Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbacoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbacoa

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-30 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2008

      I had 1 1/2 pounds of chuck roast that I needed to use, so I cut this recipe in half. It is outstanding! I made the marinade in my mini food processor, which was the perfect size for such a small amount. This was the first time I have used ancho chile powder, and I think it made a real difference in the final product, lending a nice smokey taste without being in-your-face spicy. My crockpot was busy, so I cooked this in a dutch oven on the stovetop over medium low heat- enough to maintain a heavy simmer. For the quantity of meat I had, it took about 3 hours to get to the fall apart tender stage. After cooking, I removed the meat and shredded it, and cooled the liquid overnight in the fridge, so I could defat it and add some back to the shredded meat. Thanks for posting an amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Not as good as the barbacoa I've had in the past. I couldn't figure it out.. if it was too salty or what.. hmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      Fantastic! I used the recipe as is for a 6lb boneless rump roast and it was perfect, spicy enough for the adults, not too spicy for the kids. Cooked on low all day, fell apart in the crockpot and was devoured by the whole family! and now I have 2 more meals worth of meat! YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      Terrific. Served it for my parents and we all enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      If you are expecting Chipotle, you will be disappointed. Personal opinion only: I will not make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Very good and easy to make! I followed another reviewers lead and made burritos out of this with Cilantro Lime Rice. We'll all be looking forward to having this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Cookiedog- Thank you! This was wonderful. I wanted something a little different from my usual pot roast and this was it. The only change I made was to cut down on the ancho chili powder because even tho my husband loves it- it doesn't love him. I added smoked paprika instead. The leftovers are in the freezer and I'll use them for soft tacos or enchildas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I used a 3 pound, lean boneless roast. I cooked it on high for about 5 1/2 hours and it was done. When I took it out of the crockpot to shred the roast, it just fell apart. This is absolutely the most tender roast that I have ever cooked! My 10 year old son says this is the best roast he has ever tasted. I found the marinade to be very spicy and tasty. I ate some tonight on a flour tortilla with Mexican cheese and sour cream. YUMMM! I can hardly wait to serve it tomorrow with the onions and cilantro. This is going to be my roast recipe from now on. Thanks for a WONDERFUL recipe, cd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Amazing! My whole family enjoyed this dish. I have never had this before but I know I will be prepareing this often from here on out. I was just looking for something new to do with my chuck roast and had everything on hand exept all of the garnishings and it was still delicious. I made taquitos the next day with the leftover meat. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      We loved this. The meat came out very tender and flavorful without being overcooked. The only complaint I would have is I was expecting it to be spicier, but I only used 1/4 c of chile powder. Next time I will use more. We served in burritos with lime rice and black beans and my husband felt it tasted almost like Chipolte. I froze the left overs in serving size portions for lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbacoa

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.4
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    37%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 661.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 49.2 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    marinade

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes