9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious lentil dish. As others have said, needed to cook longer than stated time to get soft texture. The sauce was that perfect blend of tangy-sweet. Thanks for sharing this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 22, 2014

Very tasty! I cooked them until they were soft, and baked them a bit longer to absorb more of the liquid. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins February 01, 2011

I have never made brown lentils before so I thought I'd give them a try.I bought some and then didn't have a recipe.I searched for an hour for the perfect recipe.I just wasn't in the mood for soup and that's what alot of recipes are for.My search was over when I found this recipe.I had all ingredients on hand and it sounded interesting.After reading the reviews I decided to double the water,add the salt later,and cook for 15min longer on the stovetop.I had enough liquid and by the time it was done in the oven,1hr 15min,the lentils were perfect. My only change was I added a couple cloves of minced garlic and I halfed the maple syrup and made the rest up with honey.This is a GREAT recipe with a really good flavor,I willl definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my-first-word-was-EAT June 17, 2010

I had all the ingredients for this and think that the liquid smoke is essential to this dish. The flavor is outstanding, but the lentils were too firm for us. My DH didn't eat it bcz of that. Next time I will cook the lentils for longer on the stovetop. Two of my kids liked them. I told my 4 yo that it was baked beans and he devoured 2 helpings of them! LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 19, 2008

Move over, baked bbq'd beans! What a cool way to make lentils! As with others, I didn't have 1 cup of liquid to reserve after simmering, so I added enough water to make 1 cup. Great combination of flavors. I would never have thought to make lentils like this; glad I found this recipe. I'm going to make these now and then in place of baked beans. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 02, 2007

These were very nice! I followed the recipe exactly, but like Ladypit, found that I didn't have enough liquid at the end of boiling. I went ahead and added a bit of water before baking in the oven. I didn't add the salt in with the boiling lentils, but put the entire amount in before baking. Using the maple syrup made the dish sweet, but not overly so...very nice. Thanks for posting this Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay May 24, 2007

This was really tasty, but it just wasn't satisfying as a main dish for me and my family. I used green French lentils, and instead of boiling them first I just brought 3 cups of water to a boil and then chucked everything in my cast iron casserole pot, gave it a stir and baked it in the oven at 350 (180 c) for about 1 1/2 hours. Gave it a stir at about 1 hour, and added some frozen spinach. I probably should've added some more water as it was moist, but seemed to need a "sauce". A note about lentils is that they cook slower if you add salt, so leaving the salt out in step 2 would probably help them cook faster. You can always add salt later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut January 08, 2007

We thought of this as sloppy joes made with lentils, and we really enjoyed it. After boiling all my water boiled away so I just added a cup of plain water when I baked these. Mine never got mushy soft, but were plenty soft after baking. We served them on buns with a slice of low fat cheese and they were excellent. And when your 6 year old exclaims how good a lentil dish it, it's one you repeat! Thanks, Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit August 04, 2006

I loved the taste of this lentil dish. I did have to cook it quite a while longer, they would not soften up. I added about 1 1/2 cups more liquid during the baking.I would suggest boiling the lentils longer to soften, then make as directed. The flavor makes it worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 09, 2006
Barbecue Baked Lentils