Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbecue Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbecue Rub

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-57 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2007

      very good taste, i think i would like it better on chicken, tried it on steak, marinaded it over night but my steak tasted like rubber the next day, it was ribeye steak. will try it on chicken though. I like the sweet taste to the rub. thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      I've always been a BBQ sauce kind of girl but like a dry rub every now and then but always when out at a restaurant. I took There's advice to use less salt and sugar and I loved it. My husband had his mouth stuffed the whole dinner. I cooked a rack of baby back ribs with this rub. I only made half a batch and still had a lot left! I will definitely pass this one on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      This is WONDERFUL! Very easy and very good. I was a bit hesitant about how "BBQ-y" it would taste, but it was terrific. I made it on chicken breasts last week, and my family is asking for it again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This is a real good rub -- it may become my default "base" rub. I was looking for a rub that didn't include a gazillion spices, because I wanted something simple that I could tailor if I wanted a specific flavor. After reading other comments, I did cut the salt in half since I don't like very salty food (and used half coarse sea salt and half regular sea salt). I also reduced the sugar by 1/3 and made it half white and half turbinado. I used about a quarter of the recipe on a half rack of ribs -- tossed the rub and ribs in a plastic bag and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Ribs came out great, slow-cooked over hickory chips, with tasty leftovers for today (if the fridge hasn't already been raided!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Made the rub today and cooked the steak up tonight. It was a big hit. My 2 yr old ate all of his and asked my husband for some from his plate. My husband asked me to make this every day. I personally thought it rather sweet and salty. Will try the earlier reccomendation to cut back on sugar. But overall the meat was moist and tender!!! Kudos to you. you should be in the top 40 with this rub!! =o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      I thought it seemed like a lot of sugar, but I followed it exact and it truly is wonderful. All that sugar caramelizes on the meat and makes it so good! Will use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Very good stuff.It was a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This one had the WOW factor. This is the best rub I have found in a long time. I am going to experiment with variations like using turbinado sugar and chipotle pepper. But this will be hard to top!! Excellent! Thanks. Buddy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      I'm curious what BBQ restaurant you worked at :)This is a great rub. I used it on organic center cut pork steaks. Slathered them up good, then let them sit and soak up the rub for awhile before grilling. Served with grilled corn and salad. I love the little bit of sweetness in this, it's not overpowering, it's just right. I did add more cayenne than called for. Thanks for sharing, will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      I used this rub many times this summer, even gave the recipe to friends. Makes a lot of rub so I halved the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      This is a wonderful rub! I made 1/4 of a recipe because I only had about 1- 1 1/2 lb. of meat. I rubbed this on country style ribs and because it was a rainy, cool day, I browned them in a frying pan in just a little bit of oil and then stuck the pan in the oven and baked them for 1 1/2 hours at 325 degrees. They were fork tender and DH said you be sure to give this a good review! LOL! So, here I am, doing just that! Even though I made just 1/4 recipe, I used the whole amount of cayenne pepper and used kosher salt. Even using the whole amount of cayenne pepper, it was still not too hot, just spicy and flavorful! I did not even use any other sauce with it. Thanks Charlotte J!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      I will add my compliments for this recipe. It creates a very tasty flavor on chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      A very handy rub recipe - simple to throw together, and nice on grilled chicken. Would like it to have had a little more kick to it, so I'll add more cayenne to the next batch. Anticipate that it will be terrific on beer can chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      I used this this weekend for my son's luau birthday party, on the pulled pork....mmmm...it smelled amazing while cooking. I still tossed the pulled pork with BBQ sauce but it gave the pork itself great flavor. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2004

      Incredible, Charlotte! This mixes up with ingredients you most likely have on hand, and it's also very quick to put together. I used it on a whole chicken, which I roasted in the oven. Fabulous! Oh--I used half regular paprika and half smokey paprika--it added a nice depth to the rub. My husband loved it so much, that he requested it for his Father's Day dinner--he wants it on some chicken and ribs, this time on the grill. Thanks for a wonderful, easy recipe that will be a regular in my kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      Our family used the rub for Memorial Day. We were very pleased with the final product. Recipe leaves room for experimenting. We followed it exactly, deeeelicious!!! Beef ribs, yum, and chicken, oooohh. We'll use it again, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      Having seen over the past few months TV ads for rubs, I decided to try one since I usually use BBQ sauce. I just made a quarter recipe in case I didn't like it. Well, we tried it on steak and were blown away by the terrific flavour. I'll be using this for my barbequing from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbecue Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (587 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.8
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    49%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18900.2 mg
    787%
    Total Carbohydrate 141.0 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 134.2 g
    536%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites