21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG... I made these quite awhile ago... July 8th to be exact. I made them and was raving to another reviewer (pammyowl) about how great they were, so she decided to make them, also. I used some left-over chicken and bottled BBQ sauce. I did not heat them in a pot or pan, I zapped it in a bowl in the micro-wave while I was sauteing the bell pepper & onion (time saver and less mess). I did not use cilantro. The only ingredient that was different was that I used "Pepper Jack" cheese instead of "Monterey Jack" (it was what I had at the time). After sauteing the veggies, I wiped out the non-stick skillet with a paper towel and did not add butter to the tortillas (not needed, in my opinion). I love almost any quesadilla that I have made or ones that I can get my hands on, but never once thought of BBQ Chicken as an option! Hubby & I loved them! Thank you for posting. (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 July 17, 2013

Very good! I used leftover BBQ chicken, so I skipped the sauce. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl July 08, 2013

Quick and easy, this hit the spot for dinner. I used yellow and red peppers and skipped the cilantro and most of the butter. Very nice! Made for ZWT8. Thanks Charmie777!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif August 09, 2012

Oh, my--this was delicious! My taste buds were doing a happy dance! The whole family approved. I used leftover chicken I had from Baked Chicken and I left out the bell peppers and cilantro as I did not have any on hand. I think the red onion really gives a special taste to this dish. I just used store-bought barbecue sauce and it was really good but next time I want to try my own barbecue sauce (well, my mom's actually) Grandma Deana's Barbecue Chicken . After buttering the outsides of each tortilla, I sprinke Garlic Salt with Parsley, which is a simple quick trick learned from my sister and it really gives an extra special zing to quesadillas. I use a quesadilla maker as well. Will definitely be making these many more times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Puff July 08, 2012

This is recipe is great.We used leftover porked pork and it was delicous. This has now become a staple in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbysa April 11, 2012

Yep, it's a winner! I had grilled chicken over the weekend and needed a way to use it up. This fit perfectly. My 15yo used pepper jack cheese and loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn June 24, 2010

Good.. I even added just a little cheddar with the monterey jack. The kids will love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a June 18, 2010

Excellent. I used crockpot taco meat that I had on hand. Instead of serving with barbecue sauce I made a sour cream/salsa sauce. I got RAVE reviews for this quesadilla. Thank you for posting this recipe which I will be using many more times in the future!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 June 18, 2010

Yum!! We loved these! Changes made (for my future use): sauteed onions and peppers in water until soft and the water was mostly gone. Used Fri-Chik (veggie chicken) and Daiya cheese (veggie cheese). Absolutely YUM! Hubby liked them and he's not a quesadillas fan~~but he IS a BBQ fan. So, I thought this would win him over. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins June 07, 2010

These were a huge hit at my house last night, Charmie! I used a can of shredded chicken breast and left out the pepper because I didnt have one. Instead of butter, I used non-stick cooking spray. I made one without cheese for my son, who SAYS he doesnt like cheese and my girls were fighting over it with him, saying he wasnt eating it fast enough and if he didnt hurry up they were going to take his! DD's boyfriend went on and on about how good they were and they all requested I make this often. So thanks for something super easy and inexpensive I can make often and know everyone will love!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrivera January 21, 2010
Barbecue Chicken Quesadillas