16 Reviews

You only need to smell this marinade to know you are about to experience something special! I followed the easy directions, adding all the ingredients in a Ziplock bag (except the red food coloring, there were only a few drops left in the bottle) and marinated the pork for 3 hours. I baked the pork as directed. The result - superb flavor and fork tender! My 5 star rating = excellant!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 15, 2003

Awesome! I used a 1.5-lb. boneless pork loin roast -- not those little skinny things, but the real deal (I buy the huge monsters and cut them into reasonably sized roasts). I used this marinade, leaving it in the fridge for nearly two days, and it was awesome! As Lavender Lynn said, this is exactly like the BBQ pork served at a lot of Chinese restaurants. Next time, though, I think I'll use a low-sodium soy sauce. I'm not sure if it was the regular soy sauce or the extended marinating time I used, but it came out just a bit too salty for my family's taste. Thanks much for this delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich March 23, 2009

This was abso fabso, used pork fillets and cooked in an Aga for 30 mins. hand 2 fillets, kept one for next day for lunch etc. All I can say is family loved it and thought I had been to a really good takeaway wow!!!. One point having a bit of water in bottom of pan below the grid ensured that the pork was moist and tender

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kevinm_payne October 04, 2007

These are wonderful!! My family really loved them. I marinated them all day, cooked at 375 for about 45 mins and the internal temp was 165. Thanks for a great recipe!!! Karen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen March 04, 2006

I was looking for a recipe for the red barbecue pork I see in the grocery stores and some Chinese restaurants. This isn't it. I agree with the other reviewer that the five spice was too strong. I won't make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jl43770 August 28, 2015

I used this recipe for the pork and it is absolutely brilliant! I cut it into smaller pieces after it was roasted and added it to a laksa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terence.bayly November 20, 2014

This was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except for omitting the wine (Didn't have any!) and marinated it overnight. My family loved it and we cleared off the entire roast. I will definitely be making this again. Simple recipe, great taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy :) October 09, 2013

Love this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper July 11, 2013

This was good but I think I learned I don't care for Chinese five spice powder. I bought the spice specifically to make this recipe. There was just a hint of something in the roast that I didn't care for. I couldn't quite pinpoint it until I sniffed the spice and that was it. Next time I'll leave out the Chinese five spice just for my personal preference. Thanks for posting the recipe. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stoblogger November 03, 2009

For anyone who is confused about what "pork fillets" are, they're also called tenderloins. I didn't have some of the ingredients, but I needed pork to go in fried rice, so I thought I'd see if it would work with what I had. It worked great and it's delicious! I had to leave out the red wine, honey, shallot and cinnamon, but this pork is still amazing (marinated 24 hours). I also misread the directions and accidently put in 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I'm glad I made that mistake. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaFoodFan July 17, 2009
Barbecued Red Roast Pork Tenderloin