18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made some changes, but FANTASTIC! I broke up the tempeh, simmered, drained, strainer and patted dry with a towel. I added a bit of olive oil and sauteed the crumbles for about 10 minutes, used Jack Daniels BBQ sauce and had a fresh, soft Portugese roll! Best dinner in a while and I did it within my WW points for the day! THANK YOU for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieBunnyLilo March 23, 2010

This is a GREAT recipe! This recipe was my first tempeh ever, and it ROCKS! I never knew how easy it was to make your own BBQ sauce, too! (No preservatives or chemicals, too!) I did do a couple of minor modifications, mostly due to what I had on hand. Instead of cayenne, I used chipotle peppers. Great smoky, spicy flavor! For some reason I saw "tamari" and thought tahini (sesame seed paste) and added that. It still seemed to work. (Even though I did put the soy sauce in, too). The recipe calls for 16oz of tempeh; most tempeh is sold in 8 oz. To make up for the lost bulk, I added some shitake mushrooms to the mix, which worked well. I also served this over quinoa (made with oil, thyme, rosemary, and oregano). This worked EXCELLENT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sir Woody Hackswell March 12, 2008

Liked this tempeh recipe! I am a fan of tempeh and of the preparation method outlined in this recipe. The BBQ sauce was fine, but there's others that I like better that we've made that I could see using with this dish, so it has definitely given me some ideas (especially of how I can participate when my husband is making pulled pork for himself and other guests). Thanks, Sandi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny October 25, 2012

WIN! Great recipe. I halved it for the 2 of us, and would say the whole recipe must serve more then 4! O.O When I first tasted the sauce I thought it was going to be rather bland and tomatoey, but it simmers into something quite grand! I did add little extra molasses and vinegar to mine - just minor tweaking. This was a great introduction to tempeh for my fiance! No complaints! I would recommend this to anyone, especially first timers. Of coarse the longer it sits in the sauce the better. I'll bet this would be great done in the crock pot, left on low for a few hours!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma September 14, 2011

I can't eat anything without tons of vegetables, so I used 8oz of tempeh and added a big bag of coleslaw mix toward the end (kind of like a stir-fry). Even with the extra veggies, the sauce is bold enough to still hold a lot of flavor. I served it on toasted Ezekiel bread, and it was yummy! (Even my husband loved it!!) Instead of serving 4, it serves at least 6 or 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GJACQUELINE February 06, 2011

This was great and very easy! Used a can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and served it on Portuguese rolls. Perfect for watching a football game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain January 15, 2011

Like it, but don't you mean 500 g tempeh in 2.5 cm strips? And all you really have to do to go Metric with the rest of the recipe is to use Metric cups and spoons instead of antiquated American cups and spoons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a-bruiexjr July 14, 2010

Really enjoyed this. Used bottled bbq sauce and had it on a bun with lots of hot sauce. Only thing better would have been if i'd had some coleslaw to put on the sandwich and I will do that next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart July 06, 2010

Thanks for this recipe. I have made this about five times now :) - I have made them with the homemade barbecue sauce and also store bought. either way, they have come out amazing. even my meat eating friends thought this was good enough to have seconds :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual December 30, 2009
Barbecued Tempeh