82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had made a loaf of this bread & one of the Zucchinni chocolate bread the other night. My husband (who does not like zucchini & gave me an "oh man" when he found out it was in both loafs). Just called me at work to tell me that he had just tried both breads & he liked them both but this one was the best out of the two! Two thumbs up from a non-zucchini eater!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goblu75 January 21, 2003

This is delicious! Had a similar recipe a few years ago and had misplaced it, now I have this! I used Canola oil, 3 medium zucchini made the 2 cups asked for, and I added the raisins also used walnuts. Thank you so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 05, 2002

Every year my husband walks in with an armload of zucchini and I head to look for Barb's Zucchini recipe. Have been making it every year for the past 4 that I can count. Great basic recipe. I mix it up by doing any of the following; over adding extra cups of zucchini, add chocolate chips, nuts, raisins and even coconut. Family gives me rave reviews. Thanks Barb!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BAVilsack61 July 11, 2010

I really liked this one, I used 3 C. of zucchini and 1 1/2 C. of sugar because I didn't want it to be too sweet but I think that after increasing the zucchini the 2 C. of sugar called for wouldn't actually be bad at all. I still liked the finished product regardless. Very moist and a great way to use all those many zucchini from the garden. Will make again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a_schoeneich September 04, 2011

Fantastic!!! I have made this several times and it turns out great each time. I also add 1 cup of coconut and sub applesauce for the oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom_of_4 August 24, 2011

Good, not too wet like most zucchini breads (thanks for the tip to drain out the shredded zucchini!). I only used 1.25 C sugar and it's still sweet enough. Next time I will probably double the amount of zucchini, since it seemed to disappear and become spice bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseyv June 17, 2010

Delicious! I made it in a bundt pan, and it turned out great. I also substituted applesauce for the oil and used freshly grated nutmeg and now am having trouble keeping the kids out of it!! I made it for a school event, and hope there will be some left to take :) Thanks for the recipe - I think the cloves and nutmeg are key!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
homeformy4kids May 02, 2010

Great zucchini bread. I read many of the reviews, and they offered many helpful suggestions: I used 3/4 cup oil, 2 cups all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 3/4 cup sugar (1 cup was brown, packed), I didn't drain the zucchini (which was grated). I made 3-7 1/2x3 3/4 loaves at 350 degrees for 46 minutes. The house smelled lovely, and I am giving one to my mom when I go over later. I'm glad I tried this, thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 March 11, 2010

OK. So I dont normally review recipes, but this one I just had to review. If you make it to a T, then your bread will be the BEST EVER zuxhinni bread. (given it has a ton of sugar) It is totally worth the calories! You have to try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WakerBaker December 17, 2009

very solid, dependable recipe. I have found that turning the oven down a smidgen and leaving it in a bit longer keeps the edges and bottom from getting too dark, but that may just be my oven. I added a handful of huckleberries to the last batch, very tasty. there is never any of this bread left to languish with the leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verybaddmom August 29, 2009
Barb's Best Zucchini Bread