13 Reviews

I liked this recipe very much. Usually I follow recipes exactly, but after looking at a couple other very similar recipes and reading the reviews on this one, I made a couple of changes. My chops were 3/4 inch thick and there were 5 of them. The recipe plus 1 tablespoon worcestershire and 3 medium cloves garlic minced. I then covered and marinated in fridge for 4 hours. When I cooked them; I did 350 for 45 min covered, then uncovered and flipped chops and baked uncovered 15 min more. I drained all the juices and added roux to make gravy in a saucepan. Kinda sweet and sour tasting gravy but went well with pork. Good recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith September 23, 2002

I liked this recipe. The cooking time was correct for my 1 1/2" thick pork chops. I'll be cooking this again and will probably try with the thinner pork chops and cut the cooking time. It's a great BBQ taste when the weather is bad and I can't BBQ.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windywood April 16, 2002

Why do you have to bake pork chops,this is a B.B.Q recipe. Depending on the size and the amount of time to marinate,they shouldn't be more than 15-20 minutes on the B.B.Q

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Murray January 27, 2001

Apparently I got the wrong pork chops for this receipe!!! I only cooked for 1 1/2 hrs and they were way to dry...if I had cooked for 2 they would have been hockey pukes!!! The taste was good, but I would diffently watch the time and cooking of the chops. Maybe just an hour, covered.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy Blakeman January 16, 2001

We have a small favorite recipies cook book in the kitchen drawer and when a recipe gets eaten for the 6th time it passes muster and goes into this recipe book. I am right now adding this recipe to it. The only change I ever made was substituting Chinese Chile Garlic Sauce for Chili sauce. What a kick! Don't use it if your not into hot n spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken C. September 26, 2012

Ok, I had given this one star and boy did I jump the gun! After the chops sat for about 10 mins the sauce thickened and the flavor was to die for. I may grill the chops and make this sauce on the stove top to baste with. We all loved this and I had to come back and update my review accordingly :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fabulicious November 03, 2009

Nice, tender chops with a good, not-too-spicy sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb January 26, 2008

Great recipe.....the kids loved it which is a feat in itself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ka_deacon October 12, 2007

This was wonderful! The taste was great, and after a long day at work, just putting everything into a casserole dish and popping it in the oven was great. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zelizabeth August 30, 2007

I made these again, but still can't give them a rating. I forgot they were in the oven, and I'm guessing they cooked an hour extra, and when I took them out (after removing the top), all the sauce was a burned, hard mess. Having said that, the little bit of the chop on top that was not ruined was delicious. I am going to make them again as soon as I can get more chops, and will probably double the sauce. What was left was absolutely delicious, and I can't wait to do the recipe correctly and devour the chops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ July 22, 2007
Barbecued Pork Chops