Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbecued Tempeh Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbecued Tempeh

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2010

      I made some changes, but FANTASTIC! I broke up the tempeh, simmered, drained, strainer and patted dry with a towel. I added a bit of olive oil and sauteed the crumbles for about 10 minutes, used Jack Daniels BBQ sauce and had a fresh, soft Portugese roll! Best dinner in a while and I did it within my WW points for the day! THANK YOU for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This is a GREAT recipe! This recipe was my first tempeh ever, and it ROCKS! I never knew how easy it was to make your own BBQ sauce, too! (No preservatives or chemicals, too!) I did do a couple of minor modifications, mostly due to what I had on hand. Instead of cayenne, I used chipotle peppers. Great smoky, spicy flavor! For some reason I saw "tamari" and thought tahini (sesame seed paste) and added that. It still seemed to work. (Even though I did put the soy sauce in, too). The recipe calls for 16oz of tempeh; most tempeh is sold in 8 oz. To make up for the lost bulk, I added some shitake mushrooms to the mix, which worked well. I also served this over quinoa (made with oil, thyme, rosemary, and oregano). This worked EXCELLENT.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Liked this tempeh recipe! I am a fan of tempeh and of the preparation method outlined in this recipe. The BBQ sauce was fine, but there's others that I like better that we've made that I could see using with this dish, so it has definitely given me some ideas (especially of how I can participate when my husband is making pulled pork for himself and other guests). Thanks, Sandi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      WIN! Great recipe. I halved it for the 2 of us, and would say the whole recipe must serve more then 4! O.O When I first tasted the sauce I thought it was going to be rather bland and tomatoey, but it simmers into something quite grand! I did add little extra molasses and vinegar to mine - just minor tweaking. This was a great introduction to tempeh for my fiance! No complaints! I would recommend this to anyone, especially first timers. Of coarse the longer it sits in the sauce the better. I'll bet this would be great done in the crock pot, left on low for a few hours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I can't eat anything without tons of vegetables, so I used 8oz of tempeh and added a big bag of coleslaw mix toward the end (kind of like a stir-fry). Even with the extra veggies, the sauce is bold enough to still hold a lot of flavor. I served it on toasted Ezekiel bread, and it was yummy! (Even my husband loved it!!) Instead of serving 4, it serves at least 6 or 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      This was great and very easy! Used a can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and served it on Portuguese rolls. Perfect for watching a football game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      Like it, but don't you mean 500 g tempeh in 2.5 cm strips? And all you really have to do to go Metric with the rest of the recipe is to use Metric cups and spoons instead of antiquated American cups and spoons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Really enjoyed this. Used bottled bbq sauce and had it on a bun with lots of hot sauce. Only thing better would have been if i'd had some coleslaw to put on the sandwich and I will do that next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

    • on December 30, 2009

      Thanks for this recipe. I have made this about five times now :) - I have made them with the homemade barbecue sauce and also store bought. either way, they have come out amazing. even my meat eating friends thought this was good enough to have seconds :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Mmmmmm~~this was very good. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

    • on July 25, 2009

      This recipe was just what I was looking for, a relatively quick BBQ tempeh. It only took me about 45 minutes and it was great! I look forward to making sandwiches out of it tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Thanks Sandi for this great recipe. I had a 8 oz pkg. of veggie tempeh in the freezer & tried this recipe. TRY IT YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! It was really delicious, we LOVED this recipe. Changes I made were to boil frozen block of tempeh then cut it in half widthwise then into 1/2" strips before frying. Also used about 4 oz. prepared TVP from the freezer which I added to the sauce w/the fried tempeh. Also threw in a can of 4 oz. button mushrooms when frying up the ons & garlic. I didn't have fresh or frozen ginger so added 1/2 tsp. ground ginger when frying vegs. Next time I will add some chopped celery to the vegs, because I love it in BBQ. In the sauce I added 14.5 oz can of Red Gold diced toms w/green chiles which were briefly whirred in the blender, subs yellow mustard for dijon & white vinegar for the rice vinegar because that is what I had on hand. Served on WW buns w/a salad. I cannot believe how good this was, this will become a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      This was the second time I've ever tried tempeh. I wasn't impressed with it the first time, but didn't know about the steaming/boiling thing prior to actually working with it. This recipe has redeemed tempeh for us. We'll be having this again. The left overs are probably better than when it first came out of the pan, too. Also added some cumin, ground chipotle and a few shakes of liquid smoke to the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      Really good, easy to make and ingredients I usually have on hand, I'm sure this will be a regular now at my house. I added some cremini mushrooms and some fresh ground black pepper and cumin in addition to the cayenne, also loaded up on the ginger and garlic. Nice and spicy! For the can of tomatoes I used Muir Glen brand fire roasted diced tomatoes with green chilies, these are by far my favorite canned tomatoes and the chilies added a nice little extra kick. Loaded it all up on a whole wheat bun for a very satisfying BBQ sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I used maple syrup instead of the molasses and it was terrific served with flax penne. My husband requested it again, even before he was finished with this meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This was sooo good! I used 1 cup bottle BBQ sauce instead of the homemade version as I was pressed for time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbecued Tempeh

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.0
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    44%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 946.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    50%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes