9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this in the broiler, and now I'm looking forward to doing it on the grill too! This is an excellent marinade, the ginger gives a nice taste boost. Our steak was done rare in the time stated for cooking, perfect! Very easy to make, would be a great recipe to use for a summer gathering of friends. Thanks Ellie, I will make this one a lot!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz February 27, 2003

We loved this - so tender and delicious. I used fresh onions that I chopped extra fine and added 1 teaspoon of smokey paprika (I like that smokey taste). I made this on the inside -Thanks for posting! I can't wait for our summer to start in 2 months and I can pull out the BBQ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom September 28, 2013

Excellent - the steak had a great flavor and was very tender! The only change I made to the recipe was the addition of fresh ground pepper to the steak as I grilled it. Served with fresh corn on the cob and a pasta salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott1265 August 06, 2007

I have to agree with everyone elses rating. The flavor was fantastic. This was the first time we have ever had flank steak and with the marinade this was wonderful. Thanks, Ellie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z July 26, 2007

wonderful marinade...I let mine marinate for 2 days (was not really planned), but when we did get around to grilling it, it was wonderful....putting this recipe in my favorites for safe keeping...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc December 15, 2006

We love flank steak at our house and, Ellie, your way of doing it was perfect for us. So easy, I got it ready early in the morning, let it marinate all day and just threw it on the grill, 5 minutes on each side, and it was just right. I served this with twice-baked potatoes and stir-fried asparagus. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude November 07, 2004

My family loved this! I had it marinating in the fridge and then we ended up having pizza for dinner, so I froze it, marinade and all. When I grilled it a few days later, it was incredibly tender and very full flavored. I will definitely be making this gain. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy Shoemaker July 07, 2004

This recipe is fantastic! I only allowed 5 hours for marinating, and it was still full of flavor! Thank you for a delicious summer barbecue recipe. I will be making this again and again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriM3 June 21, 2004

Thanks Miss Nez for pointing out that the cooking time should be adjusted in step 5. The cooking times in step 5 should be: Cook steak 5-10 minutes each side depending on desired doneness. 5 minutes for rare, 7-8 minutes for medium rare, and 8-10 minutes for well -done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 28, 2003
Barbecued Flank Steak