Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barb's Hearty Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barb's Hearty Beef and Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2010

      This was fantastic soup! Instead of noodles, I added barley. I soaked about 1 1/2 cups barley in a bowl of water. That way they would be plumped up from water & not all the yummy stock. When i added the barley, it prevented the barley from turning into a mushy mess. LOVED IT!!! My kids ate every single veggie loaded into the soup without any complaints-delicious! 04/30/10 (update) I LOVE this recipe! Made it for the Crockpot - just fried the meat ahead of time. Threw it all together, cooked on Low for 8 hours & it was perfect!!!! Also, i only had 1 can of tomatoes, so this time I topped it up w/ tomatoe juice....turned out fantastic again!!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This was amazing, Barb Gertz, and out of such beautifully simple ingredients! I used meaty beef bones and liberally sprinkled them with kosher salt while browning. I omitted the green beans and cabbage. I used little star pasta and added a little extra peas and corn. So awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Barb, this soup is so tasty! Even though it's 100 degrees outside, I was craving some vegetable soup. Used lean ground beef in place of stew meat and used up some frozen brussels sprouts, asparagus and yellow squash I had in the freezer in addition to the other veggies (except left out the celery since I didn't have it). I made a half recipe and added thyme. So delicious!! I thought the 1/2 recipe would serve more than 4-5, but after 2 large bowls for supper tonight, I think serving size is right! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      excellent! It is hard to find a good soup with the perfect proportion of starch and veggies! I added an extra cup or two of water. Next time I think I would throw in some thyme, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      This soup is heart warmingly delicious. I used leftover roasted green beans and leftover roasted potatoes. I added the potatoes in step 3 since they didn't need to really cook and soften like a raw potato would. I ended up adding a total of 9 cups of water in the end and probably could have used more b/c so much of the yummy broth evaporated!! I was just nervous I would water it down. I used the orzo, but next time I will probably skip it because it would still be wonderful without it! You couldnt even really tell it was in the soup. Thanks for a wonderful recipe I hope to use for years to come, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      I loved this soup! I added all except the pasta. It was a meal in a bowl we just toasted some bread and that was our dinner. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Loved this soup! Was waiting for a cool night, but it looks as though it will be a while, ao had to make it tonight for a light supper. I didn't have ALL the veggies called for, but it was great with what I had. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      This soup was delicious with lots of meat and vegetables. My husband and I had it for several days and it tasted good to the last bowlful. Thanks Barb Gertz. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barb's Hearty Beef and Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.9
     
    Calories from Fat 201
    51%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 99.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes