38 Reviews

These were quite tasty. I didn't have the mushrooms, so I left them out. I made these to use up some barbecue chicken leftovers and they turned out well. The dough comes together easily, although they are somewhat on the large side so I may make them smaller next time. An easy meal from the freeze for a busy night.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze March 24, 2010

Very good! Easy to make dough! Very good flavor! The combination of bbq and basil in the dough was very yummy! Will definitely be making again! Will make them smaller next time! There are only 3 of us and they were huge, very filling!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 January 22, 2009

I had this recipe saved for quite awhile but unfortunately it didn't work out for me. The dough wasn't doughy enough to form calzones and the filling had too much bbq sauce, even though I only used half of what was called for. Also, I had a lot of filling leftover and not enough dough. I ended up draining off the extra sauce and freezing the remaining filling to use in a bbq chicken salad. The taste of the filling was good though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 August 25, 2009

Very tasty! I, too, had trouble with the crust. As others have mentioned, I had to add about anothe 1/2 C flour to the crust, with more for the counter, my hands, and the rolling pin. I really liked the biscuit-like texture. I may add more herbs for even more flavor. Next time I will cut back the onion a bit, and maybe add more/different veggies. And I need more skill in making the calzones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newdles October 16, 2013

Ok, I experienced similar issues to Kelly Mac. The filling was delicious, I made my own bbq sauce from a recipe found on here. I had way too much filling and not enough dough and found my dough was too sticky. (I'll put the dough down to inexperience). I ended up making 6 smaller calzones and one big 'calzone pot pie' to use up the extra filling and I just made my final 'round' into a lid. The crust itself is quite tasty, the basil is beautiful. I actually substituted powered parmesan instead of the powdered milk (this may have also attributed to the dough) and the crust is yum yum yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne February 17, 2013

Great recipe, thanks! Very tasty, and great to keep in the freezer, or for OAMC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang June 14, 2012

Wonderful recipe! I have made it twice now, but unfortunately I didn't get any the second time around. I made it for my husbands grandparents and they loved it! Raved about it! My children love it too. Reading the other reviews, I thought that the crust tasted pretty good. I wouldn't want it to detract from the flavor inside. We use Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy BBQ Sauce. Good stuff thanks for a recipe I will return to again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom x3 May 05, 2011

We made these the other night and they were good, just not great. I agree with another reviewer about the crust. I am going to add more herbs and seasoning to it next time. I also was out of mushrooms and didn't realize it so we omitted them. (next time they are going in) We liked it, but will like it even more with more flavorful crust. However, they are easy to make from start to finish. Thank you for posting, we will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 08, 2010

The filling was really good. The crust was tasteless. I will make this again with my own crust recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jelzabeth July 25, 2010

These worked out really well considering I have never made calzones before. The dough was a little sticky, but I added some flour when I rolled them out and it didn't seem to hurt. The only problem I had with them is they are huge. I will definately make 8 next time instead of 4. They tasted fantastic though and considering you make the dough and filling, I didn't think they were that much work. Definately a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessi0824 July 09, 2010
Barbecue Chicken Basil Calzones (Oamc)