Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbs Butter Bean or Lima Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbs Butter Bean or Lima Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2013

      Great recipe, Barb. Thanks for posting it.

      And thanks for the tip about letting the beans rest in the cooking water for an hour. Worked like a charm for me.

      One small modification I made: I pureed the soup after about 1 hr and 30 min, returned it to the stove top and added the chopped celery for a final 30 min cook. The soup turned out silky smooth, with a nice celery crunch when tasted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      What a great, healthy winter treat! For our spice loving fellow here, I added a bit of red pepper flake, and rather than using flour to thicken, I pureed a couple cups of the soup and beans and added them back to the pot. Another really wonderful feature is that, by using really lean ham, you have a very rich-tasting soup with minimal fat. Great recipe Barb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      I thought I had bought butter beans but to my surprise it was lima beans! Searched to see what to do with them and this is the recipe I decided to make. I used turkey smoked sausage and made it as recipe stated. Very good! One person that I served it to said this taste better than what you get in a restaurant! Thanks for the recipe and will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Near the end I wasn't sure about this - but it came together. I added 2tsp more base (veggie bouillon - husband allergic to chicken) and quite a bit of salt. Also I used half kielbasa and half ham - to use up what I had on hand. the tomatoes add a nice mellow flavor - very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This is the best soup I've ever made! I did change a couple of things: I cooked 1/2 pound turkey bacon instead of kielbasa and added more veggies. I cooked it for a couple of hours after the limas soaked an hour. DELICIOUS & A BIG THANK YOU! You have the best recipes Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      This bean soup is excellent. I added one jalapeño in the last 20 min for some extra kick. Very versatile recipe... Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I have to say that these actually gave my granny a run for her money. LOVE LOVE LOVE these!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      A must try soup. Just the right touch on these cold frosty nigths. I use kielbasa, (weijska country style) and it's perfet. Next I'll try some home made smoked butts, and use speckled beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      Made for Zaar Tag. I used a pre-cooked ham steak. This was really good, healthy, and easy! Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      made this yesterday and we all loved it..very easy too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbs Butter Bean or Lima Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.9
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    46%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 24.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 569.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites