Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbecue Chicken Basil Calzones (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbecue Chicken Basil Calzones (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2010

      These were quite tasty. I didn't have the mushrooms, so I left them out. I made these to use up some barbecue chicken leftovers and they turned out well. The dough comes together easily, although they are somewhat on the large side so I may make them smaller next time. An easy meal from the freeze for a busy night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Very good! Easy to make dough! Very good flavor! The combination of bbq and basil in the dough was very yummy! Will definitely be making again! Will make them smaller next time! There are only 3 of us and they were huge, very filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I had this recipe saved for quite awhile but unfortunately it didn't work out for me. The dough wasn't doughy enough to form calzones and the filling had too much bbq sauce, even though I only used half of what was called for. Also, I had a lot of filling leftover and not enough dough. I ended up draining off the extra sauce and freezing the remaining filling to use in a bbq chicken salad. The taste of the filling was good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      Very tasty! I, too, had trouble with the crust. As others have mentioned, I had to add about anothe 1/2 C flour to the crust, with more for the counter, my hands, and the rolling pin. I really liked the biscuit-like texture. I may add more herbs for even more flavor. Next time I will cut back the onion a bit, and maybe add more/different veggies. And I need more skill in making the calzones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Ok, I experienced similar issues to Kelly Mac. The filling was delicious, I made my own bbq sauce from a recipe found on here. I had way too much filling and not enough dough and found my dough was too sticky. (I'll put the dough down to inexperience). I ended up making 6 smaller calzones and one big 'calzone pot pie' to use up the extra filling and I just made my final 'round' into a lid. The crust itself is quite tasty, the basil is beautiful. I actually substituted powered parmesan instead of the powdered milk (this may have also attributed to the dough) and the crust is yum yum yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      Great recipe, thanks! Very tasty, and great to keep in the freezer, or for OAMC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! I have made it twice now, but unfortunately I didn't get any the second time around. I made it for my husbands grandparents and they loved it! Raved about it! My children love it too. Reading the other reviews, I thought that the crust tasted pretty good. I wouldn't want it to detract from the flavor inside. We use Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy BBQ Sauce. Good stuff thanks for a recipe I will return to again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      We made these the other night and they were good, just not great. I agree with another reviewer about the crust. I am going to add more herbs and seasoning to it next time. I also was out of mushrooms and didn't realize it so we omitted them. (next time they are going in) We liked it, but will like it even more with more flavorful crust. However, they are easy to make from start to finish. Thank you for posting, we will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      The filling was really good. The crust was tasteless. I will make this again with my own crust recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      These worked out really well considering I have never made calzones before. The dough was a little sticky, but I added some flour when I rolled them out and it didn't seem to hurt. The only problem I had with them is they are huge. I will definately make 8 next time instead of 4. They tasted fantastic though and considering you make the dough and filling, I didn't think they were that much work. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      These were good, but really labor intensive for the final result. I suppose if you used rotisserie chicken it would make it easier and tastier. Plus, I gotta say the dough was REALLY sticky, I had to add about another 1/2 cup of flour to the dough just to be able to get it out of the bowl; and then more flour on the counter and dough while rolling it out. The end result was alright, and they re-heat well; but I don't think it'll be making it to my regular rotation any time soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I made these for FH and I for a picnic on the beach this summer, and ever since, he's been asking for more. They were lovely, and quick to throw together, which is nice. It's become a keeper in our household. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I used the filling and made calzones using our families favorite pizza dough recipe. Deliciuos. Thank you for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      These are great! I had a little trouble with the dough, but that was probably my mistake. Flavor is wonderful, DH and I both LOVE the BBQ with the dough flavor. Perfect for a quick lunch. These did not last long in the freezer and I will need to make another batch soon!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This was fantastic! The dough was easy to make and the flavor was wonderful. My DH loved it and my DS ate it up! Made me look like a genius!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Amazing dough. I had to use a lot more flour then stated in recipe. I also turned the dough out onto a floured surface and kneeded it for about 5 minutes. It does have more of a biscuit feel too it. I put some fresh chopped basil and it mostly just changed the appearence (it was so pretty). I did not use the chicken recipe. I used other ingredients I was trying to use up in my fridge. Than you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      For starters, if my husband likes something I have made he gives me a simple, "You could make this again..." but after eating this he got up from the table and said, "A PLUS!" so this recipe is definately a keeper!! The dough was wonderful exactly as written, but I may add more basil next time because it gave the dough such a fabulous flavor. I added squash to the filling this time and look forward to adding more veggies next time. I think I'll try cutting the BBQ sauce to one cup next time but it was still great with the amount called for. Thank you so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Excellent recipe.... I love the Basil dough and will be using that for all of my Calzones. I added some chopped Red Pepper to the recipe and they turned out Fabulous.... I also brushed them with a bit of melted butter before baking...They browned a bit better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      After reading the reviews I decided to add 1/2 cup more flour for the the dough and it turned out perfect. I loved the taste the basil added and it was very easy to work with and I'll be making it again. The filling however, didn't cut it for me. Even though I reduced the bar-b-q sauce by 1/2 cup I felt the flavor of it was way too overpowering and made it impossible to taste any of the other yummy ingredients. I think it would be better with some type of cream sauce - maybe some thickened chicken stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      These were on the list of my first OAMC episode and I love them. I made oodles of them, which is good because we can eat them all month. I made them very small. Perfect size for the 3 year old son, and we eat 2 of them. They work out great in the microwave, 1.5 minutes and ready to go. Thanks so much for a great experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbecue Chicken Basil Calzones (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 940.4
     
    Calories from Fat 364
    38%
    Total Fat 40.5 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 225.3 mg
    75%
    Sodium 1816.1 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.8 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites