54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a nice base for gumbo to help jog your memory if you haven't made it in a while. It' isn't "cajun" but not everybody is looking for that anyway. Remember that roux can go from perfect to burnt really fast so I would advise chopping those veggies before you start the roux. I used a browned and cubed chicken breast, meatballs made from rolled ground sausage and shrimp. I ended up adding about twice as much peppers and onions and okra, 1/2 tsp celery salt, 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp sage, subbed fresh basil for dried, and 1 tsp of dried cilantro..would rather have had fresh. Until I added the cilantro, "something" was missing. It was a lot better with the added seasonings but I still left it mild for the kids. I added the hot sauce to my own bowl. All in all, very good recipe and thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton July 17, 2009

A mighty fine gumbo...however, beware--it doesnt pack much of a punch. I ended up adding 2 tsp ground red pepper and 2 tbs hot sauce to make it table ready. Plus, the majority of my dinner guests were reaching for the hot sauce at the table. I think next time I'll increase the red pepper and chop up a few hotter peppers to saute at the start. I'll definitely make again with the said adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen July 15, 2009

My first Gumbo-- and it turned out fantastic! I used shrimp and added some browned cajun sausage as well. This recipe was easy to follow which helped me succeed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely February 25, 2009

Didn't use cumin and family still loved it. Very good recipe, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelCook January 05, 2009

Yum Yum Yum Thanks for the easy recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPeill December 09, 2008

My DH say's that this is the best gumbo he has ever had! I left out the corn, and used fresh tomatoes and okra. He would not stop saying how wonderful it tasted and to bookmark this recipe with lots of stars! Thank you for posting .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dblondie5 October 21, 2008

Magnificent! I made it with chicken and without okra and without the 1/2 teaspoon of additional salt and it was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef October 10, 2008

Barb , this gumbo is delicious, the roux was perfect. Made it today for dinner tomorrow,, dh had to taste it as soon as it was done,, he loved it, said a 5 starer for sure.. have to admit I eat some also. I added some fresh crabmeat and about 1/4 tsp. Old bay seasoning. Will definately make this many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NITA FORMALLY 294904 SOUTHERN GIRL May 19, 2008

Very, very good! I had not made gumbo at home before trying this recipe. I prepared it as directed, adding some cooked smoked turkey sausage and the shrimp 10 mins before serving. Your directions for making a roux were particularly helpful. I've tried to make a roux before but never knew when it was "done", and now I know -- when it is the same color as a penny! The hot sauce gave the gumbo some kick, but it's not too spicy. The cumin gives it a smoky flavor that we loved. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AB_Fan May 16, 2008
Barb's Gumbo