14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this a while back for my daughter's 7th birthday and forgot to review it. She LOVED it! And so did our dog, Petey! I spent HOURS making this and decorating it "just so". I carefully set it in my office the day before the big event. The next morning, I crept in to admire my lovely creation and OMG!!! The entire front half of the cake was naked! I was in shock. My dog had licked all the icing and decorations off of there! No wonder he was so happy! He thought I had left that cake there just for him! Oh well... what're ya gonna do?!? Stuff happens, right?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night October 21, 2010

I made this for my daughter's 3rd birthday party. She and all the other little girls loved it! I baked a chocolate cake from scratch, had to bake it for 1 hour and 15 minutes, in order to get the middle done. Thanks for the great idea, so fun!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyMama August 30, 2010

I'm so glad I stumbled upon this recipe! Thank you so much for the idea! It was last minute for me so I used two regular box cake mixes. Baked one in a rounded mixing bowl and the other in an 8" round pan for height. It turned out PERFECT! My daughter absolutely LOVED her cake. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenCong March 26, 2010

Followed instructions except I added two 8" cake layers underneath to add the heigth!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose November 05, 2009

I posted the picture on here. I used Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and split it into 3 bowls (per the idea of Chief Cook and Bottlewasher)... I cooked it nearly an hour; I was getting anxious about the possibility it wouldn't cook all the way through but it finally did. I then used the buttercream icing (along with 10 cups of confectioners sugar) along with some help from the freezer. I used WalMart red decorating icing to do the frills at the bottom, flavored fun marshmallows for flowers around the dress, candy lettering for her name and happy birthday, and blue candy things I found on the baking isle at WalMart. It took five hours. At the end I put icing on the two pink candles, put them in Barbie's hands, and stuck it in the freezer. It turned out looking awesome. Very proud.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaxFLChef July 24, 2009

I used this recipe except I made the Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake & Frosting (Magnolia Bakery's Vanilla Birthday Cake and Frosting) instead of a cake mix. That cake tastes great and it all turned out nicely. I made it with a Tinkerbell doll instead of Barbie. Tinkerbell is shorter but she still stuck out above a bit. I just blowsed her little short dress over the cake and it looked fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief cook and bottlewasher April 04, 2009

The cake held up really well!! I only decorate a couple of cakes a year so I'm far from a pro. My mom made a bundt cake so we'd have extra - I ended up using the bundt cake and setting this cake ontop - it worked perfectly!!! She had a bit of extra height to her. I also took the legs off the barbie. Just a note - if there are going to be little boys around - don't cut the cake from the back....Barie's bum hangs out if you do this, lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissChif February 06, 2009

PERFECT! I doctored a white cake mix, already own the special pan, but did have to also make an extra 9inch layer cake b/c barbie was too tall and brand new and couldn't cut off her legs! My daughter flipped when we showed her for her 6th bday. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com January 21, 2009

Great recipe! Thanks for the good directions! I did three round cakes and one Pyrex bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SecretIngredients August 29, 2008

My daughter (4) loves Barbie cakes! She's had one for her last two birthdays. This year I put on the base dress, and then she decorated - she loved it! Also not for this specific recipe, but I've used my KA mixer bowl and 2 nine inch pans with a regular Barbie, which works out height-wise. So it ends up being two batches, similar to children from A to Z's experience. I've also wrapped up Barbie in plastic wrap first. Fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingofjoy August 17, 2008
Barbie Birthday Cake