Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barb's Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barb's Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2009

      This was great! I made it with chicken (browned cut up chicken breast before adding to the final 30 minute simmer) but found that meat is the last thing needed. The broth and vegetables are terrific over rice. Even my husband found himself eating around the meat, not because it was not tasty, but because the vegetables were soooo good. We like things a bit spicy so I upped the tabasco to 1 1/2 teaspoons. It left a great taste in your mouth after eating. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      WOW....this is a wonderful recipe. I made this last night for my family and we loved it. DH went to the farmers market and brought home some okra and green peppers....hmmmmmm, sounds like gumbo to me...lol. I made your recipe and it had my house smelling so good. I did add chicken breast and andouille (sp?) sausage along with the shrimp. We loved it. The only thing I would do differently is use chicken thighs instead of the breasts....I just think it would hold up better, other then that the recipe is the best! Thank you so much for sharing this with us.....we LOVED it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Real good, Barb! The reoux was perfect! The penny technique was helpful! I added about 4 oz. of tomato paste in addition to the tomatoes - I like my gumbo kinda "tomatoey". I left out the cumin, and double up on the Tabasco (mmmm...) Recipe was easy easy easy...To get a really good flavor, and to soften the veggies completely - I simmered for like two hours. YUM. This goes in my cookbook!! I used chicken and shrimp, and added it according to Barb's directions, and it was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      This was a great recipe! I used sausage and shrimp, with fresh corn cut from the cob and fresh okra from the garden. We took it to church potluck and even though there was so much good food...this was a hit! Several thanked me for making it! Definitely a keeper...Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      This turned out great for a first try at gumbo. Loved the flavors together with all the veggies and meat. I used a small amount of chicken, 1/2 lb. shrimp and 1/2 lb. kielbasa. DH had three servings so don't have much left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      I can't believe I'm going to do what I hate most about reviews. Say how much I love it and then how much I changed It. I didn't change much. I wanted to make a bigger quantity so I did half cup ea oil and flour and 4 cups chicken stock. I left out thyme and basil. Added thinly sliced turkey sausage (kind that looks like andouille) when adding veggies (no green peppers). Later added some cooked cut up chicken breast and before serving added shrimp and cooked <br/>another 20 - 30 min. It was soo good.. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      I tried another recipe and struck-out big time, so I was a little scared to try again. The reviews convinced me this might be different. I used shrimp and changed nothing from the recipe (except I'm really sorry, but I didn't have any okra, so I used some edamame, yes I know it was a bad substitution, but I didn't have anything else!). But regardless, it STILL came out amazing and my husband couldn't stop raving about the flavors....told me this was a keeper! Thanks Barb!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      This was the easiest gumbo recipe but the best I have ever made. I followed the recipe exactly but added kielbasa sausage during the last 30 minutes. A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I wanted to re-review this recipe. I have made it numerous times and it is always delicious! This past Friday, I made it with 20 oz. of Pederson's Andouille sausage and it was fantastic!! I realize that this is not the gumbo that natives of Louisiana would probably claim. However, for the time involved, it is a hearty, tasty, and filling meal. The sausage version did come out a bit greasy. I was able to skim off a good amount of grease after it sat in the fridge overnight. Being Roman Catholic, I think the shrimp version will be one of our Friday Lenten meals. Barb, thank you again for the recipe! It is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I made it for some of my friends recently and they loved it. Even as it was cooking I knew it'd be great because it smelt like the gumbo I remember from back home. I changed some of the quantities and varieties of vegetables, and it was fine. So a great versatile 'base' recipe. I bought some fila powder based on others recommendations and didn't even use it. I may do next time just so I haven't wasted my money, but I can't see what it would add to it. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Was good but lacked a lil flavor. but the veggies smelled soooo heavenly when sauteing in the roux!! :) shaked in some cajun seasoning and a few of old bay. upped the hot sauce and was able to use up some leftover corn on the cob and smoked sausage! thought about not using the okra, but am glad i didn't omit it! thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Very good. The addition of the corn added an interesting texture to the gumbo...thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      In the interest of full disclosure, I've never had gumbo before- I had to make this after watching "The Princess and the Frog" since I didn't even know what gumbo was. Luckily, this is an absolutely wonderful recipe (for soup at least!)

      I left out the shrimp and okra, using only chicken andouille sausage. I don't think the flavor suffered at all since the sausage added significant flavor on its own. With the right amount of hot sauce, this gumbo packs a punch and hits the spot!

      (Make sure you stir the roux frequently otherwise it will burn very quickly)

      UPDATE:
      This is only the second time my boyfriend has not only asked for seconds but asked for a larger second portion! Will *definitely* be making this again.

      Update:

      Made it for a potluck and it was a definite hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Very good gumbo for a shortened recipe. Five stars for ease of preparation, flavor, versatile ingredients, kids and husband both liked it. It is very bland (for gumbo) but it is easy to make it to taste. Could also go into a crockpot, which is always nice on a hectic day! Thank you for sharing Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

    • on January 29, 2010

      This was great gumbo. The cumin just made it taste perfect. It didn't take long to make either. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Outstanding! We used some Jalapeno sausage, crawfish tailmeat, and shrimp. We used 1 cup of seafood stock along with 2 cups chicken broth, an entire bag of frozen okra, and something like double the corn. We served it with Gotta-Have-It Garlic Bread, and couldn't get enough! If I'd had more crawfish, I'd have made a second batch! Next time I'll be certain to double this and freeze half for the day I just can't wait for more of this wonderful gumbo! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      My husband makes great gumbo, but the prep is so long and involved and takes all day to make. We thought this was a good alternative. The prep work isn't too bad and we were satisfied with the taste. Used shrimp and 1 t. Tabasco sauce. For our kids, that was enough heat. But Will and I shook a little more Tabasco into our bowl. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This is the first gumbo I had ever made and it was awesome! Now I make this at least once a week when okra is in season. I don't have shrimp all the time so I just dump whatever protein I have in there. Sometimes Italian sausage does the job. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      This is a nice base for gumbo to help jog your memory if you haven't made it in a while. It' isn't "cajun" but not everybody is looking for that anyway. Remember that roux can go from perfect to burnt really fast so I would advise chopping those veggies before you start the roux. I used a browned and cubed chicken breast, meatballs made from rolled ground sausage and shrimp. I ended up adding about twice as much peppers and onions and okra, 1/2 tsp celery salt, 1/4 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp sage, subbed fresh basil for dried, and 1 tsp of dried cilantro..would rather have had fresh. Until I added the cilantro, "something" was missing. It was a lot better with the added seasonings but I still left it mild for the kids. I added the hot sauce to my own bowl. All in all, very good recipe and thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Gumbo Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barb's Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (659 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.5
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    46%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 71.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1292.7 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes