27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were wonderful! Just loved 'em! I used a slightly different biscotti base (I use the same base for every biscotti I make). But I used your spicing, and added the molasses; I used walnuts instead of pecans, just 'cause I had them on hand. The spicing was absolutely wonderful. These are definitely part of the holiday gift basket this year. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts December 16, 2007

Thanks for a real keeper. Might drizzle with white callebaut. Love the fragrance!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum December 16, 2007

Delicious!!! I made just as directed!!! They're in the freezer now for gift giving. Maybe I'll dip them in white chocolate later. MMMM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 December 14, 2007

These are outstanding! I couldn't stop eating them. The end pieces that were left after cutting the loaves were even great to snack on while finishing the second baking! I will definitely be making these again! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashfork December 11, 2007

These were delicious! I used 1 1/4 cups white flour and a cup of whole wheat, and left out the nuts and currants. I also drizzled half with an icing made of powdered sugar, a little milk, and vanilla extract!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkmurphy December 02, 2007

Nothing to write home about. Mine didn't rise?! I don't know what happened... perhaps the weather? I'm glad I have too much food planned for tomorrow's brunch so that no one will miss these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C October 26, 2007

I left out the nuts and currants because I didn't have them- but these were awesome just like that. When I make gingerbread cake, I always make chocolate frosting for it, since gingerbread and chocolate just belong together, so next time I make these, I will dip the ends in chocolate- YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Clare August 29, 2007

Delicious. My only complaint is that the taste of the biscotti was so strong that it made my coffee seem bland! I left out the pecans and currants since hubby doesn't like them, and I also added 1/8 t cloves. These would probably be good with dried apples in palce of the currants, or perhaps replacing the two egg whites with applesauce or pumpkin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian July 01, 2007

Loved it! Replaced pecans w/ nuts and currants w/ mini chocolate chips. Keeps well in a plastic container.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka April 21, 2007

I was looking for a different biscotti recipe to try this holiday, so what better than a gingerbread version. These are definitely "dunkers," a very crunchy, hard biscotti (I know, that is the point). I used 2 eggs & dried cranberries and walnuts because that is what I had on hand. I would probably add more cranberries & nuts if it wouldn't cause problem when slicing. The dough was fairly sticky, so I'm glad I used a non-stick baking mat. I agree the flavor is pretty good but I'm also not sure I am "wowed" by this recipe yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skyeblu December 08, 2006
Barb's Gingerbread Biscotti