11 Reviews

Very good recipe! I made as directed except I used bone-in thighs and skinned them myself. Only because I got such a good deal on them. 10 thighs for $4.07! It was reduced for quick sale, but there was still nothing wrong with them. Made these for our DS and his future wife when they were in town visiting and sent them home with this recipe. They loved it too. I think the next time I do these, I will maybe add some red pepper flakes for a variation. Thanks Lavender Lynn for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin July 06, 2011

A wonderful, flavorful way to prepare chicken! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts (personal preference), prepared the marinade exactly as posted, and let them marinate for about 6 hours. They were so tender and tasty! Thanks for sharing this! Made for ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! June 26, 2011

Sticky-salty-sweet and absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 26, 2011

Absolutely delicious! Made as written and used skin on chicken thighs. I let them marinate for about 7 hours. I served them with Oven-Fried Sweet Potato Wedges. Thanks for posting such a flavorful recipe. Made for ZWT7 Golden Gourmets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 June 20, 2011

Both my DS and I loved this chicken!! I used chicken thighs with skin on, which DS would rather had the skinless, but other than that, made as written. Wonderful taste and my DS hadn't planned on eating dinner until he smelled it cooking on the grill!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 15, 2011

Another winner from the Lavender. This was awesome chicken girl. We really enjoyed this recipe. It was simple and quick to make. I did make mine in the oven as it was raining the day I made it, can't wait to try this on the bbq. What a treat, the chicken was moist and tender while the flavor was outstanding. Truly something special. Thanks so much for sharing Lynn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 02, 2011

Wow, this is an excellent marinade! I deboned 8 chicken hindquarters. This was my first time of deboning hindquarters but well worth the extra effort. I marinaded the chicken overnight. The chicken came off the grill with a perfect balance of soy sauce and sweetness. I will be making these again and soon! Thank you for posting this recipe. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game from October 13th, 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 31, 2010

I really enjoyed the flavor of this Barbecue chicken. I marinaded it for about 8 hours then put it on the grill. I reserved some of the marinade to baste the thighs with and so glad I did. Made for a nice glaze. I did add about a 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes to the marinade which spiced it up a bit for us. I'll make this again. Made for PRMR tag game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 15, 2009

We very much enjoyed this chicken dish, scaled back for two, with mersaydees' Mashed Potato Casserole (Perunasoselaatikko). One thigh each was ample for us. Loved the marinade. My only change was to omit the fresh ginger and add just a sprinkling of dried ginger (personal taste preference: I like a tiny bit of ginger blended with other flavours but don't like it to be too strong a taste). Like the previous reviewers, I baked the chicken thighs in the oven but I'm sure that BBQd they would be even more delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lynn. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder March 13, 2009

Made 2 thighs as directed but added some sesame seeds and omitted the oyster sauce as Buddha is allergic to shellfish. I cooked them in a 400F oven for 40 minutes in a greased casserole dish along with the teriyaki marinade. I served them with Tapas--Potato Saffron Omelet and the two recipes compliment eachother quite well. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu October 04, 2008
Barbecue Chicken