Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barb's Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barb's Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-52 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2007

      The roux was easy to make, although it seemed rather gummy when I added the veggies. I added the broth slowly and it worked out great! Lovely dish and I would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this! I loved this recipe. My roux didn't really turn out well, but I'm sure I messed up somewhere. The dish still turned out perfectly though. I didn't have any okra so I left that out and used more shrimp. I did make this more spicy as well since we love spice. This was perfect with rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      This is my favorite gumbo recipe, and I've tried a lot of them! The only change I ever make is to make the roux a darker color, almost like chocolate. Heavenly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      This recipe was great!! My husband was really bummed when all the leftovers were gone. I changed a couple of things (I added sausage and some cajun seasoning to make it a little spicier) but it needed no alternatives. Great recipe! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      I am going to rate this recipe even tho I changed the recipe. The roux was great, added the vegies but omitted the corn and most of the seasonings and used Creole Seasoning instead. Also used 1-28oz. can of tomatoes and boiled a chicken. After boiling, I cut up in chunks and quickly browned in a small amount of oil on high. I then added the chicken to the gumbo. Also I cut up another onion and browned, added it, then browned a few sliced fresh mushrooms, then added it to the pot. I used about 4 c. of okra (frozen, slightly defrosted, then sliced). I followed most of Barb's techniques in how she prepared everything. I loved it even before adding the chicken and will probably make some this summer without any meat and freeze it. My husbands mother was cajun and I love trying new recipes. This one was a winner! Thanks for sharing Barb! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Very good gumbo! I used olive oil in the place of canola oil and made the shrimp and crab version. Will definately make again. Thank you Barb for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      With the weather cold and rainy, gumbo seemed to be the ideal dish. I used butter instead of the oil for the roux, and although standing and stirring the roux until it was the right color was tedious, I know what a taste difference it makes. I didn't add corn (didn't have any) and for convenience's sake I used pre-cooked chicken and some of the shrimp that comes in foil packages. Added only 1 cup of sliced okra and diced that up (personal preference). The end results was a wonderfully flavorful dish served over hot rice with cornbread sticks. Thanks for a really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      This was very good gumbo. My 7 yr old even had 2 servings (he is very pickey. We will cetianly make this again. Thank you for posting it. Dennis

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

    • on April 08, 2005

      This was a wonderful dish! I'm only 16 & It was very easy & very delishious. I don't care very much shrimp, but the chicken was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      This was wonderful! I hadn't made shrimp gumbo in years and chose this recipe because it sounded similar to what my mom used to make. I used butter instead of canola oil for the roux. I also put a 28 oz can of tomatoes in instead of 16 oz. I increased the vegis by a bit and the water by a bit. It resulted in a mild but yummy gumbo that my whole family loved. Next time I'll just double all the ingredients to serve my family of 9. I served cornbread muffins on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Yummy!!!! This is excellent. Lots of flavor. I added more tabasco sauce and may do more the next time. The richness of the gravy, is perfect. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barb's Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (659 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.5
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    46%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 71.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1292.7 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites