14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pretty much followed the recipe although I was very generous with the cheddar cheese on top! These made a nice lunch along with a bowl of soup, & we managed to munch on them throughout the day! Addictive, for sure! Thanks for sharing this great recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 27, 2011

These should be called mini sloppy joes in a muffin! They are wonderful and so easy to prepare. Perfect blend of spices so that everyone could enjoy them. Used for an afterschool snack with some hungry teenage boys and they are all gone! Almost like magic - they waved their hands and they all disappeared!! Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe again WC. Made during Zaar Stars tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 17, 2011

These were great to munch on during the football games ion Sunday! I like that the sauce is sweet and not spicy or tangy, reminded me of sloppy joes. Will make these again; may try cutting the biscuits in half and reshaping to use in a mini-muffin pan for an appie. Made for Week 10 Football Pool win 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH December 01, 2010

I grew up not liking sloppy joes (which is what I would call this barbecue mixture) until I realized that what I didn't like was the commercial brand SJ mix (Manwich). As a result I tend to be pretty picky about sloppy joe recipes, but I really liked this one a lot. I cooked the onion with the beef and used dark brown sugar but otherwise made as directed. When it came to filling the biscuits, though, I only used about half the mixture (and will freeze the rest for another time). I also used jack cheese because it was what I had on hand. I liked these a lot and will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 May 04, 2010

5 for taste & 4 for final product. I love the taste of the meat mixture. The only problem I had with the recipe is that the beef didn't stay on the biscuits once they began to rise in the oven. Made for Zaar Stars Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh December 22, 2009

These made a really tasty snack, well we enjoyed them for dinner actually. I omitted the chili powder - zero tolerance - doubled the onion and added some sliced mushrooms which needed to be used; and since I don't believe the biscuits used in the recipe are available here, I followed Sam#3's suggestion of using the meat mixture to top English style muffins. The recipe makes a generous quantity, so when cooking for one or two, this is also a more versatile option as the unused meat mixture is easily refrigerated or frozen for use another time. After topping these with cheese, I simply placed them under the grill for a few minutes until the cheese had melted. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 12, 2009

8/16/09: These are wonderful and sooo easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BMBOO Pearl August 16, 2009

These were great! Made as is except for the cheese, as all I had was mozzarella. We had them for lunch today and I will definitely be making them again....a nice change to regular sloppy joes. Thank you weekend cooker for a great one! Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2SpiceItUp July 17, 2009

This was really easy and tasty.I can't get 'biscuits',so used some little mini homemade rolls,cut in half,with some of the middle pulled out to accomodate the filling. I also used just the meat mixture itself,as part of my childrens dinner,along with some mash and veg,and they wolfed it down (they are 4 and 2!) A result all around..thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo July 08, 2009

These are very tasty and make a great snack! Thanks for sharing! Made for Gimme 5 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 19, 2009
Barbecue Muffins