57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Charlotte, I have never used a rub before to make my pulled pork barbeque, but you have convienced me that I will from now on! Even though I have been making pulled pork barbeque for years and years, what a difference using the rub makes in the moistness and flavor of the meat! I used my favorite sauce (Lee Lee's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Ribs W/ Preserves) Lee Lee's Famous Barbeque Sauce for Ribs w/ Preserves, leaving out the preserves for the pulled pork variation and the meal was out of this world delicious! Thank you so much, Charlotte! Your rub is a five star winner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 19, 2003

This is an AMAZING rub!!! Was skeptical at first -- shouldn't have been !! Used it on a brisket and Keeps it moist and tender!!! No need for any sauce!!! WOW!!!! Will use this frequent;y! Thanks for posting it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troys.toy May 11, 2008

this was fantastic used it on a brisket today and it was delicious this is a keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atetoomuch March 27, 2004

This is perfection! The more I use it the more I like it and I'm using it on everything now! lol. I had to substitute 1 cup brown sugar for white only cus I was short on white sugar but I doubt that changed the flavor much. I used it initially on pork for shish kabobs for a church dinner. Everyone raved and there weren't enough to go around! There was tons left over so now I use it every time I grill, bbq, broil, or bake meat. I'm ADDICTED!!!!!! ;-}

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach October 28, 2003

My family loved this recipe except for one thing. We thought that 1/2 cup of salt would be too much so I cut it back to 1/3 cup. Even using that amount, we found it still too salty. I will make this again but use 1/4 cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matlack September 30, 2003

Works great for Beer Can Chicken!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big1Sc0tt September 10, 2003

This is the first time I actually wanted to rate a recipe higher than 5 stars. This was just incredible! Followed the recipe exactly as stated using regular white sugar. I used about 4 pounds of chicken pieces, generously coated with the rub and baked in 350 degree oven for about an hour. The cayenne did add some heat but just the right amount. The taste was just PERFECT and left the four of us licking our fingers and wishing I had made more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DJ2 July 23, 2003

I used this rub on pork chops and they were incredibly delicious. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonkaMomma June 30, 2003

This is Excellent! I used it on center cut pork steaks and grilled them to perfection. I then put them in a pan and put Mille's Smoky sauce for ribs all over the top and covered them with foil and put them on the top rack of the grill and turned the heat to low and slow cooked them, like I usually do with my pork steaks. I didn't leave them to slow cook as long as I usually do and they still turned out tender as can be. I think the salt really tenderized them, and all the other spices were just perfect.... Thanks Charlotte J... I can't wait to try this on chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB June 16, 2003

This rub was just OK for us. Tried on chicken, maybe it is better on other meats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj July 06, 2013
Barbecue Rub