Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbecue Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbecue Rub

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2012

      This was the first time I was making a rub on a grill pan. The pork chops got completely charred but the meat was rare in the middle so finally I had to cut it to pieces and grill like that. It got messy and the taste was so so. I am trying to think what the mistake was. Is brown sugar OK? Or maybe the flame was too high (it was on medium). Or maybe I should put some olive oil first. I will try doing it again because I still have some rub left but so far it didn't impress me much...sorry! Maybe somebody can give me some advice how to proceed?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      Nice & easy and great tasting! I just rubbed it on chicken breasts and baked them (it's 36 degrees outside) and they still turned out great! A nice all-purpose rub that I'll use again and again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      We had this on chicken breast tonight and they were wonderful on the grill. My six year old ate more then my husband and I she loved it so much! This would be great packaged in little canning jars and given as hostess or teacher gifts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This worked out real well for me as a rub for a pork roast. The high sugar content did result in some very crispy, crusty pieces but I liked that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Awsome! Best rub I've used so far. I did cut back on the sugar and salt and we loved it. I think I've used this on every kind of meat and it works every time. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Made for Christmas gifts to hand out in Australia. My DH loves it so hopefully others will. Did cut down on the sugar as suggested by some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Excellent. Used it on ribs and it was great. Looking forward to trying it on other meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This is so simple to make, and it tastes so good!!! on everything. It makes a nice crusty finish on pork, fish, and chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

    • on May 23, 2008

      WOW! Simple and delicious - that's what makes recipes great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      I really enjoyed the flavour of the spices in this rub, however I found it VERY salty despite reducing the amount of salt to 1/3 cup. I will try it again but will use even less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      OK, I tried it....ya all are right....this is awesome. Even my picky "sauce only" sister liked it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This was just great. Such good flavor. We all enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Absolutely fantastic. We were sick of Pappy's and wanted to try something different. I halved the recipe as I didn't have enough paprika and we were only cooking a couple of steaks. DH says this is a keeper. This is definitely restaurant quality. Now that we're living in MO we'll have to try out Mr. G's sometime! Thanks Charlotte J.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      Very tasty rub, I halved the recipe and used all brown sugar and cut the salt to 1/8 c. I also added some cumin and mustard powder. I used this on a chuck roast I was slow cooking in my oven and it was delicious, thanks for the great recipe. Next time I will try it on chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Great rub...cut back on the sugar by 1/3 cup as suggested and used half the salt. Tasted the rub before using and it reminded me of these mesquite flavored chips I've eaten before. YUMMY! Used on chicken and baked in the oven. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Outstanding! I made this rub as part of a Christmas basket to give out to family and it was perfect! I made extra to have some for myself and I used it on chicken it was fantastic. My brother in law used his on some steak and he requested another batch! Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Probably don't need another review but I think I'm the only reviewer to use this on fish. I had some salmon that my DH wanted to cook on the BBQ and I chose this dry rub to use on it. Turned out really good! I may add a bit more Cayenne next time as we like a bit more spice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Excellent is all I can say! We loved this! We did add bbq sauce along with it. Thanks for posting such an oustanding rub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      This turned out very well. Just the right amount of sweet and heat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbecue Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (587 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.8
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    49%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18900.2 mg
    787%
    Total Carbohydrate 141.0 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 134.2 g
    536%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes