Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbecue Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbecue Rub

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      I used this on boneless sirloin steaks and then grilled them. EVERYONE, including my daughter who HATES steak, loved it! I quartered the recipe just in case we did not care for it, but I see that was a mistake :) I "rubbed" about 4 lbs. of steak and still have some left. This was much easier than marinating and the flavor is subtle, but delicious. You can definately taste the cayenne...adds a bit of heat, but not TOO much. Thank you for posting...I will be trying this on ribs next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      This is absolutely the best barbecue dry rub I have found to so far! What I like about it so much that it has a Wonderful taste and seems to make the meat really tender and keeps it juicy. This recipe actually reminds me of an Emeril Live show in the fact that this recipe tastes “kicked up a notch” that it’s so good. To start with I made it just as the recipe said and it was really good, definitely a 5 star recipe in quality, maybe just a bit saltier than we like, and just slightly more sweeter than we’d ideally like, just our personal preference. I really love it that it seems to bring out the best of the flavor of whatever meat you use it on. What I’ve found through trial and error has worked best for us is to use1/3 cup less sugar (1-2/3 cups sugar), and half the salt (1/4 cup). For those who like more salt (like my husband, I don’t) you can always add more salt later. My very favorite thing to use it on is the frozen 4 lb. re-sealable bags of frozen chicken wings. I take the chicken wings out of the freezer, put them on the “auto defrost” cycle on the microwave just long enough to get them partially thawed, which makes them wet enough for the dry rub to cling to the chicken. Then I put the dry rub (not the whole recipe, probably about ½ to 3/4 of it) in the bag with the chicken, seal it, and shake it to coat all the wings. Then I let the wings marinate in the dry rub overnight. The wings are partially thawed so it ”looks” like there’s about a whole bottle of barbecue sauce on the wings, which the liquid helps it marinate. Then the leftover dry rub I like to sprinkle on the chicken when grilling on the barbecue (if I think it needs more dry rub); if it doesn’t then I store the “extra” for the next time I need a great barbecue rub. This recipe also works well in the oven. We do eat a lot of onions, and like the onion flavor in a barbecue sauce, so sometimes I add a tsp. of onion powder to the basic recipe. Bottom line, all in all, this is one of our very favorite recipes, and I’d recommend it highly, as we use it often, especially in the summer when it’s nice weather to grill. out ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      Very simple to make, and very good results. Especially good with pork chops. Don't be afraid to really coat the meat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      This is the bbq rub that I will use from now on. Simply wonderful! I did omit the salt, because I don't use it, and I wasn't sure about the sugar, so I used brown sugar. I slapped it on 2 slabs of baby back ribs, and cut up chicken. Grilled everything the next day, and it tasted fabulous. Just the right mixture of sweet and heat! Thanks for a keeper Charolotte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      Last week, pork chops baked with this rub convinced me to only use the barbecue sauce for dipping!! This needed nothing extra!!!! Tomorrow we will have ribs, barbeque rubbed, of course!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      Wish I could give this ten stars! My husband thought I was the goddess of ribs that night. Very good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      I've never used a rub before this. BBQ sauce has always been my seasoning of choice until now! I used it on a roast and steaks that I've grilled and they both turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      Quite simple and flavorful rub. I've used it on pork chops and look forward to trying it out on chicken too. Very versatile flavor will go well with any meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      A top notch rub. Easy to prepare and delicious on ribs. I believe I've found my new bbq rub. Oh yea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Charlotte, I have never used a rub before to make my pulled pork barbeque, but you have convienced me that I will from now on! Even though I have been making pulled pork barbeque for years and years, what a difference using the rub makes in the moistness and flavor of the meat! I used my favorite sauce (Lee Lee's Famous Barbecue Sauce for Ribs W/ Preserves) Lee Lee's Famous Barbeque Sauce for Ribs w/ Preserves, leaving out the preserves for the pulled pork variation and the meal was out of this world delicious! Thank you so much, Charlotte! Your rub is a five star winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This is an AMAZING rub!!! Was skeptical at first -- shouldn't have been !! Used it on a brisket and Keeps it moist and tender!!! No need for any sauce!!! WOW!!!! Will use this frequent;y! Thanks for posting it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      this was fantastic used it on a brisket today and it was delicious this is a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      This is perfection! The more I use it the more I like it and I'm using it on everything now! lol. I had to substitute 1 cup brown sugar for white only cus I was short on white sugar but I doubt that changed the flavor much. I used it initially on pork for shish kabobs for a church dinner. Everyone raved and there weren't enough to go around! There was tons left over so now I use it every time I grill, bbq, broil, or bake meat. I'm ADDICTED!!!!!! ;-}

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      My family loved this recipe except for one thing. We thought that 1/2 cup of salt would be too much so I cut it back to 1/3 cup. Even using that amount, we found it still too salty. I will make this again but use 1/4 cup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2003

      Works great for Beer Can Chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      This is the first time I actually wanted to rate a recipe higher than 5 stars. This was just incredible! Followed the recipe exactly as stated using regular white sugar. I used about 4 pounds of chicken pieces, generously coated with the rub and baked in 350 degree oven for about an hour. The cayenne did add some heat but just the right amount. The taste was just PERFECT and left the four of us licking our fingers and wishing I had made more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      I used this rub on pork chops and they were incredibly delicious. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      This is Excellent! I used it on center cut pork steaks and grilled them to perfection. I then put them in a pan and put Mille's Smoky sauce for ribs all over the top and covered them with foil and put them on the top rack of the grill and turned the heat to low and slow cooked them, like I usually do with my pork steaks. I didn't leave them to slow cook as long as I usually do and they still turned out tender as can be. I think the salt really tenderized them, and all the other spices were just perfect.... Thanks Charlotte J... I can't wait to try this on chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      This rub was just OK for us. Tried on chicken, maybe it is better on other meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbecue Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (587 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.8
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    49%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18900.2 mg
    787%
    Total Carbohydrate 141.0 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 134.2 g
    536%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites