8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. First let me say that I should either be embarrassed or applauded because I had every single ingredient on hand except the molasses. I made this sauce 5 days in advance and stored it in the refrigerator to allow it to love itself. My friend adored this sauce, which is a bold statement, as she really dislikes BBQ sauces of any kind. I filled 4 requests for the recipe at my BBQ and my hublet requested that I keep a bottle in the fridge, as he is the self proclaimed "Condiment King". This sauce is a perfect blend of ingredients and I love the thickness of the sauce without it being overpowering. It now has a permanent home in my fridge door.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandess May 22, 2008

This was a really great recipe! I did add a few peppers, because I had them on hand, and they added a nice flavor, without too much heat. A lot of layers of flavor in this sauce. Very easy, and I had everything on hand. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe! Went great with a Mesquite Smoked Pork Butt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 October 02, 2012

Perfect balance of spicy, sweet, and smoky in this thick sauce. I had no doubts that this would be absolutely fantastic. Only change I made was to use about 12 oz. of regular beef broth (instead of a 10 oz. can of double-strength beef broth). The ingredient list is long but goes together quickly from the spice cabinet/fridge. Wonderful with brisket and grilled meats, and stores nicely in the fridge. Thanks, Chip, for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 03, 2010

Wish I could give you 10 stars Chip! This is so good! I can usually read the ingredients and be able to tell fairly well if it will be good. I knew this would be good but this is far better than good. The flavors just blend together so smoothly, and the liquid smoke is spot on! Usually BBQ sauces are either too smoky or not smoky enough. I can tell by the list of ingredient that creating this was no small feat. Thank you so much for sharing this; this is definately a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER January 20, 2010

I'm not a lover of BBQ Sauce, so this review is really from DH. He gave it 4 stars and thought it was pretty good. I'll add an extra star for the ease of cooking. I just let it simmer for 2 hours while I did other things around the house. There was no scorching at all. DH thought the flavour was really nice, and loved how it left a little kick at the back of his mouth. I made it exactly as written, and ended up with almost 4 cups of a nice thick sauce. Fortunately, I had an empty mayo jar that held it quite nicely. Made for TOTM Red Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 February 08, 2009

OK, I'm not just saying this because Chip is my best friend...and I promise he didn't threaten me to get a good review...This is the best BBQ sauce I ever tasted. It's just right, I didn't change a thing. I've made it twice so far. I won't be buying bottled stuff anymore! Thanks Chippy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzycrue June 30, 2008

This is fantastic sauce. Much better than bottles, and not that hard to make. The only thing I changed, was using chipotle chili powder for the regular. Gave it a little added heat and smokiness. Used this to baste bbq'd chicken, and also has a dipping sauce at the table. Made for Spring 2008 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 26, 2008

My husband will NEVER beleive that I made this sauce! It was sooo simple and tastes BETTER than the ones you can buy in the store! I didn't have any soy sauce/sage/thyme/bay leaf or liquid smoke. but that's ok it still tastes unbeleivable! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrvautier January 18, 2008
Barbecue Sauce - Thick and Spicy