11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This made for some really yummy fish! I scaled the recipe down, used perch and pan fried mine. It still turned out beautifully! Just the right amount of spice. My husband put his on a bun. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 03, 2015

This was perfect for what I was looking for. I was looking for a spicy fish recipe to serve alongside pineapple salsa. This was excellent and easy. I cooked in a pan in the oven cause it was raining when I got home. I used flounder fillets and cooked at 450 about 14 mins turning once. I sprinkled the fish instead of coating heavily and it was perfect for my family. Can't wait to use the spice mix on chicken or pork. Thanks for posting this great "do again" recipe. Update: This is excellent in fish tacos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally July 08, 2011

Made this for my family. I am a whimp when it comes to spices so I took a bit. I made with tilapia and followed the recipe as written. This was good but even my spice eating family thought the pepper was a bit overpowering. I would cut the pepper back a bit. It was easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol September 29, 2009

BIG TASTE...and believe me, SIZE matters. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 21, 2009

I'm posting this review a second time...my first one didn't show up. I love fish on the grill, and I love blackened fish. This recipe sounded like a combo of the two! I didn't think it was too spicy at all...it was just right, and the smokey flavor from the grill worked wonderfully with the seasoning. Made for Fall PAC 2009. Thanks so much for posting a great fish recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 18, 2009

I take my hat off for you, this is so good and so easy. I'm usually too lazy to leave a review but God this is really really good, I would serve this to people with confidence. I didn't have any onoin powder and still it is so yummy. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonbon 82 April 18, 2009

Very nice flavors. I used tilapia filets and cooked on Foreman grill. The dry rub would be good on chicken, also, I think!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey July 27, 2008

I fixed this sitting atop of some nice fresh tuna steaks. This was absolutely the "Bee's Knee's" and we loved it. Tuna steaks are meant to have some good ol' spice-a-rama seasoning rubbed in, and this did the job perfectly. As noted: I rubbed *X-tra* spice into mine, since I have not a taste bud or stomach left as I love spicy food. This mixture would be great for anything, fish, poultry, and steak. Even hamburger. Oh yum-0 .....will make this again and very soon too! Thanks, Teresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 11, 2008

This was a bit too spicy for us - but still was good and easy! Next time I'll cut down on the pepper though. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 28, 2008

I have this same cookbook and have made this recipe..........FANTASTIC. So glad you posted it here so now I can post a picture. I highly recommend this recipe. I happened to use cod fish loins that were really thick but I ended up cutting them in half before grilling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Petunia June 13, 2008
Barbecued Spiced Fish