. Will be trying it without the egg just to compare, but the taste was great!! Took no time at all, and the kids LOVED them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Made these for dessert. They were so quick and easy to put together. Everyone agrees. these are good! I did spray the pan with baking spray and I did add 1 egg.Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      These tasted good but why oh why did you say ungreased pan? I nearly killed myself trying to get them out of my glass pan and it was lightly greased even though your recipe said ungreased. My husband refused to grease it as liberally as we normally would because the recipe specified ungreased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      i don't know what i did, but this was the worst thing ever. i really don't get it. it almost broke my tooth. and i followed the recipe and even bought the specified sized pan. boo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I really like this one. It's very easy and good. I tried adding an egg and they were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      These were pretty good for what they are. We had a cookie-craving and bare pantries, so this sounded perfect! I was actually short on butter too, so we used part unfiltered peanut oil, which was nice and imparted a nice peanut-y flavor to the bars. They are quite shortbread cookie-like as several others have stated, which certainly wasn't bad, but not my ideal either. I didn't do the drizzle on top and thought they were just fine without it. Overall, these were quite good and we enjoyed them, but I probably wouldn't make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      I can't believe how good these are! Perfect, my pantry is always bare, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      Turned out yummy, i only used 1 + 1/4 cups flour, and added 1 cup of quick oats. It gave more flavor to the recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

    • on August 02, 2006

      This was an easy substitute for cookies for the kids, but they did come out a little hard. My boys, however, loved them and begged for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This recipe is awesome!! So easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bare Pantry Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.5
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    52%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 176.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 24.2 g
    96%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes