Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbie Birthday Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbie Birthday Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2010

      I made this a while back for my daughter's 7th birthday and forgot to review it. She LOVED it! And so did our dog, Petey! I spent HOURS making this and decorating it "just so". I carefully set it in my office the day before the big event. The next morning, I crept in to admire my lovely creation and OMG!!! The entire front half of the cake was naked! I was in shock. My dog had licked all the icing and decorations off of there! No wonder he was so happy! He thought I had left that cake there just for him! Oh well... what're ya gonna do?!? Stuff happens, right?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      I made this for my daughter's 3rd birthday party. She and all the other little girls loved it! I baked a chocolate cake from scratch, had to bake it for 1 hour and 15 minutes, in order to get the middle done. Thanks for the great idea, so fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I'm so glad I stumbled upon this recipe! Thank you so much for the idea! It was last minute for me so I used two regular box cake mixes. Baked one in a rounded mixing bowl and the other in an 8" round pan for height. It turned out PERFECT! My daughter absolutely LOVED her cake. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Followed instructions except I added two 8" cake layers underneath to add the heigth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      I posted the picture on here. I used Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and split it into 3 bowls (per the idea of Chief Cook and Bottlewasher)... I cooked it nearly an hour; I was getting anxious about the possibility it wouldn't cook all the way through but it finally did. I then used the buttercream icing (along with 10 cups of confectioners sugar) along with some help from the freezer. I used WalMart red decorating icing to do the frills at the bottom, flavored fun marshmallows for flowers around the dress, candy lettering for her name and happy birthday, and blue candy things I found on the baking isle at WalMart. It took five hours. At the end I put icing on the two pink candles, put them in Barbie's hands, and stuck it in the freezer. It turned out looking awesome. Very proud.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I used this recipe except I made the Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake & Frosting (Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting) instead of a cake mix. That cake tastes great and it all turned out nicely. I made it with a Tinkerbell doll instead of Barbie. Tinkerbell is shorter but she still stuck out above a bit. I just blowsed her little short dress over the cake and it looked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      The cake held up really well!! I only decorate a couple of cakes a year so I'm far from a pro. My mom made a bundt cake so we'd have extra - I ended up using the bundt cake and setting this cake ontop - it worked perfectly!!! She had a bit of extra height to her. I also took the legs off the barbie. Just a note - if there are going to be little boys around - don't cut the cake from the back....Barie's bum hangs out if you do this, lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      PERFECT! I doctored a white cake mix, already own the special pan, but did have to also make an extra 9inch layer cake b/c barbie was too tall and brand new and couldn't cut off her legs! My daughter flipped when we showed her for her 6th bday. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Great recipe! Thanks for the good directions! I did three round cakes and one Pyrex bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      My daughter (4) loves Barbie cakes! She's had one for her last two birthdays. This year I put on the base dress, and then she decorated - she loved it! Also not for this specific recipe, but I've used my KA mixer bowl and 2 nine inch pans with a regular Barbie, which works out height-wise. So it ends up being two batches, similar to children from A to Z's experience. I've also wrapped up Barbie in plastic wrap first. Fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I have fond memories of this cake from when I was little. I think my mom wrapped up Barbie's legs in aluminum foil before putting her in her "dress."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I made this today for my now 5 year old daughter. The first cake I made I used a metal bowl too big, thank goodness I had an extra cake mix in the cupboard. I used the next size smaller and for a standard size barbie this does not work. So I improvised and used both cakes so I didn't have to take the bottom half of the barbie off. I inverted one cake on top of the other. Not what I had in mind for the cake to look like but it worked and my 5 year old didn't care she loves it and that's all that matters. I had one of these for my birthday when I was little and still remember so I knew she would love this. She did! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      cant say about the recipy but as a tip for the doll i tolk the legs off the Barbie because she was too tall for the cake... butiful job on the decoration of the dress! you can also use marshmelows cut in half and cris-cross cut half way to make flowers on the dress...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I made a Barbie Birthday cake like this MANY years ago for my DD. She loved it. A friend of mine just made one for her Grand-Daughter's birthday. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbie Birthday Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 855.6
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    38%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 79.3 mg
    26%
    Sodium 662.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 127.2 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 106.7 g
    426%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    candy sprinkles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites